Blizzard unifies StarCraft 2 eSports with 2013 World Championship Series

Will be streamed by Twitch.

Blizzard has unified the increasingly fractured StarCraft 2 eSports scene with its 2013 World Championship Series.

The company has established the first ever official global ranking system for StarCraft 2 eSports, to be operated by the main eSports organisations: the Korean eSports Association (KeSPA), Ongamenet (OGN), GomTV, Major League Gaming (MLG), Turtle Entertainment (ESL) and Twitch.

Three leagues will feature the world's best SC2 players: Korean, American and European. The idea is there's a unified, cohesive structure for players and fans.

Players in each league will compete in three seasons and, eventually, clash in three global season finals. They'll earn points within the WCS global ranking system along the way. The global grand final will be held at BlizzCon in Anaheim, California in November 2013. Up for grabs: the title of StarCraft 2 World Champion.

Twitch will broadcast all competition worldwide.

Mike Morhaime, CEO and co-founder of Blizzard said: "Our collective goal was to make StarCraft 2 eSports even more exciting and easier to follow for fans than ever before. On the heels of the successful launch of StarCraft 2: Heart of the Swarm, we're all very excited about the present and future of StarCraft 2 eSports."

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. Read our policy.

Jump to comments (8)

About the author

Wesley Yin-Poole

Wesley Yin-Poole

Editor  |  wyp100

Wesley is Eurogamer's editor. He likes news, interviews, and more news. He also likes Street Fighter more than anyone can get him to shut up about it.


You may also enjoy...

Supporters only

Comments (8)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments

Buy things with globes on them

And other lovely Eurogamer merch in our official store!

Eurogamer Merch
Explore our store