How to break into the industry?

• Page

of 2 First / Last

Previous
  • Hurricane333 21 Feb 2011 13:30:50 4 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    First up, apologies if this is in the wrong place. This is my first time on the forums!

I am a 22-year old Graduate of Nottingham University (American History degree), and currently an intern at a gossip website (www.zoegriffin.co.uk). I am a skilled writer and passionate about games, yet apart from a few work experience stints and my writing occasionally appearing in print (Gamesradar.com/NME.COM/PSM3 Magazine), I have been turned down.

I have offered to work for no money - turned down. I have offered to work from home - turned down. I have churned out copy at the drop of a hat - turned down.

Lately I have been in contact with a writer from Eurogamer. I sent an email to this person asking for work, and they replied (after a few weeks) with a list of features and ideas they are looking for. I wrote almost 1,000 words on a subject they suggested, and sent it. A week went by. This person later told me - promised - they would read it soon, as they had a lot of submissions to pour over. That's fair enough. Completely understandable.

Another week went by. 'Have you read it yet?'. Turns out they are still choc-a-bloc. Again, fair enough. Yet another week goes by. I send another email: 'Have you had the chance in the intervening weeks to read but a few words from this lowly freelancer's pen/keyboard?'. The one-word reply? 'No'.

How is one supposed to break into the industry when many people on the inside are so unhelpful, or sometimes so rude, that you're lucky if even one out of the hundred people you've contacted even respond?

In the meantime, I'll keep plugging away. But tell me, am I alone in this?
  • Carlo 21 Feb 2011 13:33:20 18,226 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    why don't you try vg247 and allaboutthegames.co.uk?

PSN ID: Djini