Some terminology advice please?

• Page

of 2 First / Last

Previous
  • superfurryanimal 7 Jul 2010 20:56:21 1,023 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I'm writing a short story where the protagonist is a landscape photographer trying to capture Ashness Bridge in the Lake district, as a winter sunset.

Could you please give me some pointers as I have no knowledge of the technical language he would think in.

Firstly, do some photographers still prefer the thrill of non-digital cameras? Is there any jovial animosity between film users and digital camera users?

When setting up such a shot, what terminology would he use for lenses, filters, distance etc?

What would be a suitably impressive model of camera for him to be using (preferably even to the point of showing off or overly poncey kit)

Hopefully I have been clear, ask anything to clarify!

Thanks a lot for any help you have the time to give!

SFA

• Deleted user 7 July 2010 21:12:34
    John pointed the end bit of the camera towards the area that was going to be captured, possibly in the way the aborigines thought. His mind went back to last summer, with Lucy. How he yearned to use his photographical doohickey on his memories, and print the dots of colour onto magic paper that reproduced it as an image.

He sighed, and pressed the button that makes things happen.

Later, he was killed in a road accident.

Lucy never found out.
  • otto Moderator 7 Jul 2010 21:13:21 49,315 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Just copy & paste pretty much any post taken at random from the Photo Gallery thread... ;)

say no to Eurogamer sigs

• superfurryanimal 7 Jul 2010 21:16:36 1,023 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Okay ta.
  • otto Moderator 7 Jul 2010 21:19:24 49,315 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    superfurryanimal wrote: