Forza Horizon 3 Page 56

  • Page

    of 58 First / Last

  • captain_markyboy 26 Jun 2017 12:23:14 846 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    ModoX wrote:
    I've got exactly the same issue. I have spent literally over an hour scanning every inch of the map, looking at all the spots people point to as awkward ones that are easy to miss. Absolutely nothing is grey on my map, 100%, but it still says I'm missing a road.
    Exactly the same here.
    Scanned everything. Including zooming into the map methodically.
    It's fucked.
  • glaeken 26 Jun 2017 13:38:59 11,884 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    If it's anything like the first game the bit of road you could be missing could be really tiny. I think I got that achievement on the first game but promised myself I would not bother on the later games. It's just too hard if the one bit of road you are missing is really tiny. Not worth the hassle.
  • captain_markyboy 26 Jun 2017 14:23:42 846 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    glaeken wrote:
    If it's anything like the first game the bit of road you could be missing could be really tiny. I think I got that achievement on the first game but promised myself I would not bother on the later games. It's just too hard if the one bit of road you are missing is really tiny. Not worth the hassle.
    Yeah that's why I stopped....it's frustrating as it could be a good achievement. I've genuinely driven every road lots of times. If it a minuscule part of a road, it's def not showing up on the map so it's just a case of maybe accidentally triggering it one day.
  • LittleSparra 26 Jun 2017 14:28:10 6,997 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    I got the achievement in FH2 during a race, totally by chance: the route happened to take a small connecting track I had missed.
  • whatthefu 26 Jun 2017 19:50:45 1,006 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    SYS64738 wrote:
    Also I can see there's 3 editions on MS's store, it appears the Ultimate edition is anything but, i.e. excludes many of the expansions. So would assume best way to go about would be getting the standard edition and buy a season pass or individual DLC separately?
    That's what I would do at this stage.
    I bought the standard edition on release and later bought the blizzard mountain pass (which dropped in price within a week).
  • KD 26 Jun 2017 23:33:22 1,722 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Standard game and the deal on expansion pass came was a bonus last week, all the other dlc cars.

    Next time a big ms game is being released the usual 3 day early access will sway people into the ultimate editions, and follow up disappointment when they realise it's all a waste of cash.
  • RobTheBuilder 27 Jun 2017 06:56:27 6,976 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Unless an 'ultimate' edition comes with the proper expansion DLC - don't bother. I love FH3, but wish I'd bought the standard edition and used the extra for the actual new content.
  • Dombat 27 Jun 2017 09:22:27 1,158 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Yeah, I nearly bought one of the pricier versions of the game at launch but went for the standard version. Then picked up the expansion pass in the sale a week ago.

    That's the best way of doing it if you value new areas and events over additional cars.
  • SYS64738 27 Jun 2017 11:27:13 4,713 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Thanks, good to know.

    Now just to figure out whether the input lag found in the demo still exists in the patched game... (30fps mind). I read on GAF that the demo hasn't been updated so far, and I'm not eager to commit to a massive download (not to mention the pretty steep price) to find out... it would still be a deal breaker for me.
  • captain_markyboy 27 Jun 2017 11:43:25 846 posts
    Seen 2 weeks ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Post deleted
  • RobTheBuilder 27 Jun 2017 13:57:04 6,976 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    @SYS64738 Can't be sure on lag, but the latest patch drastically improved overall PC performance.
  • KD 27 Jun 2017 14:07:02 1,722 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    @SYS64738 The newer 4K on a budget video by DF has FH3 on it and he mentions input lag, says to adjust something, give it a look.
  • RobTheBuilder 27 Jun 2017 14:21:19 6,976 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    @KD I'm pretty sure the pre-cache frames option has a lag effect, as would vsync
  • SYS64738 27 Jun 2017 15:03:55 4,713 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Yeah that DF video made me come back here:) I'm playing on a laptop and performance of the demo was fine (high settings at a stable 30fps, albeit with weird behaviour that was also mentioned in the video), but 60fps wasn't achievable - switching off that dynamic settings scaling option (or whatever it's called) caused a lot of stutter and janky, laggy gameplay from what I remember (this was back in January).

    Getting it to run at 60fps would've made it look terrible, but I did notice the lag was much reduced. At a locked 30fps though, moving the pad stick left/right and then release it took 1 - 1.5 seconds to be reflected on screen which makes it almost unplayable.

