Remember the PlayStation 4 Fortnite account curse? It feels like an age since Sony forced Fortnite players to create separate accounts to play the game on Switch - but Epic has finally implemented a solution to repair the damage.
Originally announced back in September (when cross-play became a reality), Fortnite's account merge tool does what it says on the tin. Simply decide on which of your two accounts you'd like to keep, then log into both and voilŕ: your v-bucks and items should all transfer to your chosen primary account.
There are a couple of caveats to the merge tool, however. For now at least, accounts eligible for merging "must have played on Xbox One or Switch and the other on PS4 before September 28th 2018". As the feature was created to solve issues with unlinking PlayStation accounts from Epic accounts, this makes a lot of sense - but means you can't merge any old spare accounts you may have.
Oh, and you definitely can't merge banned or disabled accounts.
If you have an eligible account, it's worth noting the transferal process isn't instant. There's a two week delay before your items and v-bucks arrive in your primary account (likely for security reasons). God, it feels like real-life banking.
Another limitation is the merge tool only works for cosmetic items - except for Save the World mode, which allows you to transfer XP. This means any XP and levels from the battle royale mode cannot be moved into your primary account, and will be lost to the void.
Although it's arrived a few months later than expected, the account merge tool should finally banish the spectre of the PlayStation 4 account curse. It's literally saved my skin.