Square Enix plans to release the 2008 Edition of Final Fantasy XI on 23rd May.

Inside are all four PC and 360 expansions released for the MMO so far. That means Rise of the Zilart (2004), Chains of Promathia (2004), Treasures of Aht Urghan (2006) and Wings of the Goddess (2007).

Much has changed since the game arrived in Europe on PC in 2004 and on Xbox 360 in 2006. Zilart added the Dragoon, Samurai and Ninja jobs; Promathia expanded the land with 40 fresh areas; Aht Urghan added Puppetmaster, Corsair and Blue Mage jobs, and Wings added large-scale Campaign battles, Dancer and Scholar jobs, plus various spells and job abilities.

Various areas, quests, monsters and all sorts were included in the expansions, too.

Final Fantasy XI is the only game where Xbox 360, PC and PS2 owners can play together online. It boasts a current community of 500,000 people and has ridable chickens.

Pop over to our Final Fantasy XI gamepages to catch up on the action.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (18)

About the author

Robert Purchese

Robert Purchese

Senior Staff Writer

Bertie is senior staff writer and Eurogamer's Poland-and-dragons correspondent. He's part of the furniture here, a friendly chair, and reports on all kinds of things, the stranger the better.

More articles by Robert Purchese

Comments (18)

Hide low-scoring comments


Final Fantasy XI

Vana 'Diel, or shall I?

Final Fantasy 11 shuts down its console servers

The PS2 version lasted for nearly 14 years.

FF11 is the most profitable Final Fantasy ever

Producer Hiromichi Tanaka departs Square Enix amid health concerns.

Final Fantasy XI Abyssea Edition incoming

All MMO's content bundled together.