Deleting Facebook also deletes your Oculus purchases

Bad optics.

Oculus has endured a PR nightmare in recent weeks after it emerged its controversial Oculus Quest 2 Facebook account merge had turned some headsets into "paperweights". Well, that nightmare is set to continue with the revelation that deleting Facebook also deletes your Oculus purchases.

Twitter user @CixLiv revealed the news, which was subsequently verified by UploadVR.

Facebook confirmed to UploadVR that if you own the original Quest, Rift or Rift 2, don't plan to get another Oculus headset and haven't yet linked your Oculus and Facebook accounts, then deleting your unlinked Facebook account now won't affect your Oculus store purchases. However, it's worth noting currently anyone using an Oculus device for the first time or the Oculus Quest 2 needs to log in with a Facebook account, and from 2023, Facebook will no longer support Oculus accounts at all.

1
Image credit Twitter user @CixLiv.

This latest news comes from text Facebook displays when you try to permanently delete your account. "Deleting your Facebook account will also delete your Oculus information," the text warns. "This includes your app purchases and achievements. You will no longer be able to return any apps and will lose any existing store credits."

As you'd expect, Oculus and Facebook have been criticised for this policy at a time when Facebook and social media are under intense scrutiny. I've seen plenty of people suggest creating separate Facebook accounts for Oculus, but there is concern that this approach may not work.

Last week, Facebook's augmented and virtual reality boss Andrew Bosworth responded to the account suspension issue by saying "people should continue to make sure their Facebook accounts are in good standing before they buy the headset".

"They can work through those problems before they do it."

Bosworth went on to say he was "a big fan of this move, even still".

"But I want to point out this is very common - Google, Apple, Xbox, pick a favourite," he said.

"They make you sign in with an account and there's a reason for that. We get to provide better services that way and stronger guarantees around things like data security, and compliance with regulations. So I'm a big fan of this move, even still."

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (175)

About the author

Wesley Yin-Poole

Wesley Yin-Poole

Deputy Editor  |  wyp100

Wesley is Eurogamer's deputy editor. He likes news, interviews, and more news. He also likes Street Fighter more than anyone can get him to shut up about it.

Related

You may also enjoy...

ShopTo warns customers with Xbox Series X/S pre-orders that they may miss out on launch day consoles, too

The news comes just days after the retailer sent similar correspondence about PS5 pre-orders.

CEX staff complain of "flimsy" protection as stores re-open

Opening hours "likely" to change, as workers say there's not enough time to clean.

FIFA 20 gets Black Lives Matter in-game message

EA gives out No Room For Racism club items again.

Comments (175)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments
Order
Threading