If you click on a link and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our editorial policy.

FFXIV will have 18 classes at release

Seven combat, 11 trade disciplines.

Square Enix has revealed that its new MMO Final Fantasy XIV Online will feature 18 character classes, or disciplines, at launch.

The confirmation comes in the latest Famitsu, as revealed by FFXIV Core.

The tally matches the number of classes detailed to date on the game's game's official website. The 18 classes cover both combat disciplines and gathering and crafting roles.

The classes can all be mixed and matched on a single character using FFXIV's Armoury system, which bases abilities on equipment, and features no overall character level.

There are four disciplines, or groups of classes. Disciples of War are weapon-based combat classes: the Pugilist, Gladiator, Marauder, Archer and Lancer. There are just two Disciples of Magic: the Conjurer and Thaumaturge.

Disciples of the Land, or gathering classes, are the Miner, Botanist and Fisher. Disciples of the Hand are FFXIV's crafters, and there are a lot of them, with crafting apparently playing an important role in the game. Carpenter, Blacksmith, Armourer, Goldsmith, Leatherworker, Weaver, Alchemist and Culinarian are your choices here.

Square Enix says not all of these 18 classes will be available to try in the beta test before launch - but that it does plan to add more after FFXIV's PC release in September.

From Assassin's Creed to Zoo Tycoon, we welcome all gamers

Eurogamer welcomes videogamers of all types, so sign in and join our community!

In this article
Follow a topic and we'll email you when we write an article about it.
Related topics
About the Author
Oli Welsh avatar

Oli Welsh


Oli was Eurogamer's MMO Editor before a seven-year stint as Editor. He worked here for a colossal 14 years, shaping the website and leading it.