Destiny 2 Armor 2.0 explained, from how to get Armor Mods to the Universal Ornament 'transmog' system

Every change coming to Destiny 2's armor system explained.

Armor 2.0 is the umbrella name for the many changes to Destiny 2's Armor system in late 2019.

Armor can now be customised to better suit your style, both through base stats and giving it perks you can acquire through Armor mods.

Not only that, you can now change an Armor's appearance through a Universal Ornament 'transmog' system - allowing you to make better use of those hard earned cosmetics.

All these features are introduced as part of Destiny 2's third year, with the arrival of New Light content and Shadowkeep.

On this page:

Remember all the following features are only supported with Armor picked up from Year 3 onwards. That means if you want Mods to equip inside a legacy raid set, you need to run that and acquire them again.

What is Destiny 2's Armor 2.0 system and how does it work?

Destiny 2's Armor 2.0 system sees how you use armor change significantly as the game enters its third year, allowing you to customise it with stats and appearance to suit your playstyle.

Here's how it all works:

  • Armor affects six stats, which changes based on the base value of the pieces you equip and the mods you slot into them.
  • These are a mix of values from both the original Destiny and its sequel, and have a value of 1 to 100. Every 10 points then gives you a stat boost - for example, a mobility value of 30 increases your Guardian's movement by 13%, where as a value of 40 has 16%.
  • These values are as follows:
    • Mobility - "Increases your movement speed and maximum jump height"
    • Resilience - "Increases the amount of damage you can take before dying"
    • Recovery - "Increases the speed at which you regain lost health"
    • Discipline - "Increases the cooldown time of your grenades, allowing you to use them more often"
    • Intellect - "Decreases the cooldown of your Super ability, allowing you to use it more often"
    • Strength - "Decreases the cooldown time of your melee ability, allowing you to use it more often"
  • Equipping armor will increase these values in different ways. They can also use Mods, which introduce perks.
  • Each mod has a value, and the more you level up armor, the more perks you can equip. For example, if your armor is level six, then you have a budget of six points to spend - so you could equip mods worth 2 and 4 points each.
  • You can level up each armor piece up to level 10, which requires certain materials such as Enchantment Prisms or Ascendant Shards. Not only does this give you a budget of 10 when equipping mods, but it'll be 'Masterworked', giving it a +2 stat boost.
  • You cannot slot any Mod into any armor piece. Some are specific to that slot - Chest pieces will focus on Unflinching and Capacity Mods, for example - while others will need to match the Armor's Void, Solar or Arc status.
  • Though class items won't have stats, they can be equipped with mods to add new perks.
  • Mods are not consumables - once you own one, then can socketed as many times as you like across different respective armor pieces that support them.
  • Exotics work differently - while other armour sets don't come with any perks, these come with one pre-installed. Their appearance also cannot be changed outside of Shaders.

How to get Armor Mods in Destiny 2

At Shadowkeep's launch, Bungie has explained you can get Armor mods from the following sources:

  • From the Gunsmith, either directly through a rotating selection, or from Gunsmith packages
  • World Engram rewards
  • 'Enhanced' Engrams from certain activities, such as Iron Banner and the Raid
  • Time-limited Mods from Seasonal Artefacts that expire at the end of a season

With the exception of those Seasonal Artefact Mods, once you have a Mod, it's always in your inventory and can be consumed as many times as you like, allowing you to experiment with using them across different types of builds.

The Seasonal Artefact will introduce different temporary Armor Mods each season.

Destiny 2 Mod types and Mod elements explained

Not all Mods can be installed into any Armor piece. Not only do elements come into play, but different equipment will use different mods based on the improvements you want to make.

It's a little confusing, but kirillburton on reddit has created a useful chart (based on the work by ILikeMeatloaf) showing exactly which Mods work with what equipment.

For example - if you want to improve Pulse Rifles, then you need Arc armor. If you want to specifically want to equip Targeting Mods, then you need to equip an Arc Helmet. If you want Scavenger Mods, then Arc Legs are required.

Here's the Armor 2.0 Mod types and elements chart:

Image credit: kirillburton on reddit

How to change your Destiny 2 Armor appearance with the Universal Ornament 'transmog' system

In Destiny 2 Year 3, also it's possible to change the appearance of your equipment while keeping the base item's stats and benefits (this includes recent armor such as Solstice of Heroes).

This is the Universal Ornament system - or transmog system, for those familiar with other MMOs - and allows you to change Armor 2.0 equipment (which begin to drop from Shadowkeep and New Light's launch) into any of your collected Eververse armor.

To clarify - you cannot change anything to anything else. The base armour has to be Armor 2.0, and the armour appearances available are 'cosmetic' Eververse sets you have collected, which are now Universal Ornaments.

An additional exception are Exotics, the appearance of which cannot be changed.

To do this, on the perks screen, scroll down where to says 'Appearance' below.


From here, you can make cosmetic changes - including equip Universal Ornaments, Shaders and if supported, Glows.


Destiny 2 Armor 2.0 list: Which previous Destiny 2 Armor will support Armor 2.0?

As well as Shadowkeep's new armor sets, the following existing Destiny 2 Armor will have 2.0 versions once Shadowkeep launches (thanks for the list):

  • Crucible: Year 1 (includes Year 1 ornaments)
  • Vanguard: Year 1 (includes Year 1 ornaments)
  • Black Armory Forges
  • Gambit (including Prime sets)
  • Menagerie
  • Raids, including:
    • Leviathan
    • Eater of Worlds
    • Spire of Stars
    • Last Wish
    • Scourge of the Past
    • Crown of Sorrow
  • Destination Armor sets, including:
    • European Dead Zone
    • Titan
    • Nessus
    • Io
    • Mercury
    • Mars (Vendor and Escalation Protocol)
    • Tangled Shore
    • Dreaming City
  • "Additional world drops that can be found in Legendary engrams", according to Bungie

Remember you need to run these activities anew from Year 3 onwards to get their Armor 2.0 versions. Pulling them from Collections, for example, will give you the older version.


It's worth noting certain Armor is already available as 2.0 versions as soon as Shadowkeep launches. This includes your legendary Solstice of Heroes set, waiting for you at the Gunsmith, and Exotics, which you can pull from your collection with a set roll.

Once you have a Armor 2.0 version of the above, it will then support the new Mod system, as well as Universal Ornaments, allowing you to change the appearance to a cosmetic 'Eververse' set you have collected.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (1)

About the author

Matthew Reynolds

Matthew Reynolds

Guides Editor  |  Crazyreyn

Matthew edits guides and other helpful things at When not doing that, he's out and about playing Pokémon Go or continuing to amass his amiibo collection.


You may also enjoy...

Comments (1)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments