Destiny 2 Trials of Osiris: How to unlock, requirements and Trials loot explained

How to unlock the Trials of Osiris in the Season of the Worthy.

As of 5pm (BST) on Friday 13th March, Trials of Osiris will return to Destiny 2 in the Season of the Worthy. Like all things Destiny 2, you'll be expected to jump through a series of hoops prior to unlocking the Trials of Osiris.

Below you'll discover exactly how to unlock the Trials of Osiris, alongside the required power levels and everything you need to know about the loot you can earn.

On this page:

What is the Trials of Osiris in Destiny 2?

If you've found yourself on reddit or played Destiny 1 or earlier Destiny 2 seasons, you'll know that Trials of Osiris are the pinnacle of Player Versus Player.

For the uninitiated, Trials of Osiris is a competitive mode wherein two teams, formed of three players, fight with a limited number of lives in the Elimination format. The event starts every Friday after reset and continues through the weekend until reset on Monday.

At the start of every run, players are provided with a card. Three losses on this card means that your run will come to an end. Thankfully, you can pick up as many cards as you like during the event.

The real key is to score a “flawless” card which requires players to rack up seven wins without a single loss will be rewarded by going to a prestige social space known as “The Lighthouse”. As the game mode matches players based on their current card, this means that reaching this coveted zone is incredibly difficult and not for the foolhardy.

How to Unlock the Trials of Osiris in Destiny 2?

Unlike some other activities in Destiny 2, The Trials of Osiris is incredibly easy to unlock. As outlined below, that's all you have to do. There are no tricks, no secrets, just preparedness.

  • Speak to Saint-14 in the Tower
  • Get to Power Level 960

Head on through to the Hangar in the Tower, have a natter with Saint-14, and then off you pop. It's time to sweat out the weekend with Hardlight and Revoker.

Destiny 2 Trials of Osiris level requirements explained

If you have unlocked Trials of Osiris, it is important to note that Power Level bonuses are enabled in this mode. Bungie have confirmed their intention is to disable Artifact power level bonuses after the first weekend, but your gear will still factor in your survivability.

What this means is that players with low light levels will do less damage and take more damage from those with a higher light level.

Given what we know so far, the maximum power level gap between a player with the lowest power level and a player with the highest possible power level will be 50 whole levels. This is quite substantial, so always ensure you are going in equipped with the best gear possible.

What's changed in Trials of Osiris in Destiny 2?

While Trials has returned, there have been a few tweaks. Boons are no longer a thing. Instead, they've been replaced with different Passages. Each passage offers something similar to previous boons, but cannot be stacked. The Passages are as follows:

  • Passage of Mercy - Your first lost does not count as a loss on your Trials card
  • Passage of Ferocity - If you reach three wins without a loss, you gain an additional win
  • Passage of Wealth - Increased tokens from completing and winning Trials matches
  • Passage of Wisdom - Increases XP gains from Trials wins, scaling with more wins
  • Passage of Confidence - Grants additional rewards for a Flawless card

Season of the Splicer has arrived! Each week offers a new step in the Path of the Splicer quest and a new Expunge mission to complete. Elsewhere, we've seen new Nightfall weapons such as the Uzume RR4, Plug One.1 and Hung Jury SR4. Elsewhere, we've seen the return of Vault of Glass, which offers both the Vex Mythoclast and Fatebringer, as well as new chest locations and Glass Shards to find. Other recent new features include transmog and materials Synthstrand, Synthcord and Synthweave, the Splicer Gauntlet and Decrypted Data used to upgrade it.

Destiny 2 Trials of Osiris loot explained

Every class will have Trials of Osiris specific armour in the Season of the Worthy. It will be unlocked by competing in Trials of Osiris and the amount of gear you unlock will be tied to how well you perform. Additionally, those who go “Flawless” will receive an armour mod that will make their Trials of Osiris equipment glow.

There will also be a series of Trials of Osiris specific weapons to be obtained too. These weapons can be gained through tokens, which are obtained by competing in trials and finishing bounties, or by winning a set number of times in Trials.

The first reward is a Tier 2 Powerful Engram at three wins, followed by a Tier 3 Powerful Engram at five wins, there is a Pinnacle Engram at seven wins, and there is also additional loot if you manage seven wins without losing a single game.

And that's everything you need to know about unlocking the Trials of Osiris and what you get for successful runs. Good luck out there Guardian.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

Jump to comments (0)

About the author

Ryan Esler

Ryan Esler



You may also enjoy...

Comments (0)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer Merch