Making winamp output into 5.1

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:13:40 4,036 posts
    Registered 12 years ago
    Right, I'm trying to output my mp3's via my 5.1 setup (Creative labs Inspire 5.1 decoder)

    On its own winamp only outputs a stereo source into a one speaker of my 5.1 kit. I used to have it set up for outputting into Left and Right as well but can't get it going (using a plug in).

    Anyone managed to do this?
    Because my pc is orintated dirrently then my tv, I need to be able to adjust what comes out each speaker (so I can force Left down the rear left and rear right for instance), but even doing this I am getting no joy. It's still all coming through one speaker :/
  • silentbob 22 Aug 2005 20:15:00 29,224 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    What format is the original audio in?
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:16:13 4,036 posts
    Registered 12 years ago
    regular stereo mp3
  • Dirtbox 22 Aug 2005 20:18:08 81,291 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    You might have some software that comes with your sound card driver that'll let you apply some environment effects, but other than that, have a trawl through the winamp plugins.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 20:19:49 22-08-2005
  • silentbob 22 Aug 2005 20:19:12 29,224 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    sephy wrote:
    regular stereo mp3
    Can you not force your decode to stereo only? What about some pseudo matrix modes (HALL, CONCERT etc.)?

    Edited by silentbob at 20:20:53 22-08-2005
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:19:27 4,036 posts
    Registered 12 years ago
    I have nvidia software but its not helping. If anything it made it worse

    Already trawled through winamp plugins, which is how I came across the one i used before again
  • Dirtbox 22 Aug 2005 20:19:45 81,291 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Or you could click the first link on google here.
  • [maven] 22 Aug 2005 20:21:47 5,248 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Or set Winamp to use WaveOut (instead of DirectSound) which (at least with the Soundblaster Live I once had) at leasts uses 4 channels.
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:26:44 4,036 posts
    Registered 12 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    Or you could click the first link on google here.
    The more sophisticated version is the one I downloaded in the first place :p

    Mave - not making a blind bit of difference. it's stillpushing everything into the same speaker
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:37:24 4,036 posts
    Registered 12 years ago
    and i think i see the issue....

    would I be right in thinking that the line in port on my decoder will only take a 2 channel signal?

    The optical and co-ax are taken up (xbox/ps2 +dvd) so I just plugged it into the free line out. I have a optical splitter, just need a 2nd cable
  • FartPipe 21 Nov 2013 06:24:10 4,085 posts
    Seen 45 minutes ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Winamp to cease on 20th December. :(

    Link
  • X201 21 Nov 2013 06:50:39 16,551 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    :-(
  • Fake_Blood 21 Nov 2013 08:28:52 5,006 posts
    Seen 43 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    But what about the llamas?
  • MrTomFTW Moderator 21 Nov 2013 09:12:44 42,106 posts
    Seen 33 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    They will no longer have their arses whipped.
  • craigy Staff 21 Nov 2013 09:13:14 8,097 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Noooo :(
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply