FFXIV will have 18 classes at release

Seven combat, 11 trade disciplines.

Square Enix has revealed that its new MMO Final Fantasy XIV Online will feature 18 character classes, or disciplines, at launch.

The confirmation comes in the latest Famitsu, as revealed by FFXIV Core.

The tally matches the number of classes detailed to date on the game's game's official website. The 18 classes cover both combat disciplines and gathering and crafting roles.

The classes can all be mixed and matched on a single character using FFXIV's Armoury system, which bases abilities on equipment, and features no overall character level.

There are four disciplines, or groups of classes. Disciples of War are weapon-based combat classes: the Pugilist, Gladiator, Marauder, Archer and Lancer. There are just two Disciples of Magic: the Conjurer and Thaumaturge.

Disciples of the Land, or gathering classes, are the Miner, Botanist and Fisher. Disciples of the Hand are FFXIV's crafters, and there are a lot of them, with crafting apparently playing an important role in the game. Carpenter, Blacksmith, Armourer, Goldsmith, Leatherworker, Weaver, Alchemist and Culinarian are your choices here.

Square Enix says not all of these 18 classes will be available to try in the beta test before launch - but that it does plan to add more after FFXIV's PC release in September.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (27)

About the author

Oli Welsh

Oli Welsh


Oli is the editor of Eurogamer.net and likes to take things one word at a time. His friends call him The European, but that's just a coincidence. He's still playing Diablo 3.


You may also enjoy...

The best jobs for each character in Final Fantasy 12

With The Zodiac Age releasing on Switch and Xbox One today.

Persona 5 test answers - How to ace school exam and class quiz questions

Become top of the class with our complete list of quiz answers.

Undertale walkthrough, Pacifist guide and tips for Switch, PS4, Vita and PC

How to spare everyone in the acclaimed role-playing adventure.

Kingdom Hearts 3 Lucky Emblem locations

Where to find all 90 Lucky Emblems in Kingdom Hearts 3.

Comments (27)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments