Bioshock PC Demo... Framerates / Hardware

  • Page

    of 9 First / Last

    Previous
  • Psychotext 20 Aug 2007 20:43:01 53,915 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Thought I'd start this post so people could say how the demo plays on their hardware. Me first:

    Athlon 64 3500+
    Radeon X1950 Pro (AGP)
    1GB Ram
    Soundblaster X-FI
    Windows XP

    Settings: Umm... I'm not sure it's not loading anymore for some reason. (Crashes when I try to load it). I changed to a widescreen resolution of 1440 x 900. Everything else was set to on or high detail, which I assume is how it starts for everyone. Looked as good as the 360 demo anyway... will update later if I can get it to load again.

    Framerate: Didn't measure it with fraps or anything but I noticed absolutely no slowdown whatsoever. Amazingly smooth given I was expecting it to bring my PC to its knees. If anyone knows how I can get the framerate up on the game I'll write down some numbers. Assuming I can get it to work. =)

    UPDATE: Averaged 33fps according to Fraps (from crash start to getting out of bathysphere). Apparently it did hit single figures, but I don't recall when.
  • Feanor 20 Aug 2007 21:06:06 14,125 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Good thread idea. Probably worth mentioning what drivers you are using, too.
  • Psychotext 20 Aug 2007 21:31:05 53,915 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Catalyst 7.8 drivers. There's supposedly a new version out today but I haven't seen it.
  • Pirotic Moderator 20 Aug 2007 21:31:45 20,646 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Spec:
    Nvidia SLI (x2) 8800GTX (overclocked)
    4gb ram (1:1 with mobo fsb)
    Intel Core 2 Duo Extreme (oc to 3ghz)
    Vista Ultimate x64
    Latest drivers (late July)

    Framerate: solid 60fps with max everything, if I take the cap out it then max's out to my monitor refresh rate of 75fps. Might not sound that helpful seeing as it's a pretty expensive rig, but I've had plenty of FPS demos slow down with plenty on screen, so it looks like the UT3.0 engine is pretty well coded for Vista and the 8800 series gfx cards, and so as a result it runs better than stuff like Fear which was released some time ago. Could bode well for people with older graphics cards.


  • BartonFink 20 Aug 2007 21:36:54 34,851 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Good news on Vista Piro

    Only a few hours to go .. haven't played the 360 demo yet. Holding off to play the PC one first.
  • alco75 20 Aug 2007 21:40:39 341 posts
    Seen 9 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago

    1440 x 900. Everything else was set to on or high detail, which I assume is how it starts for everyone. Looked as good as the 360 demo anyway... will update later if I can get it to load again.

    Framerate: Didn't measure it with fraps or anything but I noticed absolutely no slowdown whatsoever.

    Wow!

    That is good news considering your relatively modest system ...
  • AnotherMartin 20 Aug 2007 21:45:07 6,229 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Hotfix is up on ATi, though no idea if this is the new driver or not. But it fixes missing textures some are having issues with.

    Go to ATi then browse to...

    Knowledge Base
    AMD Customer Care Site Map > Radeon Support - PC > Radeon X1950 series > Knowledgebase > Gaming >

    and look for

    737-29041: BioShock: Users may experience stuttering with Preload, Missing surfaces and/or display corruption.

    Spec..

    C2D E6600 @3.2GHz (400fsbx8)
    4GB PC-6400 @800 4-4-4-12
    ATi 1950XT 620/1800
    X-Fi Elite Pro
    XP x64
    Cat 7.8
    1280x1024.
    Max game settings (do not use global lighting though, makes it look worse)
    5.1 EAX.

    First run through it goes from mid 30's up to 100+, spends most of it's time around the 40 to 60 mark. Though did drop to 15fps in one place. Hoping the preload mentioned in the hotfix sorts that.

    Going to try the hotfix and may do a fraps run later to get the min/avg/max.

    edit: quick run on the 7.8 cats.

    Intro...

    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    16901, 300934, 15, 100, 56.162

    game...

    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    59162, 1186164, 25, 102, 49.877

    so not too shabby. not used fraps before and don't think i quite started or stopped the bench at the right times so probably caught a bit of the loading screens. Will update when i try the hotfix.
  • Khanivor 20 Aug 2007 21:47:41 40,492 posts
    Seen 13 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    This is making me very happy :) Seems like it's going to run a dream even on older hardware.

    Go on, someone with a crappy PC give us the juice!
  • Ajay 20 Aug 2007 21:50:38 2,412 posts
    Seen 9 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hang on, what? We're back to scaleable, well-optimised PC versions of multi-platform games?!

    Nurse, the smelling salts!
  • Dougs 20 Aug 2007 21:51:59 67,024 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Khanivor wrote:
    This is making me very happy :) Seems like it's going to run a dream even on older hardware.

    Go on, someone with a crappy PC give us the juice!

    I will once it has downloaded. Don't hold out much hope though, it is really old.
  • WrongShui 20 Aug 2007 21:52:04 6,609 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Ok with the new nvidia beta drivers the game runs incredibly well, 2 gig o ram, 7800GT and an AMD64 3500+ here and it runs smooth as hell, much better than say, STALKER and its on max settings.

    Just getting Fraps so I can get real numbers.
  • Deleted user 20 August 2007 21:52:45
    Ajay wrote:
    Hang on, what? We're back to scaleable, well-optimised PC versions of multi-platform games?!

    Nurse, the smelling salts!

    Prolly because it was most likely a PC game first and foremost.
  • Whizzo 20 Aug 2007 21:53:23 43,060 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Ajay wrote:
    Hang on, what? We're back to scaleable, well-optimised PC versions of multi-platform games?!
    Well they did have to squeeze it onto a 360, that must have helped with the tweaking. ;-)

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Ajay 20 Aug 2007 21:56:45 2,412 posts
    Seen 9 months ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Gremmi wrote:Prolly because it was most likely a PC game first and foremost.
    Yeah, I'm being a bit unfair and facetious about the format generally.

    Too many PC-only games only games are shamelessly unoptimised as it is, so if this is one of the ones that's genuinely scaleable while still looking ace - which it sounds - big thumbs up to the devs.
  • Deleted user 20 August 2007 22:02:52
    AnotherMartin wrote:
    Hotfix is up on ATi, though no idea if this is the new driver or not. But it fixes missing textures some are having issues with.

    Crikey, a 96.5MB hotfix!? That's larger than the 7.8 drivers.

    So, I presume I just run the hotfix with no need to uninstall 7.8?
  • Psychotext 20 Aug 2007 22:08:00 53,915 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Khanivor wrote:
    Go on, someone with a crappy PC give us the juice!
    I already did. My machine is shit. =)
  • Dougs 20 Aug 2007 22:08:50 67,024 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Psychotext wrote:
    Khanivor wrote:
    Go on, someone with a crappy PC give us the juice!
    I already did. My machine is shit. =)

    Better than mine!
  • Psychotext 20 Aug 2007 22:12:17 53,915 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    tap wrote:
    Crikey, a 96.5MB hotfix!? That's larger than the 7.8 drivers.

    So, I presume I just run the hotfix with no need to uninstall 7.8?
    It's a real rush job... if you look at the files you'll see that it's basically every single language they publish the drivers in. Which is why the file is so big.
  • Khanivor 20 Aug 2007 22:13:11 40,492 posts
    Seen 13 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yeah, I wanna see what a really crappy PC does when faced with the demo. Like a PII or sumat ;D
  • Khanivor 20 Aug 2007 22:22:23 40,492 posts
    Seen 13 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I just hope that, as it seems so far, I won't have to wait for my PC to arrive in my shipment.

    /pats self on back for prescience in bring gc seperately along in suitcase
  • ilmaestro 20 Aug 2007 22:25:54 32,407 posts
    Seen 4 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I know we've established that it'll run on some not-very-cutting-edge hardware, but trying to play it on a GameCube could be asking for a bit much.

    4235

  • mcmonkeyplc 20 Aug 2007 22:33:50 39,411 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I look forward to testing my new rig with this. Hell I may even decide to get it on the PC instead of the xbox if its good enough.

    It damn well better be, the PC is only 2 months old!

    Come and get it cumslingers!

  • HarryB 20 Aug 2007 22:34:44 6,167 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Ive got a pentium 4 HT 3.06ghz, 1.5gb ram and a 9800 pro 128mb, ill go try it
  • WrongShui 20 Aug 2007 22:36:32 6,609 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I get 20-30fps on my set up on max settings in 1200x1024.
  • mcmonkeyplc 20 Aug 2007 22:37:42 39,411 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Core 2 duo 1.86ghz, 2 GB ram, Nvidia 8800 GTS

    Beeeeeeee good!

    Come and get it cumslingers!

  • Razer 20 Aug 2007 22:39:32 1,031 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I've been messing about with AA settings in nvidia control panel. Doesn't seem to matter what settings are used, there seems to be little to no difference in the game at all.

    But neither does it impact on performance, and it's still full of eye-candy regardless :)
  • mcmonkeyplc 20 Aug 2007 22:40:29 39,411 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Has anyone noticed the PC version looking better than the 360 version?

    Come and get it cumslingers!

  • HarryB 20 Aug 2007 22:41:44 6,167 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Aspic wrote:
    HarryB wrote:
    Ive got a pentium 4 HT 3.06ghz, 1.5gb ram and a 9800 pro 128mb, ill go try it

    Thought it needed an SM3 card?

    no idea, just trying it for those with similar specced PCs.. Im getting it on the 360.. be done soon
  • AnotherMartin 20 Aug 2007 22:43:16 6,229 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Updated my post above with fraps run.


    tap wrote:
    AnotherMartin wrote:
    Hotfix is up on ATi, though no idea if this is the new driver or not. But it fixes missing textures some are having issues with.

    Crikey, a 96.5MB hotfix!? That's larger than the 7.8 drivers.

    So, I presume I just run the hotfix with no need to uninstall 7.8?

    as mentioned it'll be the languages and the 32 and 64bit installs in one package. i always uninstall/driverclean just to be sure.
  • Razer 20 Aug 2007 22:44:38 1,031 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @mcmonkeyplc

    I don't think there's much in it personally, if anything at all.

    I have the benefit of running at 1680x1050 with everything on/max and they are pretty much the same. The water might be 'slightly' better looking, and the particle effects a bit more pumped up.

    But that really is splitting hairs. It looks fantastic on both
  • Page

    of 9 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply