The Budget Gaming PC thread Page 141

  • Page

    of 158 First / Last

  • ResidentKnievel 3 Mar 2014 22:19:27 6,314 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Anyone thinking of buying an SSD should look at Crucial's offerings, they're currently way cheaper than the competition.

    480GB SSD for 180 - I'm sure some people could use that without the need for backup storage.

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • urban 10 Mar 2014 15:09:48 11,150 posts
    Seen 21 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Finally cracked the freezing issue with my PC, bought the damn thing in November and I've only just fixed it. For a man who works in IT, it's downright depressing how long it took to figure out

    Just one of those weird ones in the end

    Bought a bundle from SCAN (z87 gigabyte motherboard, i5 4670k and 8gb of RAM)

    Early in the build I got a 0x00000f4 when sending auth packets to my ADSL modem. Fine, probably just the fact I hadn't loaded any drivers to Windows yet, loaded all the appropriate drivers and the blue screen went away.

    About 8 hours of usage later the system froze up, no blue screen and this continued intermittently for nearly 3 months! When you've swapped out every SINGLE component other than the bundle itself, sent it back to SCAN, TWICE to no avail, updated every driver, flashed all the firmware that can be flashed, what do you do?

    Apart from go across to the pub to huff, you turn things off.

    I decided to pull both PCI cards and watch films, play video games (offline), run a prime test, stable. Put the graphics card back in, stable.

    Put the Wifi PCI card back into PCI2, crash (okay so PCI2 is busted?) Pull the GFX card and try the WiFi card in PCI1, freeze within 10 minutes, reboot, freeze after 2 hours.

    Conclusion?

    Two different models of TP-link Wifi PCI card were causing the machine to freeze the TL-WN781ND (my original card) & the TL-WDN4800 which I bought a month ago to eliminate the wifi card as the problem.

    I bought a powerline adapter and now have a stable build, single weirdest hardware fault I've ever had, it basically got to the point where I bought a kindle and stopped turning it on when I got home from work.

    Saturday though, Saturday I decided I wasn't doing anything else until it was fixed.

    Quick google showed glimmers of people having the same issue but never coming to a conclusion, unfortunately for me this conclusion cost me...

    New SSD
    New GFX Card
    New PSU
    New SATA Cables even!

    Fuck it, at least I can suck at BF4 again!

    Edited by urban at 15:10:54 10-03-2014
  • Rodpad 10 Mar 2014 15:15:36 2,154 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Drivers and the software that goes with the drivers.

    Change them.

    Also turn off the power saving CPU stuff in the bios (ie C-States and such). That is known to cause nasty blue screens due to voltage drops causing insatiabilities.

    Edited by Roddles at 15:21:02 10-03-2014
  • urban 10 Mar 2014 15:23:24 11,150 posts
    Seen 21 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @Roddles I've tried 3 different driver versions for both wireless cards and the power saving stuff was one of the first things I clicked off before even installing windows as I had read up on issues with the Haswell chipset, also this wouldn't affect the WiFi cards.

    Like I said, I have literally tried everything, I've done 10 fresh installs of windows in attempts to RCA.

    I can live with no having a wireless card, powerline works just fine, yes it doesn't resolve the issue but after 3 months, I couldn't give less of a fuck frankly :)

    I do appreciate you're just trying to help though

    Edited by urban at 15:25:23 10-03-2014
  • Rodpad 10 Mar 2014 15:25:23 2,154 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    TP-Link use chipsets from other manufacturers. Identify the base components and use the driver from there (usually Realtek).
  • Rodpad 10 Mar 2014 15:28:34 2,154 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Oh, and actually I'm using the TL-WDN4800 in a PC at home at aren't having any issues.

    So fuck knows then, sorry!

    Edited by Roddles at 15:28:43 10-03-2014
  • urban 10 Mar 2014 16:02:36 11,150 posts
    Seen 21 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    @Roddles Atheros, I've tried their drivers too ;)
  • Rodpad 15 Mar 2014 14:48:50 2,154 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    http://www.hotukdeals.com/deals/palit-geforce-gtx-760-jetstream-free-game-169-99-novatech-1851662

    PALiT GeForce GTX 760 Jetstream + Free Game - 169.99

    You're welcome.
  • ResidentKnievel 15 Mar 2014 16:14:57 6,314 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    You could get a 7950 for 170 back then, too. Now it's equivalent, the R9 280, is selling for 200+.

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • Fake_Blood 16 Mar 2014 08:24:57 4,605 posts
    Seen 23 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @urban It's just a guess but could the actual wifi radio signal be messing with your motherboard?
  • ResidentKnievel 16 Mar 2014 08:54:40 6,314 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    He should mae a tin foil hat for his motherboard

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • DodgyPast 16 Mar 2014 15:20:43 8,601 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    BTW I notice that Titanfall is the first lazy port that would benefit from a 3Gb card...
  • Rodpad 16 Mar 2014 15:58:19 2,154 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Aye. Not much point yet though, extreme textures looks completely identical to high. It's a pretty shonky engine all round, with poor performance on every platform.

