EA details Rock Band

Modes and more songs revealed.

EA and MTV have let fly a few new details for their upcoming rhythm-action game Rock Band, including a handful of fresh songs.

Joining the four previously confirmed tracks will be Mississippi from Mountain, Suffragette City by David Bowie, Don't Fear the Reaper by Blue Oyster Cult and Main Offender by The Hives.

The full list is expected to be vast, with developer Harmonix being given access to the vaults of the biggest record labels in the world.

For those of you worried you'll struggle to keep up with your friends, there will be a Tutorial mode and a Practice mode and these will let you break down sections of a song to try over and over again. (A bit like Guitar Hero II did. Funny, that). Alongside these are Quick Play, Solo and World Tours, the latter of which is playable online, so you don't have to cram your mates in your living room each time.

EA was also keen to talk up the authenticity of the new peripherals, even though it's still shying away from popping a price on them. Head over to our Rock Band gallery to get a look at the Fender Stratocaster-inspired guitar.

Rock Band is due for release on Xbox 360 and PS3 this winter. Expect our impressions of it from this week's E3 show in America soon.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (26)

About the author

Robert Purchese

Robert Purchese

Senior Staff Writer

Bertie is senior staff writer and Eurogamer's Poland-and-dragons correspondent. He's part of the furniture here, a friendly chair, and reports on all kinds of things, the stranger the better.


You may also enjoy...

Comments (26)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments