ps3 picture quality is bad - colour too dark, saturated, not sharp! HDMI

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • midi4321 6 Jan 2013 23:47:03 6 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Hi all

    I need some help.

    I bought a second hand tv today which was working well when the sellers demo'ed it. The tv is Technika LCD32-207, 32".

    Prior to connecting my ps3 to this new tv, we had it connected to a UMC m19/36b-gb-tcdi-uk 19". It was running on 1080p and looked perfect on it!

    Now, at first, when we connected the ps3 to the 32", it didn't work. So i connected it back to the 19" and changed the display settings on the hdmi connection to 720p. After that, it worked on the new tv and i then ran the hdmi connection on automatic on the new tv and it selected 1080i. Now I have played games on it, ran dvds on it and they work fine, but the colour is too dark and saturated and not sharp enough. It ruins the gameplay due to this....

    To check whether it is to do with the ps3, I connected my hdmi from tv to my laptop and the same bad quality image was there (not sharp, too dark and to saturated)

    I also reconnected the ps3 to the old tv and it looked perfectly fine!

    I tried messing around with the tv's contrast, brightness... etc.. but to no avail - suprisingly changing any of those dials have no effect on the picture of the tv - u can turn all dials to 100 and no change on the screen....

    I dont have a remote for the tv yet - i was going to buy 1!

    please help!

    Zo
  • midi4321 7 Jan 2013 00:16:14 6 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    im new to this soo... who would i bee looking for to repair or have a look at the tv..? electrical engineer?? erm... computer shop??

    would there be anything at all we can do to alter tyhe picture via the ps3?

    thanks

    zo
  • dominalien 7 Jan 2013 00:26:51 6,829 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    First thing is: why did the PS3 set itself to 1080i if the TV supports 1080p (as you seem to be saying)? Does it support DHCP? The PS3 won't output 1080p without DHCP. Maybe the TV supports DHCP over one HDMi port, but not the others? 1080i is visibly lower quality than 1080p.

    Another thing to check is the PS3's "Use full RGB" option (might be called something else, can't remember right now). It can impact colour reproduction quite dramatically.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • uiruki 7 Jan 2013 00:48:31 3,659 posts
    Seen 19 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    It's a 720p TV so it probably won't accept a 1080p signal. On your PS3, turn off 1080i in the display menu and you will probably get a far better image at 720p. In addition, if you can get through the TV menus, try turning off any auto backlight or dynamic contrast modes. A quick google suggests it is a 1366x768 panel, so setting your laptop to that resolution should give you sharp text.

    Failing that, next time around it might be useful to bring something like a laptop to check the quality of the digital inputs.

    Edited by uiruki at 00:49:24 07-01-2013
  • midi4321 7 Jan 2013 00:50:58 6 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    @dominalien


    the new tv is 720p... but when i press automatic hdmi connection configuraation in the display tab, it sets it to 1080i... i have put the rgb on full but to no avail and i have tried setting the ps3 to 720p and on 1080i on this new tv but it has no effect..

    the old tv is the one that was 1080p.....

    how would i be able to find out hdcp on my tv?? i dont have the manual and i dont have a remote.... i tried searching the net for the manual but couldnt find it..... ive tried connecting the ps3 to both hdmi ports but the same coulor appears...

    :'(
  • uiruki 7 Jan 2013 00:53:56 3,659 posts
    Seen 19 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    As long as your TV has the "HD Ready" logo on it, it's got HDCP. It's one of the requirements. I'm pretty sure the PS3 won't output at any resolution over HDMI without it anyway - I remember a lot of people back at launch trying to run them into DVI monitors and getting nowhere.
  • dominalien 7 Jan 2013 00:54:25 6,829 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Ok, ignore me, I clearly didn't read your op carefully enough.

    Listen to uiruki and look for picture modes in the tv.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • dominalien 7 Jan 2013 00:55:34 6,829 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    uiruki wrote:
    As long as your TV has the "HD Ready" logo on it, it's got HDCP. It's one of the requirements. I'm pretty sure the PS3 won't output at any resolution over HDMI without it anyway - I remember a lot of people back at launch trying to run them into DVI monitors and getting nowhere.
    You're right, of course. Time to go to sleep, I think. :-)

    PSN: DonOsito

  • Bremenacht 7 Jan 2013 00:59:32 17,600 posts
    Seen 14 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    You could try turning Deep Colour off. Doubt it would make much difference if your telly isn't right though. You ought to google everything relating to your telly in the hope that someone else has had the same problem and come up with a solution. That's all anyone on here would do anyway. ed. oh - never mind!

    I dunno if PS3s misbehave anyway. I've just been playing ICO, and all the dark parts of a scene were too dark -no visible detail at all- whereas all the bright bits looked too bright and washed-out. Crazy contrast.

    Edited by Bremenacht at 01:03:44 07-01-2013
  • johnson81 7 Jan 2013 01:00:03 373 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Does the TV have a game mode? I think my Samsung doesn't change much whilst in game mode. Also I find that 720p and 1080p have a different look to other resolutions 1680x1050 for example.

    I cant explain it but it changes the picture colour, brightness and contrast.

    Edited by johnson81 at 01:08:53 07-01-2013
  • midi4321 7 Jan 2013 01:03:01 6 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    @dominalien
    ive switched 1080i off and its on 720p... i also flickered through the modes - they had natural, dynamic and cinema... but no effect... i switched the game mode on and i played around with the other modes.... but no effect..

    i am starting too think i was robbed... :,(
  • midi4321 7 Jan 2013 01:03:40 6 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    pictures of the display are on these two forums...

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/ps3/1726340-ps3-picture-quality-bad-colour-too-dark-saturated-not-sharp-hdmi.html#post18277817

    http://community.eu.playstation.com/t5/PlayStation-3-Media/ps3-picture-quality-is-bad-colour-too-dark-saturated-not-sharp/m-p/17956196/highlight/false#M57384
  • cubbymoore 7 Jan 2013 01:06:14 36,468 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    :o

    You whore!
  • dominalien 7 Jan 2013 01:49:42 6,829 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Here's another (and potentially very silly) idea - maybe when changing saturation, contrast, etc, you have to confirm the new setting by pressing sonething like OK on the remote? It's really strange that nothing you change has any effect on the image.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • midi4321 7 Jan 2013 02:00:41 6 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    dont have the remote... but i use the side panel of the tv to change it and confirm it... no effect... thank you all for your help though.. i think i may have to call out someone to fix the tv..

    any ideas are most welcome

    zo
  • BinaryBob101 7 Jan 2013 17:32:07 22,282 posts
    Seen 19 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    And absolutely not practical for everybody.

    Beautiful tender beings.

  • Jmek 7 Jan 2013 17:59:22 1,309 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Try changing the RGB settings from full to limited.
  • Nitrous 18 Jan 2013 13:22:01 335 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Dont know if this will help in anyway but Ive recently gone from a 19" samsung to a 32" 3D Celcus TV from Sainsburys. The picture didnt look right at all until I followed the advice and steps here:
    http://www.avforums.com/home/pictureperfect.html

    Looks much better than before and even looks better than the samsung did.
  • Cappy 13 Oct 2013 21:29:16 11,829 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I'd look for an option to return the display to factory settings, then go from there and do the calibration and setup from scratch just to be sure settings are right to start with.
  • StarchildHypocrethes 13 Oct 2013 21:32:09 25,410 posts
    Seen 13 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Good advice, just in the nick of time.

    EG forum at its best.

    Edited by StarchildHypocrethes at 21:32:29 13-10-2013
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply