Does the US PS3 have a universal power supply? Anyone tried plugging in UK or Europe?

  • Page

    of 10 First / Last

    Previous
  • beatleben 24 Nov 2006 10:18:49 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    The question I still have and I may have missed it some where in threads .... The PS3 power supply is universal in the Japanese version.

    Though has any one plugged in the US version into a UK power supply or have seen video or photographs to confirm it. The only thing I have found is this link http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=4908&ref=y that quotes at the end

    "Update 11/14/2006: We were originally mistaken that the Playstation 3 would need a different power supply for Europe. The power supply is universal."

    I want a PS3 but no way is the girlfriend going to let me have a step-down converter for the US console behind the TV buzzing away!!!

    As I am unsure which version of the console to buy and also does anyone know what the blue-ray region is for Hong Kong as I have seen these consoles kicking around........

    Thanks in advance
  • beatleben 24 Nov 2006 10:48:55 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I would like to see some video or at least a photograph of someone else trying it first!!

    Do not wanna fry it!!
  • jonbigtelly 24 Nov 2006 11:14:49 4 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Did anybody 100% confirm this as I have my PS3 sitting at home and if you guys tell me to go for it will plug it straight in when I get home.
    My PS3 is a 60GB US Version. Rgds Jon
  • Tiger_Walts 24 Nov 2006 11:18:38 16,615 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    It will work but the screen display will be twice as bright and the PS2 games will run at double speed. :p

    We've been over this before, do a search, it works.

    IT Monkey and StickyPiston Minecraft Hosting Support

  • beatleben 24 Nov 2006 12:42:12 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hi

    Thanks where did you get this info from and where can I search on it?

    Is a thread here if so could you send me the link...

    Is region three blue ray? I thought there where only two blue-ray regions now?

    Regards

    Edited by beatleben at 12:55:10 24-11-2006
  • delbert 24 Nov 2006 12:44:53 2,892 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Hong Kong is region 3 IIRC
  • BartonFink 24 Nov 2006 12:53:36 35,126 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Ah the glory of the search box
  • beatleben 24 Nov 2006 13:54:56 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    The search on the forums is no google though :-(
  • stevo7790 24 Nov 2006 14:00:51 233 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    i have a JAP ps3 and mine is just plugged straight in, hey well youve got no warrenty so open your ps3 up and have a look at the psu if you dont beleive us! :p
  • Davinnicus 24 Nov 2006 14:29:27 292 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Believing the words of some on here I plugged mine straight into the mains yesterday. Took a couple of seconds for the lights to come on, but I guess that was the psu switching itself to 240v.

    Should say mine is a japanese version.

    Edited by Davinnicus at 14:30:21 24-11-2006
  • beatleben 24 Nov 2006 15:30:43 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    So can anyone out there provide proof that the US version works? Photographs? Videos?

    Thanks
  • beatleben 25 Nov 2006 07:36:42 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    So nobody has taken a US PS3 apart and looked at the power supply yet? I still waiting on mine so have not got a PS3 to look at....
  • uk_yank 27 Nov 2006 11:00:27 10 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Hi

    I am an Amercian living in the UK.

    I have a PS3 though I have it plugged straight into the UK mains, which is 240v. Even though both the Japanese and US PS3 have 100v on the sticker on the bottom the Power supply inside is universal inside.

    I have buddies who running both Japanese and US PS3's here in the UK. One of my buddies was brave enough to remove the case on his US PS3 and look at the power supply which clearly had 1 100v-240v. In the same way as the PSP charger is universal.

    Runs on a UK kettle cord no problem.

    Edited by uk_yank at 11:30:36 27-11-2006
  • siro 27 Nov 2006 11:28:24 1,829 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    If there's something like
    100-240V
    50-60Hz
    written on it, it's absolutely safe to plug in. You might need a plug adapter depending on the country you're in (if the plug's physically different). Got me a universal plug adapter (no power conversion) for 800Yen (6 Euro at that time), a simple adapter is even less.
  • beatleben 27 Nov 2006 11:36:41 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Do you need adapter can you not just use a regular PC power lead??
  • Tiger_Walts 27 Nov 2006 11:55:42 16,615 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    uk_yank wrote:
    Runs on a UK kettle cord no problem.
    Tsk, call it what it is. an IEC mains lead.

    IT Monkey and StickyPiston Minecraft Hosting Support

  • beatleben 27 Nov 2006 12:02:05 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Tiger_Walts wrote:
    uk_yank wrote:
    Runs on a UK kettle cord no problem.
    Tsk, call it what it is. an IEC mains lead.

