Can you transfer music from a portable device to the 360?

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • Aretak 22 May 2007 02:16:29 10,329 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    It's just a generic cheapo MP3 player, but it works just fine playing music on the 360. However, I can't seem to find a way to transfer the tracks to my 360 hard drive. Is it possible, or can you only rip CDs?
  • Heartcore_Ninja 22 May 2007 02:38:51 1,727 posts
    Seen 6 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Just CD's mate. :)
  • Aretak 22 May 2007 02:40:57 10,329 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Balls.

    Ta. :)
  • Carlo 22 May 2007 08:43:30 17,913 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    The PS3 lets you!

    /collects cheque from Sony PR dept.

    Edited by Carlo at 08:44:08 22-05-2007

    PSN ID: Djini

  • Luvbeers 22 May 2007 08:52:35 918 posts
    Seen 6 months ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Carlo wrote:
    The PS3 lets you!

    /collects cheque from Sony PR dept.

    Edited by Carlo at 08:44:08 22-05-2007

    great... a 400 quid mp3 player.

    why don't you just network your PC to your 360?
  • Carlo 22 May 2007 10:21:37 17,913 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Luvbeers wrote:
    Carlo wrote:
    The PS3 lets you!

    /collects cheque from Sony PR dept.

    great... a 400 quid mp3 player.

    why don't you just network your PC to your 360?
    So, a 400 to 1000 PC + a 280 xbox360 or a 425 PS3.

    And even if you network your PC to your 360, the music is not actually stored on the 360's HDD, just streamed. So if you want to play your music on your 360, you have to have your PC on, Media connect running, and run it on your network.

    /takes another cheque from Sony PR.

    PSN ID: Djini

  • silver-jon 22 May 2007 10:26:48 1,518 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Can you not just buy a 1GB stick for about 20 and then transfer onto that from the PC and then from stick to Xbox ?

    You can just connect the MP3 player to the USB and play from the player, but not copy from player to Xbox hard disk, can't you ?

  • qwerty123 22 May 2007 11:28:54 231 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Carlo wrote:
    why don't you just network your PC to your 360?
    So, a 400 to 1000 PC + a 280 xbox360 or a 425 PS3.

    I'll just stick with the ipod thanks.

    I must be missing something?? There's no need to transfer music to the 360.
    But if you wanted to, couldn't you burn the tracks to a dvd and then transfer to 360?
  • joeking 22 May 2007 11:37:42 1,808 posts
    Seen 6 years ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Carlo wrote:
    So, a 400 to 1000 PC + a 280 xbox360 or a 425 PS3.

    And even if you network your PC to your 360, the music is not actually stored on the 360's HDD, just streamed. So if you want to play your music on your 360, you have to have your PC on, Media connect running, and run it on your network.

    /takes another cheque from Sony PR.
    1. Most people have a PC. Very few people will have to buy a PC specifically for the task of streaming music to their 360. They'll have one anyway

    2. Meh, even though my laptop is always on anyway, I just plug in my iPod. Simple! Well, except that it would be great if iTunes songs worked on the 360. I don't buy music off iTunes anymore for that one reason alone. It's Apple's loss
  • Laws 22 May 2007 11:46:32 91 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    i have my pc on almost 24/7 anyway, plus i need to have it on so the 360 can share its wireless internet connection.

    how do i get windows media connect?

    Edited by Laws at 11:49:29 22-05-2007
  • Laws 22 May 2007 11:50:05 91 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    CrispyXUK wrote:
    Laws wrote:
    i have my pc on almost 24/7 anyway, plus i need to have it on so the 360 can share its wireless internet connection.

    how do i get windows media connect?

    Edited by Laws at 11:48:39 22-05-2007

    Edited by Laws at 11:49:21 22-05-2007
    Its built into WMP11

    ah thats total pants.

  • joeking 22 May 2007 11:56:46 1,808 posts
    Seen 6 years ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I set Windows Media Center to share my iTunes music file, and almost half my music doesn't even appear in it. I don't know the in's and out's of it, but MS need to sort out their file compatability issues, cos I've only bought around 50 songs off iTunes, not 100's. So where all the missing tunes are, and why they're missing, I'll never know. But it does make the Xbox 360 compatability less than it could be.
  • Laws 22 May 2007 12:04:13 91 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Post deleted at 12:33:43 22-05-2007
  • Laws 22 May 2007 12:04:13 91 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    CrispyXUK wrote:
    Why? Its not like you'll have to use it.

    i had big problems with wmp11, would just freeze everytime, think i just need to get service pack 2 maybe.

    Edited by Laws at 12:04:45 22-05-2007
  • Deleted user 22 May 2007 14:49:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 22 May 2007 14:49:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 22 May 2007 14:49:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 22 May 2007 14:49:57
    Post deleted
  • superrobot 29 May 2007 11:08:40 39 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    joeking wrote:
    I set Windows Media Center to share my iTunes music file, and almost half my music doesn't even appear in it. I don't know the in's and out's of it, but MS need to sort out their file compatability issues, cos I've only bought around 50 songs off iTunes, not 100's. So where all the missing tunes are, and why they're missing, I'll never know. But it does make the Xbox 360 compatability less than it could be.

    I don't know if this helps but....
    I got my PC with tons of non-drm itunes (aac) music to stream this weekend. There are some instructions in the xbox.com website.
    I used zune on the PC.
    I had kerio firewall which blocked all music despite opening the specified ports. I got an error 19-04-80004004.
    After switching to using Windows firewall it seems to work.

    You also need a download for the 360, to play AAC format music (DRM free). This appears in the downloads section - look for words like 'optional' and 'support'.
  • Deleted user 25 November 2010 10:48:57
    Post deleted
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply