Online Pass Archive

Thursday, 20 June 2013

After Xbox One U-turn pre-owned is back on the table - but at what cost?

Mixed opinions on the complex issue of second-hand sales.

Thursday, 30 May 2013

EA makes some Online Pass content free on Xbox Marketplace

UPDATE: EA confirms it's eliminating Online Pass from all its existing titles.

Tuesday, 9 April 2013

Thursday, 23 August 2012

A conversation with EA's Peter Moore on the thorny issues of DLC, Online Passes and all the rest of it

"You can pretty much pick out the age of most of your readers by their commentary."

Tuesday, 10 April 2012

US ruling forces GameStop to warn customers when a used game has an online pass

Lawyers claim suit has already forced retail chain to lower prices.

Monday, 19 March 2012

EA closes MMA servers, despite Online Pass

10 other games also taken offline.

Sunday, 12 February 2012

Game of the Week: Catherine

You can't buy me love.

Tuesday, 7 February 2012

EA outlines Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning House of Valor day-one DLC/Online Pass

Provides "a nearly endless variety of combat challenges".

Wednesday, 1 February 2012

No Online Pass for Syndicate, EA confirms

"It's about encouraging people to play it."

Monday, 30 January 2012

Curt Schilling defends Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning Online Pass

"We MUST make a profit to become what we want to become."

Friday, 4 November 2011

Obsidian boss brands online pass "a gimmick"

Suggests a better way to tackle used game sales.

Tuesday, 18 October 2011

Uncharted 3 DLC season pass announced

45% off seven multiplayer add-ons.

Monday, 17 October 2011

Uncharted 3 online pass defended

"Games have to make money."

Friday, 14 October 2011

Thursday, 13 October 2011

Batman online pass unlocks Catwoman

UPDATE: Warner confirms, reveals cost.

Wednesday, 12 October 2011

EA details Mass Effect 3 Online Pass

Multiplayer, BioWare Social Network.

Monday, 3 October 2011

Online pass confirmed for Uncharted 3

And all future Sony-published titles?

Mass Effect 3 multiplayer pass spotted

Evidence for online co-op builds.

Thursday, 22 September 2011

Forza 4 DLC season pass announced

Includes day one American Muscle pack.

Thursday, 8 September 2011

Online Pass nets EA $10-$15m

Revenues "haven't been dramatic".

Tuesday, 6 September 2011

Ubisoft scraps Driver's online pass fee

Uplay Passport codes printed incorrectly.

Thursday, 1 September 2011

Driver dev defends Ubi DRM, online pass

PC piracy "utterly unbelievable".

Monday, 29 August 2011

Gears of War 3 season pass announced

Get 33% off first four DLC packs.

Tuesday, 2 August 2011

EA Season Ticket subscription launches

Update: Why it's not on PS3 in Europe.

Monday, 1 August 2011

Battlefield 3 online pass "probable"

DICE: "Hopefully people understand why."

Thursday, 21 July 2011

Ubisoft Uplay Passport costs 7.99

Unlocks online play, bonus content.

Friday, 15 July 2011

Ubisoft confirms online pass

Uplay Passport to cost $9.99.

Thursday, 14 July 2011

Ubisoft readying online pass - report

Uplay Passport to launch with Driver: SF.

Wednesday, 13 July 2011

EA closing 18 online multiplayer services

Bye bye Army of Two, Tiger 10, Madden 10.

Wednesday, 6 July 2011

Sony makes PSN Pass official

Single use code grants full online access.

First Previous