Destiny 2 weekly reset is the most important day in the week for those wanting to get the most out of Bungie's loot-filled shooter.

Many activities in the game - particularly those offering high level loot - are capped at dropping their rewards once per week, so learning the day these activities reset and start over is key to helping you reach higher levels and try out new challenges.

The arrival of Forsaken also sees tweaks to 'Daily' resets for certain activities, too, which are worth learning about if you want to maximize your loot returns.

If you're interested in reaching higher levels in general, our Destiny 2 levelling page explains the ins and outs of how levelling works.

On this page:

What time is the Destiny 2 weekly reset and what changes each week?

There are two types of reset in Destiny 2 - the weekly reset and 'daily'. The main one is the weekly reset, which occurs every Tuesday at the following times:

  • UK: 6pm (BST)
  • Europe: 7pm (CEST)
  • East Coast US: 1pm (ET)
  • West Coast US: 10am (PT)

This impacts the following activities:

  • Milestone progress and rewards reset for Crucible, Gambit, Nightfall, Flashpoint, Daily Heroic Mission, Strikes, Ikora Challenges, Clan XP
  • Raid progress and rewards
  • Spider's Wanted Bounty line-up
  • New Eververse inventory to be purchased with Bright Dust
  • Xur will disappear until Friday

As discussed in our Destiny 2 Power level explainer, you can only redeem rewards once per week, so make sure you complete them before the reset. If you complete them but don't redeem, then they will auto decrypt the next time you log in after the reset - nothing lost!


What time is the Destiny 2 daily reset and what changes each time?

As well as a weekly reset for certain activities, there will be a 'daily' reset time, which is as follows:

  • UK: 6pm (BST)
  • Europe: 7pm (CEST)
  • East Coast US: 1pm (ET)
  • West Coast US: 10am (PT)

Forsaken sees a new 'daily' reset system, which Bungie describes as a "a unique challenge each day, but they reset every four days".

It's described in a needlessly complicated way, but what we believe it means is as follows:

Each day, a different activity will reset. That activity's challenge will be active for four days, after which it will reset and change. So if a Strike challenge starts on a Tuesday, it will reset four days later - on Saturday. You have those four days to complete it, and once it's complete, you have to wait until the reset - in this case Saturday - for another Strike challenge to appear.

Where's the 'daily' thing coming in, you might ask? The reset day of each activity is staggered one day apart. So if Strikes reset on a Tuesday, then the next activity (let's say Gambit) then resets on a Wednesday, which resets four days later on Sunday. Then on Thursday, a different challenge will reset - let's say, Crucible - and on Friday a different activity, and so on.


Essentially, every day at the Daily reset time, there will be a different activity that will reset. It gives you a reason to log in each day, as there's a new challenge to complete, but the good news is you can wait a couple of days, you can complete multiple challenges before they reset.

The following Daily activities will be staggered in the following order:

  • Strikes
  • Gambit
  • Crucible
  • Heroic Adventure (found in that week's Flashpoint)

So after the Heroic Adventure, it loops back to Strikes the next day, and so on.

It's a confusing system, but in theory, should be a very good thing for regular players.

The Black Armory quest steps and Mysterious Box quest usher in the start of Year 2's first DLC. Completing requires some Destiny 2 levelling of course, which involves finding the latest Ascendant Challenge and Blind Well and Oracle Engine Offering activities, through to the Last Wish raid. There's also Exotics such as the Ace of Spades, the Chaperone and Malfeasance to unlock.

What other things reset each day in Destiny 2?

As well as the above, there are things which also always change every day:

  • Bounties (Vanguard, Crucible, Clan, Planetary Vendor)
  • Heroic Story Mission
  • Challenges on each planet in within each activity
  • Replayable Adventures

Essentially, each day there is a new set of Challenges in set activities. In the first Destiny, vendors would rotate their wares on a daily or weekly basis - but that no longer appears to be the case in the sequel.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (0)

About the author

Matthew Reynolds

Matthew Reynolds

Guides Editor

Matthew edits guides and other helpful things at When not doing that, he's out and about playing Pokémon Go or continuing to amass his amiibo collection.

More articles by Matthew Reynolds

Comments (0)

Hide low-scoring comments


Destiny 2 levelling explained: How to reach max level cap 650 with Powerful Gear sources

The best ways to reach the soft cap and beyond for the latest Power level increase.

Digital FoundryDF Retro: we play every single Doom console conversion

Doom is 25 today - and this is every console port the PC game inspired.