Xbox 360 Data Transfer Cable Thingy Page 6

  • Page

    of 7 First / Last

  • lordofdeadside 25 Feb 2010 21:15:09 1,097 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I'd like to be added to the cable share around please! Will pay the postage obviously.
  • TWIGishere 26 Feb 2010 07:52:44 249 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Any luck with locating the cable AGP? Anyone willing to assist me with a cable loan? My brother in law has given me an unofficial one that you use with your PC but I'm very reluctant to use it
  • muzzy50k 26 Feb 2010 21:49:06 4 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Hi again all,

    Just to let you know (and anyone else with the same problem) I just took my old hard drive and newly purchased one into my local GameStation and they did it for me there and then - for FREE.

    Saves hassle of posting / buying a damned cable.

    Hope this works for others in need!
  • Madder-Max 1 Mar 2010 10:48:34 11,618 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    no they dont. i just phoned and asked. they told me i need 2 360's. this really is a ballache.

    99 problems and being ginger is one

  • Peew971 8 Mar 2010 17:07:14 4,703 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Coming to the shelves.
  • SomaticSense 10 Aug 2010 11:54:02 7,944 posts
    Seen 5 seconds ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Ok, so my old 120gb HDD has been making some horrible noises just lately and has been noticeably slower when loading content, so I've decided to transfer all my data to the spare unused 120gb one I got with my Elite.

    Question is, should I have got a Transfer Cable with the Elite already? I always keep the boxes for my major electrical goods with any spare wires or whatnot within it. Seen some posts circulating around the net with examples of people getting them with the Elite, but has that only been recently?

    edit: I should mention I still have one which I got with the old 120gb drive. It's a 'one time use only' dealio though isn't it? In which case how are people here trading them around?

    Or is it one time use only for that particular 360? In which case, with this 360 being a different one, would I still be able to use my existing cable?
  • ISmoke 22 Aug 2010 11:58:55 533 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Is the transfer cable still out in the wild? If so could i use it when Halo reach launches? More than happy to pay for recorded delivery both ways.
  • Emmit_Assassin 25 Aug 2010 21:00:22 752 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Hey guys! Any one got one they could post to me, please? DUFFMAN lent me his last time, but he's not responded to my mail!!! Getting my new xbox tomorrow! Any help?
  • Pure-Ultra 17 Sep 2010 20:54:31 738 posts
    Seen 1 week ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Quick query if anyone could help: once you have transferred everything from your old Xbox hard drive to your new one using the transfer cable thingy, is the old one devoid of any information? ie can I sell it and not worry about people being able to access any of my personal info such as credit card details, etc?
  • Deleted user 17 September 2010 20:57:38
    The old drive is wiped in the process.
  • FairyNuff 8 Oct 2010 10:12:34 1 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    HI,

    Is a Data Cable still doing the rounds?

    I'm upgrading to the new Xbox slim after a RROD and need to get my profile/saves across.

    Thanks
  • jellyhead 5 Nov 2010 21:18:46 24,350 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Can i use a usb pen to transfer my data?
    Can i get the 360 to format an 8gb pen and copy my data to it. Put the pen in my PC and make a copy of the folders. Plug in the new drive, format it then plug the pen back into the 360 to transfer my saves across?

    My 20gb drive is starting to feel cramped and i want to get a bigger drive.

    This signature intentionally left blank.

  • neosalad 10 Jan 2011 18:36:19 953 posts
    Seen 7 days ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    i got myself a new 2560GB to transfer my 60GB to, as the 60Gb is now cramped. i also still have a 20GB by the way.

    but. is there any way around transfering my XBOX 1 DLC (halo 2 maps and splinter cell) without loosing them.. i dont think there is as far as i can tell + i cant re-download them...
    i remember from the last trasnfer they corrupt... if i can somehow hook the drive up to pc with the transfer kit i would be willing to give it a try but i imagine i would need "special" software.


