Virgin Media issues Page 12

  • Page

    of 18 First / Last

  • Tabasco 13 Jul 2012 18:04:19 5,780 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    They are rolling out a new firmware update for the Superhub at the moment. Seems to fix a lot of issues going by the forums.

    Moved house the other day so started a new contract with VM. Got a great deal too - Biggest TV package, 60 Meg BB, 1GB Tivo, extra HD box in bedroom and med range telephone all for £55 a month. First 6 months is £30 \o/
  • monkehhh 21 Jul 2012 23:40:09 3,135 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Worth checking out Spotify through My Virgin Media, turns out I'm entitled to 3 months Spotify Premium :)
  • DUFFMAN5 23 Jul 2012 18:14:54 13,816 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Hi chaps
    So we have the new Superhub installed now, it is 30meg (upgraded from 20meg) which in its self is no problem. The 20 odd, has done us fine for years, we donít download, just surf and play online.
    The only problem now being that I have no signal in the garden, where as before this was not an issue,so can't use my phones for youtube/EG etc.
    I have also noticed my 360 and ps3 signal strength is not as good as the modem/router combo we had before. No problems playing games online so far, just a bit bemused that we have upgraded but seem to have lost out somewhere.

    Forgot to add, that the ping test came back very good!

    Edited by DUFFMAN5 at 18:15:28 23-07-2012

    "Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • monkehhh 23 Jul 2012 18:23:32 3,135 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @DUFFMAN5 Still got your router? Could put the Hub in modem mode and use your router for.. routing.
  • elstoof 23 Jul 2012 18:27:44 6,140 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    As far as I know the superhub can be set to 2.4 or 5ghz, one of the two has better range.
  • DUFFMAN5 23 Jul 2012 18:35:54 13,816 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I will look into* chaps, thank you

    *bear in mind I honstly have no idea what I'm doing!

    "Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • monkehhh 23 Jul 2012 18:53:57 3,135 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Your Hub's setup page - http://192.168.0.1/ - enjoy :)
  • StixxUK 30 Jul 2012 13:16:14 7,173 posts
    Seen 21 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Thinking of switching from BT to Virgin as we won't have to pay line rental and it'll be cheaper than our ridiculously limited 10gb crap from BT.

    What's the current consensus on Virgin, is this a good idea?
  • spindle9988 30 Jul 2012 13:20:35 3,384 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    My virgins crap. I have to call them out again due to laggy online gaming.
  • jellyhead 30 Jul 2012 13:58:37 24,350 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    When they are good they are very, very good but when they are bad they are awful!

    We have a very unreliable relationship with Virgin but that's because they massively oversubscribed our area and the local exchange keeps breaking down as they fiddle with relocating people to different stacks when they complain rather than fixing the issue!

    This signature intentionally left blank.

  • Whizzo 30 Jul 2012 15:04:07 42,767 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Anyone in the GU post code area, please don't subscribe to VM, I don't want you possibly affecting the great service I'm getting. :-P

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • motti82 30 Jul 2012 15:48:58 2,815 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    spindle9988 wrote:
    My virgins crap. I have to call them out again due to laggy online gaming.
    Use http://portforward.com/ and set up a static IP, I found with the standard Wireless gaming with dynamic IP, I would get lag spikes. Since assigning to a Static IP, laptop, 360 and phones have been spot on.
  • localnotail 16 Aug 2012 20:33:39 23,093 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    They've blocked Newzbin after a court order.

    :(

    A strange game. The only winning move is not to play.

  • monkehhh 16 Aug 2012 20:41:01 3,135 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @localnotail is it like the way they blocked TPB? ie. Super-easy to get around.
  • localnotail 16 Aug 2012 20:55:55 23,093 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 5 years ago

    A strange game. The only winning move is not to play.

  • MrDigital 29 Aug 2012 10:35:25 1,866 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Getting Virgin 60Mb(7.5MB) internet next month, anyone have experience with this? Really looking forward to the download speeds if it actually goes up to 7.5MB/s.

    Formerly TheStylishHobo and Geesh.

  • senso-ji 29 Aug 2012 10:39:00 5,317 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I'm on Virgin's 30Mb service; I get around 2Mb download speeds, but I rarely download much stuff so the service is fine with me.
  • MrDigital 29 Aug 2012 10:40:24 1,866 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    That's pretty awful, you do mean 2Mb/s not 2MB/s?

    Formerly TheStylishHobo and Geesh.

  • Whizzo 29 Aug 2012 10:41:37 42,767 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    My 60 megabit connection normally tops out at about 8.1 meg a second, which is rather nice. I was upgraded at the end of June and I'm rather happy with it.

    Edited by Whizzo at 10:43:00 29-08-2012

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Mike1980 29 Aug 2012 10:42:35 241 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I just go it installed yesterday. Seems alright so far, was getting 66 meg DL.

    What's wierd tho, and this has been happening for a while, is that my mac only gets half the speed, but windows on the same machine gets top speed, as does my bros windows laptop. The chap said yesterday to go to speedtest.net n look for TCP optimiser but it's only windows.

    Edited by Mike1980 at 10:43:56 29-08-2012
  • monkehhh 29 Aug 2012 10:45:27 3,135 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @Geesh No complaints with the 100/10 service, when I had issues with my 50/5 connection it was all sorted when they sent an engineer out to fiddle with power levels. I'm sure people have many issues with Virgin, as with any ISP, but I've found it tons better than my experience on ADSL with BT and co.

  • MrDigital 29 Aug 2012 10:50:21 1,866 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Awesome, thanks guys. I'm far too excited about a fast internet speed :D I remember when I was a friend's in Sweden a few years ago and went a bit mental when I saw their 120Mb connection!

    Formerly TheStylishHobo and Geesh.

  • senso-ji 29 Aug 2012 11:19:56 5,317 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Geesh wrote:
    That's pretty awful, you do mean 2Mb/s not 2MB/s?
    Speedtest website says 31 Mbp/s download and 1.95 Mbp/s upload. Everything works very quickly.
  • jellyhead 29 Aug 2012 12:14:10 24,350 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Virgin are great when they work but they're the main reason i haven't bothered with online gaming. The connection here is too random. I'd rather an under-subscribed and reliable service than the speed doubling they're offering now :(

    This signature intentionally left blank.

  • spindle9988 25 Sep 2012 10:09:59 3,384 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I have a hub coming today as I have always had a laggy experience with virgin at my current flat. The guy promised me this would sort the problem. Does anyone think it will or are they just fobbing me off?
  • Whizzo 25 Sep 2012 10:45:34 42,767 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    If a cable modem is playing up you'll either get no connection at all or it'll drop on a regular basis rather than it be laggy.

    I don't have any complaints about my Superhub running in modem only mode though, well other than the fact it lights up like a bloody Christmas tree.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • trav 25 Sep 2012 10:54:08 925 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Whizzo wrote:
    I don't have any complaints about my Superhub running in modem only mode though, well other than the fact it lights up like a bloody Christmas tree.
    That's one thing that annoys me, the Superhub seems to want to land planes on my house with the number of bloody lights on it.

    Switching over to modem only though and through a router was the best thing I did. Have better range, no more dropping out and just better all
    round connection. If you can install a router, do it as soon as possible.
  • spindle9988 25 Sep 2012 10:55:20 3,384 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    If this doesnt work I am just going to cancel and go with another isp. They are doing my head in
  • Rhythm 25 Sep 2012 10:56:09 2,375 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Meh, Cable and Wireless fibred my street over 13 years ago but no provider has ever connected it to any circuits. A recent email from Sky telling me that BT fibre is now available prompted me to prod Virgin Media via CableMyStreet to see if I could get hooked up. No go, apparently. For whatever reason it's "too prohibitively expensive". Even though there's fibre in situ and BT have managed to lay theirs.

    So it's pay a tenner a month to Sky for an extra 30mbs or nothing, I guess :-/
  • spindle9988 25 Sep 2012 15:50:49 3,384 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Im never sure what server to select with the speed test.
  • Page

    of 18 First / Last

Log in or register to reply