Save 35% on a Eurogamer yearly subscription this Black Friday!

Elden Ring network test times, dates, how to access and download size explained

Testing the (New Londo) waters.

The Elden Ring network test will be playable very soon for a few selected players.

Introduced itself as a network test, it's meant to showcase the game for a number of players while also serving as a test for the servers before the full release goes live on February 25th, 2022. Thankfully, there are several sessions to take part of, in case you miss or find yourself unable to participate in any of them.

This page will cover the Elden Ring network test times and how to access it, as well as pre-load times and what's in offer during the network test across the multiple sessions.

On this page:

Elden Ring New Gameplay! Everything You Need to Know About the Elden Ring PS5 Closed Network Test

What is the Elden Ring network test schedule? Elden Ring network test start times and end times in GMT / UK, Europe, EST and PST

The Elden Ring network test is available across five sessions throughout a weekend. Bear in mind that this is exclusively for PlayStation and Xbox - both current and old gen consoles - and not eligible for PC.

elden_ring_network_test_1

For the Elden Ring network test, the UK / Europe start times and end times are as follows:

Day Network Test start time Network Test end time
Friday, November 12th 11am (GMT / UK)
12pm (CEST / Europe)
2pm (GMT / UK)
3pm (CEST / Europe)
Saturday, November 13th 3am (GMT / UK)
4am (CEST / Europe)
6am (GMT / UK)
7am (CEST / Europe)
Saturday, November 13th 7pm (GMT / UK)
8pm (CEST / Europe)
10pm (GMT / UK)
11pm (CEST / Europe)
Sunday, November 14th 11am (GMT / UK)
12pm (CEST / Europe)
2pm (GMT / UK)
3pm (CEST / Europe)
Monday, November 15th 3am (GMT / UK)
4am (CEST / Europe)
6am (GMT / UK)
7am (CEST / Europe)

For the Elden Ring network test, the US West Coast / East Coast start times and end times are as follows:

Day Network Test start time Network Test end time
Friday, November 12th 3am (PST / West Coast US)
6am (EST / East Coast US)
6am (PST / West Coast US)
9am (EST / East Coast US)
Friday, November 12th 7pm (PST / West Coast US)
10pm (EST / East Coast US)
10pm (PST / West Coast US)
1am (EST / East Coast US)
Saturday, November 13th 11am (PST / West Coast US)
2pm (EST / East Coast US)
2pm (PST / West Coast US)
5pm (EST / East Coast US)
Sunday, November 14th 3am (PST / West Coast US)
6am (EST / East Coast US)
6am (PST / West Coast US)
9am (EST / East Coast US)
Monday, November 15th 7pm (PST / West Coast US)
10pm (EST / East Coast US)
10pm (PST / West Coast US)
1am (EST / East Coast US)

PS4 and PS5 users can be matched on the same game server - the same applies between Xbox One and Xbox Series X/S.

Bear in mind that Bandai Namco that the aforementioned times are subject to change or cancellation.

Elden Ring network test codes and network test access explained

Instead of being tied to pre-orders or any special editions, the Elden Ring network test required for you to register for a chance to get an Elden Ring network test code.

elden_ring_network_test_3

The Elden Ring network test codes were sent primarily on Tuesday, November 9th across different regions. Not everyone received an invite - if that's your case, you should have received an email saying so.

It's unsure whether or not there will be another network test in the future. Considering we're still a couple months ahead of launch, and depending on how this network test goes, who knows! Don't lose hope. At the very least, there will be plenty of footage online from players to watch.

A news post in the Elden Ring network test site has a note regarding people that may have encountered problems with their codes, either due to their regions or as per an error that says "this code is already used." If you encountered any of these problems, you can find the steps to follow in the post, which also includes a support email.

Elden Ring pre-load times and download size

Alongside the above start times, you can also start the pre-load to be all set and jump into the game as soon as it launches.

elden_ring_network_test_2

If you were part of the lucky players that received an invitation to the Elden Ring network test, you can redeem that code on your platform and start downloading the game already. If you haven't registered, then you won't be able to get in or receive an invitation, unless you fancy forking out on eBay...

In case you were wondering about download size, there is already available info regarding PS5 (thanks to @PlaystationSize on Twitter for the datamine):

  • PS5: 6.888 GB (although this may vary after updates once the network test starts)

What's featured in the Elden Ring network test?

The Elden Ring network test features a glance of the full release, allowing you to play as a pre-set character and explore the open world as well as dungeons, fighting enemies and taking part of the online multiplayer.

elden_ring_network_test_4

The network test features five pre-set characters with a specific class and equipment from the get-go, but you can expect 11 classes as well as full character customization like other Soulsborne games. These are Warrior, Enchanted Knight, Prophet, Champion and Bloody Wolf. We explain which you should pick in our best Elden Ring starting class explainer.

If you're wondering what to expect content-wise, the Elden Ring network test lets you explore the starting area of the game. We won't spoil you any surprises, but you can expect to stumble upon many of the game's foundational systems, including dungeons, bosses, and some of the elements from combat. And yes, there's a horse.

It's worth mentioning that this is a network test first and foremost. The developer will be mostly testing the game server load with a big influx of players, overall game balance and how multiplayer works in general. The terms and conditions mention a survey, so it's possible that there will be a chance to provide feedback on the experience.

All in all, be patient! At the very least, there will be several opportunities to get your hands on a small portion of Elden Ring. Once you're in, bear in mind that it's dangerous to go alone, so knowing how to play with friends and how to unlock the horse will set you on the right path.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

Jump to comments (0)

About the author

Diego Arguello

Diego Arguello

Contributor  |  diegoarguello66

Diego is a freelance writer from Argentina who has learned English thanks to video games. He missed most of the classics, but can gush about Doom, Persona, The Darkness and pinballs for hours. Probably on Twitter right now.

Related

You may also enjoy...

Supporters only

Comments (0)

Hide low-scoring comments
Order
Threading
Eurogamer.net

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer Merch
Explore our store