    i know 2 files i cant back up but trasnfere okay are my PD Zero save (not to fussed about really) and my Dead or alive 3 save (cant back iut up/copy to memory unit) but it transfers ok in the data transfer process.

    my only other option to be safe and know i have the pslinter cell and halo 2 DLC intact is to copy stuff to the xbox 360 formatted pen drive (16gb) and then copy to the 250GB HDD that way bit by bit.. but.. it's a bit of a pain to do that. BUT i would have to plug in the old 60GB hard drive to play DEAD OR ALIVE 3 or PD Zero.. which wouldnt be very liekly.. especially for PDZ.
  • Bulbatron 13 Jun 2011 10:28:05 832 posts
    Seen 56 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I conemplating ordering one of those new Xbox 360s with the 250 GB HDDs.

    I have one of those data transfer kits which I used to transfer data from my old 20 GB drive to my current 120 GB drive. Will I be able to use the transfer kit again to transfer the data from my 120 GB drive to the 250 GB drive?

    Cheers.

    Wow - what a mansion!

  • DUFFMAN5 13 Jun 2011 10:29:06 14,393 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Yes, at least I did

    the "new" 360 is lovely.

    "Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • Bulbatron 13 Jun 2011 10:39:28 832 posts
    Seen 56 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Ah, thanks for the reply, DUFFMAN5.

    If I could just ask one more question. Do you need to connect the old drive to the new console before switching on, or should I switch on, put in the CD that comes with the transfer kit and then connect the old HDD?

    It's been a while since I last used it.

    Wow - what a mansion!

  • DUFFMAN5 13 Jun 2011 10:50:13 14,393 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    You do not need the cd for transfer to the slim.

    "Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • Bulbatron 13 Jun 2011 10:51:34 832 posts
    Seen 56 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Oh, OK then, that's weird. So just connect all my shit and switch on then?

    Thanks for getting back to me.

    Wow - what a mansion!

  • Deleted user 4 July 2011 15:49:32
    So i need to transfer some data from an old hard drive to a slim, i've heard it needs a wire any info guys?
  • Whizzo 4 Jul 2011 15:52:45 43,033 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    What you need and how to do it.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Deleted user 4 July 2011 15:58:20
    Cheers dude.
  • Hog-lumps 4 Jul 2011 16:46:44 946 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    A very nice chap at game let me buy the transfer cable and return it for a full refund provided I was able to open it without damaging the packaging.

    It's not often I've had a nice thing to say about game customer service, but on this occasion I was very pleased!
  • RedSparrows 4 Jul 2011 17:29:37 22,004 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Anyone got a wire?
  • gooner77 10 Jul 2011 09:28:05 729 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Hog-lumps wrote:
    A very nice chap at game let me buy the transfer cable and return it for a full refund provided I was able to open it without damaging the packaging.

    It's not often I've had a nice thing to say about game customer service, but on this occasion I was very pleased!
    Aha so you can use it more than once. Good to know
  • RedSparrows 10 Jul 2011 16:40:16 22,004 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Dear sirs and madams, anyone got a cable spare?

    :)))))
  • BBIAJ 10 Jul 2011 16:58:26 895 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I need to know if/how you can transfer from a Slim to a Slim, given that the connections are all wrong.
  • monty2k 11 Jul 2011 01:25:48 241 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @BBIAJ:

    You can use a USB stick/hard drive to transfer content. You can only transfer a maximum of 16Gb at a time though so I'd recommend transferring your saves via USB and then re-downloading DLC/arcade games through xbox live.

    Info on using a USB drive here: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/981974
  • BBIAJ 11 Jul 2011 03:56:41 895 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Yeah, that looks like being the only way unfortunately.

    Bit of a bind, am still hoping they might release a new cable.
  • Mayhem64 11 Jul 2011 17:59:23 662 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I'm assuming the new HD is larger than the old one, only reason you'd need to transfer...?

    Lie with passion and be forever damned...

  • ronuds 11 Jul 2011 18:50:30 21,788 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Why can't you just swap HDDs?
  • Page

    of 7 First / Last

Log in or register to reply