    Edited by Roddles at 15:58:39 16-03-2014
  • ResidentKnievel 23 Mar 2014 20:20:40 6,314 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    280X for 213

    Don't know why it's 20 cheaper than a stock 770 or 280X, maybe it's the awful box art

    Edited by ResidentKnievel at 20:21:06 23-03-2014

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • ResidentKnievel 23 Mar 2014 20:21:57 6,314 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    ResidentKnievel wrote:
    Anyone thinking of buying an SSD should look at Crucial's offerings, they're currently way cheaper than the competition.

    480GB SSD for 180 - I'm sure some people could use that without the need for backup storage.
    163, now, SSD prices are dropping fast, although it may also have something to do with Crucial phasing out their M500 series to make way for their new M550 SSD's.

    Edited by ResidentKnievel at 20:23:04 23-03-2014

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • ResidentKnievel 24 Mar 2014 12:10:48 6,314 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Ah well, even at 20 more expensive the 770 is probably a better buy

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • MMMarmite 24 Mar 2014 15:28:59 1,134 posts
    Seen 22 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    ResidentKnievel wrote:
    ResidentKnievel wrote:
    Anyone thinking of buying an SSD should look at Crucial's offerings, they're currently way cheaper than the competition.

    480GB SSD for 180 - I'm sure some people could use that without the need for backup storage.
    163, now, SSD prices are dropping fast, although it may also have something to do with Crucial phasing out their M500 series to make way for their new M550 SSD's.
    The M550 series isn't too badly priced either, I'm thinking they might have a surplus of NAND chips ;)
  • Rodpad 26 Mar 2014 09:34:32 2,154 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Razer's modular thing canned

    No surprise there. Was stupidly daft to begin with.
  • StixxUK 30 Mar 2014 10:42:11 7,322 posts
    Seen 1 minute ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Hmmmm I need a new motherboard/CPU/Ram set.

    Thinking of going for the EG Digital Foundry setup from their most recent article (AMD FX-6 6300).

    I'm not too worried about keeping it super cheap (although I'm not after anything extravagant either). I want a balance of price and power, but importantly it also needs to be quiet (at least when idle).

    Any thoughts? I've built a few PCs in my time, but been out of the game a while :p
  • Jetset_UK 4 Apr 2014 17:51:06 3,571 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Just a quick bit of advice please guys.

    I'm upgrading an uncles PC that I built him a couple of years ago, with windows 7 and an SSD. Its currently running windows XP.

    I'm just wondering about his current hard drive as it has files and stuff he wants on it. Can I just install win 7 on the SSD, and then delete the win XP files from the old disk and it will all be cool?

    Just delete the 'windows' directory?

    Edited by Jetset_UK at 18:12:18 04-04-2014
  • Deleted user 4 April 2014 20:24:36
    No don't do that. It will be fine but the HDD will have all sorts of hidden shit floating around.

    Install win 7 to ssd. Connect hdd. Copy files over to ssd. Format hdd. Copy files back to hdd.

    Although using a usb storage device to copy the files to before formatting the hdd is a slightly better option.
  • Sharzam 4 Apr 2014 21:14:26 3,646 posts
    Seen 52 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Depends on what the files are you want to keep and the size. Are we talking just documents, music and other standard files? Or programs, drivers etc?

    If its the former then copy them over to an external device and put that safe to one side. Plug in the SSD and full install windows to that. You can then safely restore your files from the back up. Leaving you with a spare HDD you can format and use for more storage. You should never manually delete core system folders such as Windows you will cause all manner of errors when the registry gets confused (or you might get no problems, but not worth the hassle). You can do what is suggested above but if for example he has the documents in 'My Documents' and has a password on his user account there will be other complications.

    Equally dont ever try to install Windows on top of an existing installation unless it is an actual upgrade program for the system. Which brings me to the latter, if he wants to keep programs it largely depends on the program in question as to whether it requires the registry of the new system, but as a rule of thumb it is easier to redownload and install any programs on your new OS. Some programs are happy to just Copy/Paste and will be none the wiser such as Blizzard games.

    Edited by Sharzam at 21:18:32 04-04-2014

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • Deleted user 4 April 2014 21:20:34
    Sharzam wrote:
    You can do what is suggested above but if for example he has the documents in 'My Documents' and has a password on his user account there will be other complications.
    Ahem...

    TVoJ wrote:
    Although using a usb storage device to copy the files to before formatting the hdd is a slightly better option.
    Edited by TVoJ at 21:20:45 04-04-2014
  • Sharzam 5 Apr 2014 09:40:29 3,646 posts
    Seen 52 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I meant regarding installing windows to SSD, then just copy from the HDD, your first point. Sorry wasn't clear.

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • ResidentKnievel 11 Apr 2014 12:29:49 6,314 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    290 for an R9 290

    Insane deal for an almost titan performance card, although it's fairly noisy even with that MSI cooler, if I hadn't have just recently bought a 7970ghz off ebay for cheap I'd have definitely got this.

    So much for me staying away from AMD forever

    Edited by ResidentKnievel at 12:34:24 11-04-2014

    [code]Armoured_Bear wrote:
    Unlike yourself, I don't have a weird obsession with any platform.[/code]

  • Page

    of 158 First / Last

Log in or register to reply