Tv for hdr 4k gaming Page 70

  • Page

    of 71 First / Last

  • Psiloc 6 Dec 2017 15:27:45 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Mrsyms wrote:
    Heres some off the main settings i use. We should compare :) game mode hdr, 100 oled brightness, 98 contrast, 52 brightness, 0 sharpness, colour 65, tint 0, colour temp w30, dynamic contrast low, dynamic colour off, colour gamut wide, super resolution off, gamma medium, black level low. I sometimes drop colour temp to w15 depending on the game :)
    I think I have slightly lower contrast, definitely lower brightness, W25 and dynamic contrast set to medium. To be honest, I think I'm still not done messing with it though.

    I have brightness lower because I set the black level to High in both my TV and the PS4 (RGB Limited mode). I don't like Low because while modern games support it, as soon as you throw a movie in there the colours wash out. I'd rather set it to High and have settings that work for all content.

    And if there is a quality difference between RGB Full and Limited I can't see it.
  • Mrsyms 6 Dec 2017 15:58:51 181 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 months ago
    Why not switch between modes when gaming or watching movies mate. I use technicolour expert for movies, which was added in the latest firmware update. Its only 2 or 3 button presses on the remote to change. You really need black level low for games or the picture looks awfully inaccurate to me.
  • rudedudejude 6 Dec 2017 16:16:04 2,343 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    @oceanmotion Annoying that Virgin are not supplying this through the V6 box.

    Also it's lame that Sony only seem to be supporting their less premium models, the latest, newer ranges won't be supported.
  • Psiloc 6 Dec 2017 16:51:18 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Mrsyms The RGB range is set on the console level, so youíd have to change your console video setting as well as switch the picture settings on the TV. Itís a ball ache.
  • ChiefGB 6 Dec 2017 18:45:09 7,399 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I'll have a look at my settings later, (b7) I have to say though this is one of the first TVs where I haven't felt the need to tinker all that much, besides turning off the processing nonsense.
  • yegon 6 Dec 2017 18:57:18 6,157 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    I have the B7 and use settings roughly similar to the suggestions below, main exception being Dynamic contrast on low just for PS4 Pro and X1X.

    https://www.avforums.com/threads/lg-oled55b7v-best-tv-picture-settings.2106641/
  • Pierre2k 6 Dec 2017 19:18:11 899 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    @Psiloc As you say, it's all personal opinion. "Active HDR" on the 2017 OLEDs is a proprietary LG approach to make HDR10 look similar to Dolby Vision (Sony have their own equivalent as well). The 2016 models don't support this so it's not a concern for me personally, but I agree you'd want to leave it on low for general HDR10 viewing on the 2017 models like you have.

    I don't think dim game mode is a quirk of the 2017 models (it definitely is dimmer on my 2016 model), but for my tastes it was absolutely fine. YMMV of course.
  • Pierre2k 6 Dec 2017 19:22:23 899 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Mrsyms wrote:
    Heres some off the main settings i use. We should compare :) game mode hdr, 100 oled brightness, 98 contrast, 52 brightness, 0 sharpness, colour 65, tint 0, colour temp w30, dynamic contrast low, dynamic colour off, colour gamut wide, super resolution off, gamma medium, black level low. I sometimes drop colour temp to w15 depending on the game :)
    I wouldn't recommend a sharpness setting of 0. Generally, I turn off all artificial sharpening, but on the LG OLEDs a sharpness setting of 10 is actually no sharpening (as bizarre and random as that sounds) Going below 10 actually introduces blur, which was very apparent when playing
    Rocket League on my PS4. Multiple outlets have noted this quirk, including on one of the Digital Foundry videos.

    EDIT: should note I'm not 100% sure on the 2017 models and forums do give differing views.

    Edited by Pierre2k at 19:42:57 06-12-2017
  • Mrsyms 6 Dec 2017 19:54:26 181 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 months ago
    Sharpness of 0 doesnt seem to blur on my 2017, but again i am no expert :) its interesting and insightful to hear other peoples views and experiences!
  • ChiefGB 6 Dec 2017 20:16:26 7,399 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I do tend to ramp sharpness up a bit tbh, I've not studied the difference at length but want things to look crisp. That probably my biggest variance to what's above. May have a poke around with it later.
  • yegon 6 Dec 2017 20:53:33 6,157 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Backing up Pierre2K, spent ages reading about the 2017 models prior to purchase and sharpness 10 really meaning 0 indeed applies apparently. Strange but true.
  • Mrsyms 6 Dec 2017 21:05:04 181 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 months ago
    Alot of its personal prefrence. Im going to give sharpness a bump to 10 for a few days and see how i get on. If its good il keep it like that in future. Great info guys and thanks!
  • yegon 7 Dec 2017 12:18:42 6,157 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    The LG B7 is the first smart tv where Iím happy to use the smart features. The Netflix and Amazon Prime clients are great, and the stock player has played almost everything Iíve thrown at it from an attached 4tb drive. My NVidia shield has barely had a look in, whereas previously I used it constantly.

    Also pleased itís not sniffy about connecting to BT headphones like my old 2012 Samsung. The latter only connected to Samsung headphones, and the alleged workaround for other brands I could never get to work. Can now easily use my Bose QC35ís with everything, whereas previously I had to use 3 separate wireless headphones across freeview, PS4, Xbox and Shield. Pain in the arse keeping them all charged.

    Only ding is that I canít get the remote to play nice with my old, perfectly decent, Sony surround system. Two remotes it is, heyho.
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 13:25:44 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    yegon wrote:
    Only ding is that I canít get the remote to play nice with my old, perfectly decent, Sony surround system. Two remotes it is, heyho.
    Get a universal.

    Though on the subject of surround sound. I have never, ever, ever got HDMI ARC to work properly with 5.1. Not on my B7, nor any of my previous TVs. All it does is mix a stereo signal into surround meaning you get the dreaded effect of voices coming out the rear speakers. Google is very little help - partly I suspect because more than a few people don't understand what they're hearing.

    Anyone know what I'm doing wrong? Can't feed my devices directly into the amp any more as the pass through doesn't understand 4K video :(
  • yegon 7 Dec 2017 13:37:20 6,157 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Same, never got ARC working on anything ever.

    Re: universal, Iíve used an old IR Logitech Harmony One for years, sadly not compatible with whatever the wireless technology is in the LG remote. Tbh, I actually quite like the suppplied remote with the dedicated buttons for Netflix & Prime, and the pointer is actually useful unlike the terrible motion thing in my old Samsung (that I never used). I can live with the 2 remotes for now.
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 13:47:42 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Your Logitech should work, IR is IR. I've got a Harmony Ultimate that happily controls the B7.
  • yegon 7 Dec 2017 13:50:16 6,157 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    But the LG isnít IR is it?
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 13:57:40 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    My B7 is. Or more likely it accepts IR as well as RF or whatever the posh remote uses.
  • Derblington 7 Dec 2017 14:38:27 29,978 posts
    Seen 40 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Pretty sure my set-up is using ARC correctly. I've not noticed dialogue from rear speakers.
  • Dougs 7 Dec 2017 14:47:04 83,946 posts
    Seen 28 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    @Psiloc new receiver time imo!
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 14:48:52 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    You don't happen to have one of those blu-rays that have a speaker test do you? I know the Pixar ones have one. Your amp's speaker test doesn't prove anything about ARC as I'm sure you know.

    I'd love to know what I'm doing wrong.
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 14:50:08 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @Dougs Just spent four figures on a TV, please don't tempt me.

    ...though maybe...
  • Derblington 7 Dec 2017 14:52:36 29,978 posts
    Seen 40 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    No idea, I've never looked for it on movies.
  • yegon 7 Dec 2017 14:59:54 6,157 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    @Psiloc

    The LG remote does support IR but I canít teach itís volume buttons, for example, to the IR Harmony One as those commands use the non IR wireless tech, whatever it is.

    None of the 10 preset Sony IR commands that I can set the LG remote work on my amp. Bit of googling told me others experienced same.

    No matter. Can easily use the LG remote for everything bar volume. Besides, still need the Harmony handy for other stuff.

    Edited by yegon at 15:01:15 07-12-2017
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 15:01:28 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Looking into it now. A few people are saying you have to access the service menu to get surround sound through ARC on the LGs. By default, it only works through built in stuff like Netflix or TV and won't pass anything through from a separate HDMI source.

    I've got a Harmony so could probably get into the service menu if I wanted, but this stinks a bit...
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 15:05:02 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @yegon Could you not teach your remote the volume commands from the original remote control for your amp? I know the Touch/Ultimate remotes have a learning feature but not sure about yours.
  • yegon 7 Dec 2017 15:14:36 6,157 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Hmm, dunno, was under the impression the LG remote canít learn commands, only select from the preset list of manufacturer codes?

    Edited by yegon at 15:14:50 07-12-2017
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 15:28:38 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Probably depends on the model but Iíve 100% taught mine stuff before.
  • yegon 7 Dec 2017 15:39:56 6,157 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Itís this remote that comes with the LG 65B7V. Even read the manual (shock!) but couldnt find anything about teaching it commands.


    http://www.lg.com/uk/tv-accessories/lg-AN-MR650A
  • Psiloc 7 Dec 2017 15:43:16 4,191 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Oh, no, wait a minute, I was talking about teaching your Harmony One the volume commands.
  • Page

    of 71 First / Last

Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.