New official Metal Gear Solid website explains series plot

Interactive timeline lays out universe.

Konami has launched a new Metal Gear Solid website that attempts to explain the series' complicated plot.

The HTML 5-powered interactive game universe lays out the series' story with an interactive timeline and media player module. You can explore the MGS universe via navigational waypoints.

You can share your own MGS content and memories, too.

The timeline is described as an interactive aggregation of the series' most pivotal events, characters and storylines spanning over 200 years.

The Player Timeline lets you interact with Metal Gear creator Hideo Kojima's personal memories and insights, and submit your own photos and videos.

Metal Gear Solid released for the PlayStation in 1998. Its success spawned multiple sequels. Metal Gear Solid 2 launched on PlayStation 2 in 2001 and sold over seven million copies worldwide. Prequel Metal Gear Solid 3 launched in 2004 and sold 3.96 million copies. Metal Gear Solid 4 launched on PS3 in 2008, and Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker launched on PlayStation Portable in 2010.

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance, created by Platinum Games and due out next year, is not considered a part of the MGS series.

Sometimes we include links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.

Jump to comments (12)

About the author

Wesley Yin-Poole

Wesley Yin-Poole

Deputy Editor

Wesley is Eurogamer's deputy editor. He likes news, interviews, and more news. He also likes Street Fighter more than anyone can get him to shut up about it.


You may also enjoy...

Sekiro boss guide and walkthrough - boss and mini boss list for beating Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice

Our detailed, in-progress walkthrough for each key moment in Sekiro: Shadow's Die Twice.

Assassin's Creed Odyssey Ainigmata Ostraka locations - how to solve all ancient puzzles

A complete list of solutions for every single Ainigmata Ostraka puzzle in Assassin's Creed Odyssey.

Days Gone Horde locations list, maps and tips to take down a Horde

Where to find all 37 Horde locations in Days Gone.

Pokémon Let's Go walkthrough and guide to your quest through Kanto

Our complete Pokémon Let's Go walkthrough and guide to your big adventure with Pikachu or Eevee.

Comments (12)

Comments for this article are now closed. Thanks for taking part!

Hide low-scoring comments