Hunting for story clues in Netflix's The Witcher episode titles

And there's a cool Easter egg in there.

Netflix has revealed the episode titles for The Witcher, among other teases.

The Henry Cavill-starring show is set to launch its first season on Netflix, and ahead of time, Netflix took to Twitter to reveal the titles of the first eight episodes.

Alongside each title is a brief description and a gif of its logo, and it's the descriptions that give us an idea of the events and themes the show will touch on.

So, what can we expect? Well, the first episode, titled The End's Beginning, carries the following description: "A monster slain, a butcher named." This suggests the show will touch on Geralt's The Butcher of Blaviken origins.

Episode two, titled Four Masks, carries the description: "We look at a sorceress's early days." That surely means we'll get Yennefer's backstory. Episode three, titled Betrayer Moon, has a bestial footprint as its logo. Werewolf gubbins, perhaps?

Episode four, Of Banquets, Bastards and Burials, includes the description: "The Law of Surprise is how one repays." The Law of Surprise is an old custom that dictates that a man saved by another is expected to offer a boon as payment, usually the saved man's firstborn child. Episode five, Bottled Appetites, has the description: "A fateful meeting, a bard is maimed." Surely the bard is Dandelion.

And of course there's a dragon. Does the dragon burn the kingdom? If it does, perhaps we get a flashback to a time before it was in flames.

And finally, episode eight is called Much More. "The Witcher Family, as you all like to say," is the description. This season finale surely sees Geralt, Yennefer and Ciri get together in some way.

Here's the list:

  • Episode 1: The End's Beginning - A monster slain, a butcher named.
  • Episode 2: Four Marks - We look at a sorceress's early days.
  • Episode 3: Betrayer Moon - A picky eater, a family shamed.
  • Episode 4: Of Banquets, Bastards and Burials - The Law of Surprise is how one repays.
  • Episode 5: Bottled Appetites - A fateful meeting, a bard is maimed.
  • Episode 6: Rare Species - The hunt for a dragon is underway.
  • Episode 7: Before a Fall - A return to before a kingdom is flamed.
  • Episode 8: Much More - The Witcher Family, as you all like to say.

There's a nice little Easter egg in all this, too. If you combine all of the descriptions you get a nifty poem:

A monster slain, a butcher named

We look at a sorceress's earlier days

A picky eater, a family shamed

The Law of Surprise is how one repays

A fateful meeting, a bard is maimed

The hunt for a dragon is underway

A return to before a kingdom is flamed

The Witcher Family as you all like to say

The Witcher hits Netflix just in time for Christmas, on 20th December. A second season is already confirmed.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

Jump to comments (12)

About the author

Wesley Yin-Poole

Wesley Yin-Poole

Editor  |  wyp100

Wesley is Eurogamer's editor. He likes news, interviews, and more news. He also likes Street Fighter more than anyone can get him to shut up about it.


The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild sequel launches 2022

Stunning new trailer reveals floating island gameplay.

You can now search for and find Cyberpunk 2077 on the PlayStation Store - but you can't buy it yet

UPDATE: Back on sale 21st June, but Sony warns of continued PS4 performance issues.

Sea of Thieves is getting a Pirates of the Caribbean crossover next week

New story campaign arriving as part of Season 3.

You may also enjoy...

Comments (12)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer Merch