    Thanks Tiger. He is a Amercian guess he can't help it. So IEC/pc power lead here I come......
  • jonbigtelly 27 Nov 2006 12:35:28 4 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Hi Guys,

    I went home Friday and plugged my US bought PS3 directly into the Mains and Bang it worked straight away.
    I can post pictures if you guys want them but I can assure you it works no problem. Jon
  • beatleben 27 Nov 2006 12:39:15 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    jonbigtelly wrote:
    Hi Guys,

    I went home Friday and plugged my US bought PS3 directly into the Mains and Bang it worked straight away.
    I can post pictures if you guys want them but I can assure you it works no problem. Jon

    Hi Jon

    That sounds great. If you go post some pictures or even video, I would feel less scared when I plug mine straight into the mains!!

    Appreciated and I am sure that many other people across the UK/Europe will be....

    Edited by beatleben at 12:40:28 27-11-2006
  • jonbigtelly 27 Nov 2006 12:40:30 4 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    I will do so this evening. Jon
  • Grunk 27 Nov 2006 12:46:00 4,718 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    do you have one of these then? or are you just asking in case you might buy one in the future?

    if you have one, why don't you just look at the power supply?

    the specs written on the side aren't some elaborate joke by sony to stop people importing.
  • beatleben 27 Nov 2006 12:49:06 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I have one at the moment running on a step down. Though the step down makes a really bad buzzing noise which winds my GF up. I would prefer to connect direct anyone. One less cable and box behind my TV.

    There have been many reports and video confirming the Japanese PS3 works. Though none confirming that the US PS3 works straight on the mains in Europe. So not a Sony joke!!

    Edited by beatleben at 12:50:34 27-11-2006
  • Grunk 27 Nov 2006 12:52:15 4,718 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    have you read the spec on the side of the power supply?

    every piece of electrtical equipment in your home has one, if the supply is internal it will be on the back (check your telly if you don't believe me). Read the spec, it'll probably say

    110-250v 50-60Hz

    or some such, if it does plug it in.

    edit:- Other people have said this already, not sure why you would ask if you are just going to ignore everybody.

    Edited by Grunk at 12:53:10 27-11-2006
  • beatleben 27 Nov 2006 12:58:18 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Grunk wrote:
    have you read the spec on the side of the power supply?

    every piece of electrtical equipment in your home has one, if the supply is internal it will be on the back (check your telly if you don't believe me). Read the spec, it'll probably say

    110-250v 50-60Hz

    or some such, if it does plug it in.

    I have not tried to pull my PS3 apart but here

    UK_yank wrote:
    One of my buddies was brave enough to remove the case on his US PS3 and look at the power supply which clearly had 1 100v-240v. In the same way as the PSP charger is universal.

    I have seen many pics of the Japanses power supply which says 100-240v but no US ones.

    The label on the bottom appears to be added for each rgeion and I guess to save manfacturing costs Sony made PS3 universally powered and only the firmware and box are different.

    So they can change were they are sending the PS3's for sale, like pulling the plug on the European release at short notice and re-flashing them with American and Japenese firmware.


    Edited by beatleben at 13:01:24 27-11-2006
  • beatleben 27 Nov 2006 13:06:48 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Truk wrote:
    This thread will contain all you need to know, I reckon.

    It is a good thread and loads of info, but I find it hard to find the info I needed about voltage as the is so much information.

    Also looking for some photographic or video evidence which Jon is going to supply to make me feel better before I go 240v!!!

    Edited by beatleben at 13:14:49 27-11-2006

    Edited by beatleben at 14:22:55 27-11-2006
  • uk_yank 27 Nov 2006 16:44:39 10 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    I will also try and get some pics.

    Though will not be able to do to the weekend.

    Though I know why you all would be worried plugging PS3 in to 240V and blowing it up.

    Hopefully Jon will reassure you before me.
  • jonbigtelly 27 Nov 2006 20:17:41 4 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    Right I took some Pics but no idea how to upload them, any clues? Beatleben if u want me to E-Mail them let me know. Jon
  • beatleben 27 Nov 2006 20:23:48 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Post deleted at 22:43:54 27-11-2006
  • beatleben 27 Nov 2006 22:54:28 179 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    jonbigtelly wrote:
    Right I took some Pics but no idea how to upload them, any clues? Beatleben if u want me to E-Mail them let me know. Jon

    jonbigtelly has supplied these pics of his US PS3 plugged directly into 240v UK mains.

    On my flickr site

    Like to thank jonbigtelly for making me feel less nevrous about the 50/50 chance of frying my PS3!!!
  • uk_yank 28 Nov 2006 11:12:06 10 posts
    Registered 8 years ago
    beatleben wrote:
    jonbigtelly wrote:
    Right I took some Pics but no idea how to upload them, any clues? Beatleben if u want me to E-Mail them let me know. Jon

    jonbigtelly has supplied these pics of his US PS3 plugged directly into 240v UK mains.

    On my flickr site

    Like to thank jonbigtelly for making me feel less nevrous about the 50/50 chance of frying my PS3!!!

    Hi

    Great set photographs and I hope that closes down your fears about plugging in a PS3 into the UK mains and frying your PS3.

    I will try and put some video up at some point too.

    Well done buddies...
  • Page

    of 10 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply