Cable issue (PC to Philips LCD - text is blurry) Page 2

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Next
  • Roddles 5 Mar 2013 17:35:06 1,839 posts
    Seen 8 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Because you're not going to notice the loss of detail in say a game being downscaled, compared to the individual pixels on small precise static text.
  • phAge 5 Mar 2013 17:38:52 24,348 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @Nick

    Well, it IS a 2010 telly (AFAIK) - t'was my girlfriend's now-dead granny's - and Windows had the recommended resolution as 1920x1080, so, y'know. :)

    Still, think I might use a bit of my 400 quid tax refund on a 2nd hand Full HD telly. Any advice on a good make and model for use as a PC monitor?

    Edited by phAge at 17:39:29 05-03-2013
  • phAge 5 Mar 2013 17:40:20 24,348 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Roddles wrote:
    Because you're not going to notice the loss of detail in say a game being downscaled, compared to the individual pixels on small precise static text.
    Makes sense. Thanks a lot mate - you've saved me quite a bit of fiddling and fruitless reseazrch.
  • dominalien 5 Mar 2013 17:43:30 6,848 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    phAge wrote:
    Roddles wrote:
    Because you're not going to notice the loss of detail in say a game being downscaled, compared to the individual pixels on small precise static text.
    Makes sense. Thanks a lot mate - you've saved me quite a bit of fiddling and fruitless reseazrch.
    What do you call what you just did here, then? :-)

    PSN: DonOsito

  • Roddles 5 Mar 2013 17:44:05 1,839 posts
    Seen 8 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Maybe you should try Vizzini's advice. I'm sure that's the real solution...
  • mal 5 Mar 2013 18:11:24 22,453 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    @vizzini FYI, front porch width and inter-frame blanking are parameters that let monitors sync with an analogue signal, and pixel clock frequency is only applicable when converting an analogue input to a digital display, like an LCD. Your other points may well have been valid (though the answer turned out to be a lot simpler), but those parameters at least simply don't apply to digital protocols like DVI or HDMI.

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • Fake_Blood 5 Mar 2013 18:39:35 4,167 posts
    Seen 17 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I've had a philips lcd that did that.
    I know the res is 1366x768, but I had the best results using 1280x768 or 1280x720.
  • Whizzo 5 Mar 2013 18:41:35 43,091 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I'd certainly go for 720P as an HD setting in the CCC, the TV I mentioned in my earlier post really works better like that, using 1366x768 meant lots of dicking about trying to get it to fit correctly.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Whizzo 5 Mar 2013 18:42:11 43,091 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Oh and phage, you wally! :-P

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Roddles 5 Mar 2013 18:43:22 1,839 posts
    Seen 8 minutes ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    1366x768 TV's should accept 1360x768 and then just display 6 tiny black lines at one side.
  • Fake_Blood 5 Mar 2013 18:44:41 4,167 posts
    Seen 17 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Yes they should.
    My philips didn't.
  • phAge 5 Mar 2013 18:46:43 24,348 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @Whizzo

    The way I see it, I get one free tech-related Joey every five years, so expect me again in 2018 with some sort of VR-bother. :)

    Edited by phAge at 18:47:59 05-03-2013
  • Whizzo 5 Mar 2013 18:48:53 43,091 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    "My flying car is currently falling like a stone, I put in some aero-diesel but my engine has stalled and I don't know what to do."

    "Your model uses unleaded-aero you numpty, time to jump out."

    "My parachute is in the wash."

    *Boom*

    Edited by Whizzo at 18:49:07 05-03-2013

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Maturin 5 Mar 2013 19:10:57 2,957 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    phAge wrote:
    @Nick

    Well, it IS a 2010 telly (AFAIK) - t'was my girlfriend's now-dead granny's - and Windows had the recommended resolution as 1920x1080, so, y'know. :)

    Still, think I might use a bit of my 400 quid tax refund on a 2nd hand Full HD telly. Any advice on a good make and model for use as a PC monitor?
    I got one of these last week for my study. Have been enjoying some proper 1080p gaming from my PC. Great with the games consoles and TV. Blu-rays look flipping nice on it too. RRP is nearly 500, but I got mine for under 450

    Edited by Maturin at 19:12:00 05-03-2013
  • Deleted user 5 March 2013 22:30:37
    @mal

    I was just listing all the option boxes on the custom timings page on the Nvidia Control Panel, so that's why I've included it in error. It has been a while since I did a linux ModeLine for either analogue or DVI/hdmi so I couldn't remember exactly. But thanks for the correction, it is good to learn new things, and probably good if anyone else stumbles on the thread for the same type of problem.
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Next
Log in or register to reply