Rainbow Six: Siege's first new map lands today

New operators and new map land on all platforms for all players.

Rainbow Six: Siege's first big update has landed across Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC, with a new map and two new operators now part of Ubisoft's multiplayer-focussed shooter.

All the content - which launches under the umbrella name of Operation Black Ice - is available for free to all Rainbow Six: Siege players, although those without a season pass will have to wait until February 9th for the new operators where they'll have to purchase them using Siege's in-game currency or R6 credits. Those with the season pass, however, have instant access to the new operators for free.

The new map is set on a crashed yacht, while the two new operators - Frost and Buck - are from the elite Canadian forces. Three more similar updates are planned for Rainbow Six: Siege before the end of the year.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

Jump to comments (15)

About the author

Martin Robinson

Martin Robinson


Martin is Eurogamer's editor-in-chief. He has a Gradius 2 arcade board and likes to play racing games with special boots and gloves on.


You may also enjoy...

Supporters only

Comments (15)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer Merch
Explore our store