Pokémon Go's big Detective Pikachu crossover begins today

Watson the agenda?

Brand synergy, I choose you! Pokémon Go's inevitable Detective Pikachu in-game event starts today, so you can celebrate the Pokémon franchise's first live-action movie via its ubiquitous mobile game.

The 10-day event kicks off at 9pm UK time tonight (that's 4pm Eastern, or 1pm Pacific) and will last until 9pm UK time on Friday, 17th May.

During this time you'll be able to capture Pikachu wearing a detective cap via Pokémon Go's snapshot photobomb feature (the one which usually gives you Smeargle).

There will be increased spawns of Pokémon which feature prominently in the film (Snubble, Bulbasaur, Psyduck, Jigglypuff) and the Shiny version of Aipom will be released.

Raids and research will change, and Detective Pikachu avatar hats and T-shirts will be added.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (1)

About the author

Tom Phillips

Tom Phillips

News Editor

Tom is Eurogamer's news editor. He writes lots of news, some of the puns and all the stealth Destiny articles.

Related

You may also enjoy...

Pokémon Go November Field Research tasks and their rewards explained

All Field Research tasks listed, plus Special Research and Research Breakthroughs work in Pokémon Go.

Pokémon Go Egg charts: What's in 2km, 5km, 7km, 10km Eggs

Egg charts for 2km, 5km, 7km and 10km distances in Pokémon Go.

Comments (1)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments
Order
Threading