Making winamp output into 5.1

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:13:40 4,036 posts
    Registered 14 years ago
    Right, I'm trying to output my mp3's via my 5.1 setup (Creative labs Inspire 5.1 decoder)

    On its own winamp only outputs a stereo source into a one speaker of my 5.1 kit. I used to have it set up for outputting into Left and Right as well but can't get it going (using a plug in).

    Anyone managed to do this?
    Because my pc is orintated dirrently then my tv, I need to be able to adjust what comes out each speaker (so I can force Left down the rear left and rear right for instance), but even doing this I am getting no joy. It's still all coming through one speaker :/
  • silentbob 22 Aug 2005 20:15:00 29,490 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    What format is the original audio in?
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:16:13 4,036 posts
    Registered 14 years ago
    regular stereo mp3
  • Dirtbox 22 Aug 2005 20:18:08 88,378 posts
    Seen 27 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    You might have some software that comes with your sound card driver that'll let you apply some environment effects, but other than that, have a trawl through the winamp plugins.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 20:19:49 22-08-2005
  • silentbob 22 Aug 2005 20:19:12 29,490 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    sephy wrote:
    regular stereo mp3
    Can you not force your decode to stereo only? What about some pseudo matrix modes (HALL, CONCERT etc.)?

    Edited by silentbob at 20:20:53 22-08-2005
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:19:27 4,036 posts
    Registered 14 years ago
    I have nvidia software but its not helping. If anything it made it worse

    Already trawled through winamp plugins, which is how I came across the one i used before again
  • Dirtbox 22 Aug 2005 20:19:45 88,378 posts
    Seen 27 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Or you could click the first link on google here.
  • [maven] 22 Aug 2005 20:21:47 5,478 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Or set Winamp to use WaveOut (instead of DirectSound) which (at least with the Soundblaster Live I once had) at leasts uses 4 channels.
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:26:44 4,036 posts
    Registered 14 years ago
    Dirtbox wrote:
    Or you could click the first link on google here.
    The more sophisticated version is the one I downloaded in the first place :p

    Mave - not making a blind bit of difference. it's stillpushing everything into the same speaker
  • sephy 22 Aug 2005 20:37:24 4,036 posts
    Registered 14 years ago
    and i think i see the issue....

    would I be right in thinking that the line in port on my decoder will only take a 2 channel signal?

    The optical and co-ax are taken up (xbox/ps2 +dvd) so I just plugged it into the free line out. I have a optical splitter, just need a 2nd cable
  • FartPipe 21 Nov 2013 06:24:10 5,316 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Winamp to cease on 20th December. :(

    Link
  • X201 21 Nov 2013 06:50:39 17,740 posts
    Seen 49 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    :-(
  • Fake_Blood 21 Nov 2013 08:28:52 7,055 posts
    Seen 14 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    But what about the llamas?
  • MrTomFTW Best Moderator, 2016 21 Nov 2013 09:12:44 46,427 posts
    Seen 26 minutes ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    They will no longer have their arses whipped.
  • craigy Staff 21 Nov 2013 09:13:14 9,190 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Noooo :(
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.