360 on my LCD monitor, crappy picture quality!

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • burns 23 Nov 2006 15:51:17 1,138 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    As I don'y yet a own a nice , big HD tv, I thought I would buy a vga 360 cable and try it on my pc monitor.

    But no matter what i try, the picture quality looks awful. The best way to describe it would be to say it looks blurred, like when you change the resolution under windows and your graphics card doesn't like it.

    Now it maybe down to my crappy monitor as it was fairly cheap, also the vga connection with my pc is not great but when I use the dvi port from my pc to the monitor the picture is crystal.

    The xbox cable i bought was not an official one (yes, i know) so I wonder if this might be to blame?

    One thing I was thinking of trying was to get a vga to dvi adaptor as using the dvi mode with windows is alot better then vga, would this make any difference?
  • Whizzo 23 Nov 2006 15:52:32 42,758 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    What resolution have you got it set for in the dashboard? By default VGA is running at 640x480 when you start using it.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • burns 23 Nov 2006 16:11:13 1,138 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Whizzo wrote:
    What resolution have you got it set for in the dashboard? By default VGA is running at 640x480 when you start using it.

    I have tried all the resolutions and they all look shite.

    Seems to happen with a few cable and monitor combinations.

    Due to either cheap cabling or cheap circuitry. I think the problem lies within poor shielding.

    what the cable or the monitor?
  • Valver 23 Nov 2006 16:25:52 110 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    What is the native rez of your monitor? Is it widescreen?

    What rez is the 360 set to?

    Answer those two and Ill tell you whats wrong :)
  • Fatfish 23 Nov 2006 16:33:52 3,377 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Using a DVI adapter won't do any good. It will only convert the existing VGA plug to fit the DVI one - it doesn't convert the signal itself to a true DVI one.
  • Fatfish 23 Nov 2006 16:45:13 3,377 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    FluffyTucker wrote:
    Ah I didn't spot that huge error, my powers are fading :o

    If you're talking about my post - he didn't say he was using one, just that he might try it (I think).

    So don't worry, you're powers are safe..........Dribbling Incontinent Vegatitive State Man!

    .....sheesh, we gotta come up with a better name for your secret identity mate.....
  • Fatfish 23 Nov 2006 16:50:28 3,377 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    FluffyTucker wrote:
    I like the name "Jesus"

    Suppose it's got a ring to it. Bit short though isn't it? How about Womble Boy, or Captain Styrofoam? No? Ok, Jesus it is then.......but you've still got to wear a cape and tights, ok?
  • Phattso Moderator 23 Nov 2006 16:54:07 12,722 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Fatfish wrote:
    FluffyTucker wrote:
    I like the name "Jesus"

    Suppose it's got a ring to it. Bit short though isn't it? How about Womble Boy, or Captain Styrofoam? No? Ok, Jesus it is then.......but you've still got to wear a cape and tights, ok?

    It's still better than "That Ass Guy" brand hanging around my neck since my post in the GoW Brotherhood thread. ;-)


    As for VGA cables and LCD monitors, I'm running my 360 through the BenQ 20" LCD sat next to my main display and games look fantastic on it.
  • mugwump 23 Nov 2006 17:00:43 654 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Just a thought... Have you run the "auto-adjust" option on your monitor? Could just be that it's not calibrated properly :)
  • JimJam 23 Nov 2006 17:01:00 769 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Would running the 360 at 50 or 60Hz make a difference ? I remember that they added support for different settings in the last update.

    Edited by JimJam at 17:05:57 23-11-2006
  • Fatfish 23 Nov 2006 17:01:28 3,377 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    FluffyTucker wrote:
    I'm going to wear clothes now?

    No, just the cape and tights. Oh, and the nipple clamps.
  • Fatfish 23 Nov 2006 17:05:57 3,377 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    JimJam wrote:
    Would running it the 360 at 50 or 60Hz make a difference ?

    Never did on my old 17" TFT. I did switch to 60Hz for Top Spin 2 and it looked pretty much the same via VGA, so just left it like that.

    Got to say though, mine looks fantastic on my new 20.1" Dell widescreen. Finally settled for 1280*1024 in widescreen. Almost a perfect fit - about 4-5mm top and bottom of black border. But that just blends in to the black bezel, so you don't even notice it. Fit's perfectly horizontally. Crystal clear and no tearing that I've noticed.
  • burns 23 Nov 2006 17:09:36 1,138 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Valver wrote:
    What is the native rez of your monitor? Is it widescreen?

    What rez is the 360 set to?

    Answer those two and Ill tell you whats wrong :)

    1280 x 1024, thats the rez i usually set it to but i think it goes higher.

    I have set the 360 to that but it still looks poo. It looks like their is kind of a ghost image like a tv with bad reception, if that helps
  • JayPee 23 Nov 2006 17:12:52 1,490 posts
    Seen 7 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Fatfish wrote:
    Finally settled for 1280*1024
    That's not 1:1 mapping though is it? I.e. not a proper widescreen resolution. The pixels will be stretched horizontally - that'll cause blurring for sure.
  • JayPee 23 Nov 2006 17:13:21 1,490 posts
    Seen 7 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    burns wrote:
    It looks like their is kind of a ghost image like a tv with bad reception, if that helps
    Needs better cables.
  • burns 23 Nov 2006 17:15:23 1,138 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    JayPee wrote:
    Fatfish wrote:
    Finally settled for 1280*1024
    That's not 1:1 mapping though is it? I.e. not a proper widescreen resolution. The pixels will be stretched horizontally - that'll cause blurring for sure.

    But i tried every resolution available and it made no difference.
  • asphaltcowboy 23 Nov 2006 17:47:27 5,129 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    JimJam wrote:
    Would running the 360 at 50 or 60Hz make a difference ? I remember that they added support for different settings in the last update.
    Not sure if that's the case with the VGA cable... it seems to only do a 60Hz signal - when I tried to play Halo (and 50Hz) game it said I needed to use a different cable!
  • burns 23 Nov 2006 18:47:07 1,138 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    FluffyTucker wrote:
    What VGA cable are you using, out of interest? I found the two third-party ones I tried had some nasty ghosting going that fuzzed the picture up somewhat, the official MS one delivered a pretty perfect image.

    some crappy 6 one i got on eBay.

    / bows head in shame

    I refuse to pay 20 for a bloody cable.

    /but will probably buy one all the same
  • burns 23 Nov 2006 19:08:47 1,138 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    FluffyTucker wrote:
    Is the main problem with the picture a sortof double image to the right of things, like you say, ghosting? Because that's usually caused by the cable.

    thats the exact problem, i guess i will have to get a more expensive one
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply