Star Wars Battlefront developer DICE has detailed its upcoming Blast Mode.


As covered on Star Wars Battlefront's official site, this will be a fairly conservative 10 vs 10 team-based competitive mode. The game ends when either a team reaches 100 kills, or the 10-minute time-limit expires. Whichever happens first.

Lead level designer Dennis Brännvall explained that every map alters its properties to custom suit each game mode. "Say you've just played Walker Assault mode on Hoth and then switched to Blast, still on Hoth. Thanks to variations in lighting and time of day, you'll definitely see a difference," he stated.

Blast Mode maps will be smaller and encourage more close-quarters combat compared to some other game modes. As such, Blast Mode matches won't contain any vehicles, heroes or villains. It will contain weapon pick-ups, however, though these will be scarce enough to keep player on their toes.

"Whether you pick up a Droid scanning for nearby enemies or a turret that'll control a zone for you, the pickups can really turn the tide of a Blast match," Brännvall explained. "They are not around every corner though, so keep your eyes peeled."

Star Wars Battlefront is due 17th November on PS4, Xbox One and PC.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (26)

About the author

Jeffrey Matulef

Jeffrey Matulef


Jeffrey Matulef is the best-dressed man in 1984. Based in Portland, OR he operates as Eurogamer's US news editor.

More articles by Jeffrey Matulef

Comments (26)

Comments for this article are now closed, but please feel free to continue chatting on the forum!

Hide low-scoring comments