Is an MA worth having?

• Page

of 2 First / Last

Previous
  • MisterFalseName 31 Aug 2006 16:08:20 985 posts
    Seen 16 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Bunged in the social catagory for want of anything better...

Okay, so I graduated with a 2:1 in English Literature in July and have just been rejected for a PhD opportunity, having made the shortlist. I now face a fairly open choice of either temping for a year and then doing an MA, or actually getting onto the careers track outside of academia.

My concern is that if I do take my MA, and then find that I cannot find another funded PhD opportunity (I'm fairly sure if I had more than a BA I'd have gotten this one...) then is it just a waste of three grand, or do any employers value it as a useful qualification in its own right?

Also, and getting less likely to get a definitive answer as I go along, does anyone know if English PhD courses would actually like an MA especially within the subject, or will a more vocational course be acceptable?

Thanks in advance for dealing with my tiresome crisis...
  • Blerk Moderator 31 Aug 2006 16:10:35 48,224 posts
    Seen 16 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I have yet to apply for any job where the prospective employer has even looked at my qualifications, never mind demanded a certain level of achievement.

Experience seems to count for far more these days. The degree will carry you into work fine, I doubt an MA would make any difference at all.

Edit: Employer, not employee. :-)

Edited by Blerk at 16:12:58 31-08-2006
  • MisterFalseName 31 Aug 2006 16:11:42 985 posts
    Seen 16 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Believe me, I've been looking hard this morning - it's a delightfully demoralising process. :)

It would help if I knew whether I was looking for promotion prospects or just a 12 month contract to get some cash in...
  • ssuellid 31 Aug 2006 16:12:56 19,141 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Blerk wrote: