Travelling...

• Page

of 9 First / Last

Previous
  • zErOb_cOOl 21 Sep 2006 13:10:15 3,237 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    ...I've always wanted to do it. After high school I went straight to Uni. I worked while at high school, worked while at Uni, and went straight into a full time job after Uni. Because I've been working and been skint, I haven't really had chance to go travelling yet. So many people have been, and I'm jelous, including my mate who's just come back from Europe; sounds like he had a hell of a good time. I seriously don't know how people afford it before/during/after Uni. I still can't currently afford it, but I know I could work small jobs out there while travelling to pay my way though.

I'm now a web designer, and getting good experience too, although I've only been in the job just over 6 months, and would like to get at least a year's experience, as employers always want 1 years experience of this, that, and the other.

I don't want to throw away my job, but I'm just getting claustrophobic here in the UK, with a big wide world out there to explore. I would absolutely love to go to Rome, New Zealand, New York, and possibly somewhere more 'out of the way' such as Indonesia.

What I want to ask is have you been travelling, and if you have was it worth it/do you regret it? How did you fund your travelling? Also, if you haven't been travelling, why not?

Edited by zErOb_cOOl at 13:10:25 21-09-2006
  • Salaman 21 Sep 2006 13:14:15 18,959 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Why would you be unable to travel whilst studying, working? Unless you're really flirting with the poverty line, you can make it out of the Uk for short stints without actually touring the world for 24 months.