Bungie will next week roll out Destiny 2's first multiplayer Iron Banner tournament, as well as its rock-hard Prestige version of the Leviathan raid.

Both features have been tweaked from their Destiny 1 counterparts.

Iron Banner, like Destiny 2's Trials, will no longer acknowledge your power level. Iron Banner was one of the rare multiplayer modes in Destiny 1 where your level was also taken into affect. No longer.

Iron Banner's ranks and bounties have also been done away with. Destiny 2's now-familiar system of reputation tokens will replace them. You'll get tokens whether you win or lose (but more if you win).

As usual, the armour looks good:


Destiny 2's new Prestige mode for Leviathan is also a little different to the Hard Mode raids of Destiny 1. The biggest change? It sounds like Hard Mode won't unlock a higher Power Level cap.

"We do not expect everyone to be successful in completing this activity," Bungie wrote in its weekly blog. "Mechanical changes to the encounters are minimal, but they are there. The Prestige Raid is about mastering a more punishing sandbox.

"Our goal is not to provide a boon to your character progression, but there are unique rewards to help you shine. Consider this your invitation to prove to the world that you are among the very best of the Raiders who overlook the City."

Datamining has already revealed a new suit of armour available in the Prestige raid for each class.

Raid Prestige and Iron Banner will both unlock upon weekly reset next week (10am UK time, Tuesday 10th October).

Bungie closed its blog with mention of Destiny 2's "seasons" - which sound like they will cap your clan and Iron Banner progress. A reveal of what these will actually entail is scheduled for TwitchCon at the end of October.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (14)

About the author

Tom Phillips

Tom Phillips

News Editor

Tom is Eurogamer's news editor. He writes lots of news, some of the puns and all the stealth Destiny articles.

More articles by Tom Phillips

Comments (14)

Hide low-scoring comments


Destiny 2 Forsaken: A guide to everything you need to know about Destiny 2 Year 2

What new features are coming in Destiny 2's second year, from Forsaken and beyond?

Destiny 2 Lost Memory Fragment locations: Where to find all Latent Memories and unlock Worldline Zero

Where to find all 45 Lost Memory Fragments and unlock Worldline Zero in Destiny 2.