Wii Picture wont fit on TV - Help Please

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • DR.ZOIDBERG 8 Jan 2007 21:13:08 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Hey
    Im new here so first off I would like to say HI!

    I have my Wii hooked up to my 66cm Widescreen TV. Can someone please tell me why playing the Wii the screen does not seem to fit the TV? for example, it seems to big, when I am in the Wii Menu the edges of the menu are cut out and I can only just see the blue side arrows. Also when I am in the weather channel, it cuts out the side and top parts, I can only so part of the time and location etc. When playing a game (ZELDA) you dont really notice it as much apart when you go to save the sides are cut out. Its not cut out much but it still is.

    Anyone know what I can do to fix this??

    Any help would be great
    Thanks in Advance

    DR.ZOIDBERG!
  • Carlo 8 Jan 2007 21:14:58 18,173 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Can you change the screen sitting to be Zoom, Wide, 4:3, 16:9, Smart etc etc?

    Set it to Wide (ithink)

    PSN ID: Djini

  • DR.ZOIDBERG 8 Jan 2007 21:23:50 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yer I can do that, I have it at Normal atm coz it fits best but still cuts out the top and sides a bit. Wide makes it get cut out tooo far and the other takes the screen back to 4:3 and then I have 2 big black bars either side and top.

    I only have 3 listings when I press Zoom on the TV Remote.

    Any Ideas?
  • mr_steve100 8 Jan 2007 21:35:21 1,238 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    The Wii has 4:3 and widescreen options in its system menu. Have you set this to widescreen?
  • DR.ZOIDBERG 8 Jan 2007 21:39:02 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yep I have set the Wii to Widescreen in the Wii menu
  • DR.ZOIDBERG 8 Jan 2007 23:51:02 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    I think my TV is Farked, I only got it in December after XMAS just for my Wii.

    I am going to take it back and go get me a LCD TV, can someone recomend what I need in a LCD TV? What resolution should it have? What type of HD etc etc

    I was looking at one the other day at the shops, I have found it on ebay which I would not buy due to it beeing used but this was the same one that I saw new at the shops

    http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120072434421&ssPageName=MERC_VI_RUPX_BID_Stores_IT&refitem=120072433674&itemcount=2&refwidgetloc=active_view_item&usedrule1=UpSell_LogicX&refwidgettype=cross_promot_widget

    If someone can tell me if those specs are good it would make things easier for me.

    Also is anyone here running a Wii on a LCD TV, if so what's the max resolution you can run it at etc etc and how good does it look?

    Thanks heaps
    Zoidberg!
  • jaffacake 9 Jan 2007 01:15:57 986 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Get a bigger telly, it might fit on the screen then.

    Mine is 76cm and I have no problems.
  • Micro_Explosion 9 Jan 2007 01:20:28 9,695 posts
    Seen 6 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Specs as shown look fine for what it sounds like you want. I would request more detail from them on the connections - number of each, component etc - and try and find reviews before buying an LCD (I did).

    Edit: Deleted a bit. Wasn't important.

    Edited by Micro_Explosion at 01:21:19 09-01-2007
  • DR.ZOIDBERG 10 Jan 2007 09:08:29 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Hey can someone tell me if the Wii Component Cable will fix my screen issue problem? (See Above for details)
  • Carlo 10 Jan 2007 09:10:13 18,173 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    What did Nintendo Customer Services say when you called then?




    ...Oh... :)

    PSN ID: Djini

  • Grunk 10 Jan 2007 09:16:56 4,718 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    try moving the wii further away it should then appear smaller
  • DR.ZOIDBERG 10 Jan 2007 21:28:49 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    So no idea fella's? I was gonaa get a LCD TV to replace this Widescreen 66cm CRT TV. But as I was reading, I found out the LCD TV will not look as good as the CRT TV when playing Wii.

    Anyone out there can help me with this problem ?
  • Deleted user 10 January 2007 21:33:54
    Actually, I have the same problem. When I was playing it on the smaller, older TV in another room it was looked fine but in here quite a bit of the top and bottom of the screen stretches off the edges (like not being able to see the subtitles in Red Steel).

    Annoying, but hardly end of the world type stuff.
  • Dirtbox 10 Jan 2007 21:40:47 78,771 posts
    Seen 37 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Oh, I know this one!

    Hold the d-pad on the 'mote in the down position as you switch the wii on and it'll default to the most compatible size.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • DR.ZOIDBERG 10 Jan 2007 21:48:36 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Thanks guys, I will google that CrispyXUK.

    Does that really work Dirtbox?
  • Dirtbox 10 Jan 2007 21:49:42 78,771 posts
    Seen 37 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Apparently, I read it in another thread about resolutions and stuff recently.

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Deleted user 10 January 2007 21:50:06
    Dirtbox > Google.
  • DR.ZOIDBERG 10 Jan 2007 21:57:17 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    I Googled it and found nothing :(
  • DR.ZOIDBERG 10 Jan 2007 22:05:54 13 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Magnavox MWSTV66

    I cant seem to find anything on how to fix overscan.

    I also can find anything on what you said Dirtbox
  • J*C 8 May 2007 19:55:29 701 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 22 May 2007 14:49:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 22 May 2007 14:49:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 22 May 2007 14:49:57
    Post deleted
  • Deleted user 22 May 2007 14:49:57
    Post deleted
  • warlord7856 13 Jan 2008 15:17:02 14 posts
    Seen 7 years ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    hi, anyone find a fix for this, im having the same problem, the image doesnt fit onto my HD 24 inch widescreen PC monitor (using an adaptor), in 480p, however in 480i it fits perfectly to the screen sie but there is hardly any colour, anybody know how to fix this, would worship you forever if you can help me fix this :p
  • warlord7856 13 Jan 2008 15:43:54 14 posts
    Seen 7 years ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    sorry, getting my resolutions mixed up, its 567i is too big but colour is ok and 480i is right size but no colour
  • Lexx87 13 Jan 2008 15:54:15 20,863 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Anyone know if Dirtbox's thing works?

    Speak the truth hussy!

  • warlord7856 13 Jan 2008 15:55:20 14 posts
    Seen 7 years ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    when dirtbox says 'mote i take it he is on about a tv remote (which i therefore would not be able to do :'( ......)
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply