Best Man's Speech

• Page

of 4 First / Last

Previous
  • SambaApe 13 Jan 2007 20:16:47 1,117 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I was asked earlier this morning to be the Best Man at m Best Mate's Wedding in April.

I agreed, but as I have never done this before, I am quite frankly terrified.

I think I am quite naturally funny, but would like to go in with a script or guide at the least.

Anyone with experience (or without but funny inputs) advice would be welcomed with open arms! \o/
  • Red-Moose 13 Jan 2007 20:26:09 5,345 posts
    Seen 6 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I have never been best man but I would give you some tips about it having seen a few weddings.

1. DOn't tell anecdotes that only a small few of you will get, e.g., in a room of 200 people and only ten actually were at some funny thing/event/happening.

2. Keep it clean, it's more respectful

3. Be genuine.

4. If you are naturally funny, don't write a script as it will pretty much destroy any natural humour you have. At most, write a few short pointers/topics (e.g., him being a great friend for years and make a general quip that most people will get, but unscripted, or, thanking the familes involved in organisation and a comment on some aspect of it that stood out).

It is quite painful to watch people who are basically not funny try and appear to be funny off a rehearsed script - and people remember screw ups more than they will remember nice stuff. If you are a humour person, don't script it - just be polite and make a small few generally appreciated witty comments that relax people but don't offend them.

I can't tell how many times I have cringed at people trying to be standups at a wedding where it's inappropriate and the age groups go from about 6 to 80!

Edited by Red Moose at 20:27:46 13-01-2007
  • Hughes. 13 Jan 2007 20:27:50 2,812 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    SambaApe wrote: