ps3 to VGA projector

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • nixc9 1 Feb 2010 10:41:50 173 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Sorry if duplicate, or if already discussed in some other hardware-related thread. Searched a bit but could not get a clear answer for my problem.

    In short, I want to connect my ps3 to a projector that only has s-video (for PAL resolutions) and VGA (for higher resolutions). I want hi-res. The audio part is easy to solve, so no problem there.
    I am aware there is not direct-to-vga cable, while there is one for the 360. Anyone with first-hand experience out there? thanks

  • Retroid Moderator 1 Feb 2010 11:01:35 44,782 posts
    Seen 32 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    There are component > VGA converters, I bought one a few years ago for around 40. They're your best bet.

    But be careful when shopping for them, they're not the same as VGA boxes (which often just shittily convert ~640x480) and you have to make sure it really *is* converting component signals as like-for-like as it possibly can.
  • billythekid 1 Feb 2010 11:01:50 11,138 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    This will do you. There's others on Amazon for varying prices too. I've not used one so no idea on quality but the reviews seem favourable.
  • billythekid 1 Feb 2010 11:06:27 11,138 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Actually on further reading it looks quite shit.
    Bit more expensive but seems better.
  • nickthegun 1 Feb 2010 11:08:52 59,969 posts
    Seen 15 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Unless you deliberately went out and bought an 'HD' projector, theres a good chance that your unit will have a shit 'made for powerpoint' resolution.

    ---------------------------------------------------------
    someone say something funny

  • nixc9 1 Feb 2010 13:47:38 173 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Thanks to all for the replies. I guess that first I need to figure out what resolutions my projector is capable of, just to make sure this is worth the hassle. Then I'll look into the possibilities.

    I just cannot understand why xbox360 has a dedicated accessory and ps3 has not; different results from market analysis maybe. VGA not popular in Japan? Just a consideration, don't want to start a flame war
  • Deleted user 1 February 2010 13:51:08
    Check that your PJ can accept component over VGA, that'd be the best option if you could.
  • nixc9 1 Feb 2010 13:55:24 173 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    this is what it says on the manual:

    RGB input: D-sub 15-pin (female)

    HDTV signal input: D-sub YPbPr RCA jack x 3, through RGB input

  • nixc9 1 Feb 2010 13:56:03 173 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    resolution is: 1024 x 768 XGA
  • Deleted user 1 February 2010 13:56:48
    Yup, it will accept component over RGB.
  • nixc9 1 Feb 2010 14:00:04 173 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    great. This means that I can buy a component ps3 cable and an adapter that does component->VGA, right? thanks a lot
  • Deleted user 1 February 2010 14:08:53
    You can indeed.
  • KTM 7 Apr 2010 18:29:40 1,674 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    How did it end up looking? I'm getting a free Projector from someone and I'm thinking of either hooking up to the PS3 for some massive COD or just setting it up so I can have a little theatre for films and that.

  • nixc9 8 Apr 2010 16:58:23 173 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    KTM wrote:
    How did it end up looking? I'm getting a free Projector from someone and I'm thinking of either hooking up to the PS3 for some massive COD or just setting it up so I can have a little theatre for films and that.


    It has pros and cons:
    pros:
    - huge screen, don't get too close or you may get motion sickness. Otherwise, it is just awesome.

    cons:

    - DARK: the room needs to be dark enough to see a decent image (depends on the projector, I guess)

    - QUALITY: image quality will never be as good as what you get from a good HDTV set. For me size wins over quality!!

    - SPACE: you need a lot of space. Both on the wall you are projecting onto (unless you use a movable screen), AND between the wall and where the projector is placed, with no obstacles in between. Furthermore, are you going to move furniture around when you are not using the projector, or you can afford to leave a large space unused?

    - SOUND: do not underestimate this. Either your projector has speakers built in (which may imply poor sound quality), or you need to connect to a sound system (e.g. dolby digital 5.1, like I did). Again, since the projector is behind you, you need to figure out how to place speakers around you, and how to route the cables...


    For me, size matters. I can leave with a sub-optimal image quality, a lot of cables laying around the room, and a lot of wasted space when I am not using the set; nothing beats the sensation of standing in front of a huge image, like at the movies... As a matter of fact, I can currently connect the ps3, the 360 and my pc to the same projector (although plugging manually the device that I want to use). I did not have the courage to connect the Wii yet...


    Final suggestion: if you are already thinking of creating a little theatre, moving the PS3 in and out of your setup every once in a while cannot hurt....
  • KTM 21 Apr 2010 14:15:13 1,674 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    So my projector just arrived, it's not exactly a beast but it was free so I can't complain.

    It's got a VGA, DVI-D, S-Video and a plain 'Video' (yellow RGB Pin) connections.

    Whats the best way to connect my PS3 to that?
  • Zomoniac 21 Apr 2010 14:28:29 7,831 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    KTM wrote:
    So my projector just arrived, it's not exactly a beast but it was free so I can't complain.

    It's got a VGA, DVI-D, S-Video and a plain 'Video' (yellow RGB Pin) connections.

    Whats the best way to connect my PS3 to that?

    HDMI to DVI adapter.
  • KTM 21 Apr 2010 16:32:22 1,674 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Is XGA big enough to display 720p on?

    It's an Optoma DX602s if anyone can help me realise what I can do with this.

    I can't even get it to focus properly yet.
  • Retroid Moderator 21 Apr 2010 16:39:13 44,782 posts
    Seen 32 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    KTM wrote:
    Is XGA big enough to display 720p on?
    :)
  • mrpon 21 Apr 2010 16:40:59 28,934 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I like that!

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • KTM 21 Apr 2010 16:43:32 1,674 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Thanks Retroid,

    I looked up XGA on wikipedia but I'm a display mong so unless there is a shiny HD Ready sticker on it I just don't know.

    I also found this so I'm thinking if I just get a HDMI to DVI-D adapter I'll be able to play full resolution PS3?
  • Retroid Moderator 21 Apr 2010 17:38:01 44,782 posts
    Seen 32 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Has anyone used an HDMI > DVI-D apaptor successfully with a PS3? I ask because I mostly use my 360 on a 22" monitor using an HDMI > DVI-D adaptor fine, but when I bought my new PS3 Slim just a few weeks ago I could *not* get it to display on that same monitor using the same cable.

    Pain in the arse.
  • Mr-Brett 21 Apr 2010 17:43:32 12,799 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I use a HDMI > DVI-D cable on mine without any issues, but mine is an old 60gb.

    @KTM Just in case you don't know, DVI doesn't carry sound so you'll need to output the audio through the Optical or the PS2 port. Can't see any other problems, DVI will be fine for playing at 720p or 1080i.

    Level 37 Social Justice Warrior

  • Retroid Moderator 21 Apr 2010 17:47:37 44,782 posts
    Seen 32 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Nice to know for when (if) I get my 60gb fixed. I was wondering if it had anything to do with the PS3's insistence on having a 576p mode selected in the options by default.
  • KTM 21 Apr 2010 17:51:20 1,674 posts
    Seen 1 month ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I have a Slim so does that mean I'm screwed? I'm currently watching Advent Children at about 7 feet wide.

    Obviously I got the massive porn on the go first.

    I shoud have got a projector a long time ago!

    Size = Win
  • Retroid Moderator 21 Apr 2010 18:06:19 44,782 posts
    Seen 32 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I have no idea. It could be an oddness of my monitor, I know the PS3 is more geared towards "TV resolutions" while the 360 is more aware of "monitor resolutions".
  • dominalien 21 Apr 2010 18:08:24 6,879 posts
    Seen 50 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Zomoniac wrote:
    KTM wrote:
    So my projector just arrived, it's not exactly a beast but it was free so I can't complain.

    It's got a VGA, DVI-D, S-Video and a plain 'Video' (yellow RGB Pin) connections.

    Whats the best way to connect my PS3 to that?

    HDMI to DVI adapter.


    That, or simply a DVI-HDMI cable.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • dominalien 21 Apr 2010 18:13:06 6,879 posts
    Seen 50 seconds ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Retroid wrote:
    Has anyone used an HDMI > DVI-D apaptor successfully with a PS3? I ask because I mostly use my 360 on a 22" monitor using an HDMI > DVI-D adaptor fine, but when I bought my new PS3 Slim just a few weeks ago I could *not* get it to display on that same monitor using the same cable.

    Pain in the arse.

    Will your monitor display 576p?

    I had this problem with a monitor of mine, a 17" 1280x1024 Samsung. When you connect the PS3 for the first time it'll run in 576p, and ask whether it can switch to optimum res. My monitor correctly identified the signal as 576p, but the image remained black. Maybe you could connect it to another display device, configure it to output through HDMI at 720p/1080p/whatever and try then? If you connect it using an HDMI cable to a different device it shouldn't try to reconfigure video.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • Retroid Moderator 21 Apr 2010 18:21:36 44,782 posts
    Seen 32 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I did, a 19" HDTV from another room. Just did not want to know, even after I'd told it to switch to 720p.

    If other people have got their PS3s working with a DVI cable then it's probably just my monitor being an awkward bastard in some way. But I'd like to know for definite, to know whether I need to buy a small HDTV next time or whether another monitor (without HDMI) will do.
  • Spectral 21 Apr 2010 18:25:52 4,991 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I've had my my PS3 hooked up to a 19" HDTV with a DVI cable using an adapter at the PS3 end and it worked fine. I've never tried it with a monitor though. Is the monitor/TV definitely HDCP compatible as iirc the PS3 uses it for all resolutions, not just at 1080p like most devices.
  • Retroid Moderator 21 Apr 2010 18:57:28 44,782 posts
    Seen 32 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Ah.

    That'll be it: 360 SkyPlayer won't work on that monitor as it complains it's not HDCP.

    D'oh.
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply