If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

MS clarifies gamescom event format

Announcements, hands-on, interviews.

Microsoft has said that its gamescom "Play Day" event will allow press to see new games and interview developers and executives, but will not adopt the format of a traditional trade show press conference.

"The event is an intimate opportunity to come face to face with games and key Microsoft personnel," a spokesperson told Eurogamer this evening.

We're told to expect announcements to appear in parallel with the event, so those of you hoping for revelations like a possible European release date for Kinect should keep your eyes on the internet from 11.30am BST / 12.30pm CET tomorrow, 17th August.

Nintendo has no plans to do a press conference this year, but will have a strong presence on the consumer show floor.

Sony, meanwhile, has confirmed that it will make remarks and announcement - a conference, if you like - to press at its own Cologne event tomorrow evening. Doors open at 5pm BST / 6pm CET with events expected to start an hour later.

Will you support Eurogamer?

We want to make Eurogamer better, and that means better for our readers - not for algorithms. You can help! Become a supporter of Eurogamer and you can view the site completely ad-free, as well as gaining exclusive access to articles, podcasts and conversations that will bring you closer to the team, the stories, and the games we all love. Subscriptions start at £3.99 / $4.99 per month.

Tagged With

About the Author

Tom Bramwell avatar

Tom Bramwell

Contributor

Tom worked at Eurogamer from early 2000 to late 2014, including seven years as Editor-in-Chief.

Comments

More News

Latest Articles

Supporters Only

Eurogamer.net logo

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer.net Merch