    Never encountered that much input lag on any system or with any game as much as I remember to be honest.

    Edit - I take it you guys all play at 60fps then?

    Edited by SYS64738 at 15:18:01 27-06-2017
  • KD 27 Jun 2017 15:58:21 1,722 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I play on unlocked and low dynamic settings to hit consistent 60ish with this silly wide resolution, works fine for me and I feel a bit better at the game than when I play on my xbox at 30fps.

    On a desktop pc with FX 6 core cpu, 8gb ram and gtx1050ti

    Edited by KD at 15:59:11 27-06-2017
  • SYS64738 27 Jun 2017 16:09:02 4,713 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I'm on i7 6700HQ, GTX960m (4GB VRAM) and 8GB RAM so less oomph here. But it's pretty capable for most games in my library, usually @ 1080p, either 30 or 60 fps locked.

    Also I noticed MS recently introduced a refund policy similar to Steam, so other than wasting bandwidth I might just give it another go, in the hope that that performance patch improved things, i.e. if I can play at 60fps that would also help with the input lag issues.

    Edited by SYS64738 at 16:09:45 27-06-2017
  • SYS64738 29 Jun 2017 08:22:51 4,713 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Took the plunge last night (whopping 50 for the standard version and having to jump through a few annoying hoops re billing on the windows store).

    I'm able to run it locked at 30fps and high dynamic optimisation settings. While gameplay is solid at 1080p, I moved to 900p in order to have some headroom during occasional performance drops, usually during cut scenes (as mentioned in the recent 4k DF video).

    Most importantly, input lag is still there, but it's much more manageable - definitely improved over the demo i.e. I don't lose control of the car as easily anymore and performance is very consistent (this weird rubber banding of the frame rate is gone), while the game looks stunning - only intermittently dropping 1-3 frames in Surfers Paradise which I can live with.

    Very happy overall with this as it's a great game but buying an XBone just for this wouldn't have been worth it.
  • KD 30 Jun 2017 17:05:16 1,722 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    If anyone waited for the Porsche car pack its 2.31 in the sale here
  • LittleSparra 6 Oct 2017 11:23:28 6,997 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Hadn't played this for a while, now right back on it. I am not a car nut or racing game nut, so for it's a great game to just... drive on. Do an event, rack up a big combo, find something, admire the view, go online, repeat.

    http://xboxclips.com/RedSparrows/e8ae2bda-c857-4d0b-928a-36086c581bec

    http://xboxclips.com/RedSparrows/5647b5db-beef-4148-946f-8923fb7bed0d



    Edited by LittleSparra at 11:23:47 06-10-2017
  • SYS64738 6 Oct 2017 11:31:46 4,713 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    RedSparrows eh;)

    I love this game. Your clips remind me that I need to make more use of Groove functionality to play my own (offline) music, makes for a nice change.
  • barchetta 6 Oct 2017 11:35:42 1,659 posts
    Seen 27 minutes ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    hmm.. is Groove on its last legs? Thought I'd heard it was about to get the chop?

    FH3 is lovely though and a great advert for XBOX Anywhere - I play on PC with my youngest on his Xbox One. It is great to mooch around and chat, drop onto an event and just relax.

    Must get back to it.

    Edited by barchetta at 11:38:00 06-10-2017
  • SYS64738 6 Oct 2017 11:38:36 4,713 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It is, but I imagine it should still be available to play offline content. I imagine...
  • LittleSparra 6 Oct 2017 11:41:46 6,997 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Yeah, Groove's sub service is stopping at the end of the year, but it will remain a player for OneDrive/offline stuff.
  • ModoX 6 Oct 2017 12:18:49 2,897 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    The integration was bad for FH3 though, you couldn't shuffle and it constantly started at the beginning of a playlist. Bloody nightmare!
  • LittleSparra 6 Oct 2017 12:52:15 6,997 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Yeah the lack of suffle for it is a bizarre omission. I split my Forza playlist in two, and alternate between them.

    I'd use normal background music but I like the way the music is integrated into the Festival audio etc.
  • ModoX 6 Oct 2017 14:09:19 2,897 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Yeah it was always cool hearing it booming out of the festival area speakers in game :)
  • Malek86 6 Oct 2017 16:22:17 6,305 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Just got this. I figured, after 90+ hours of The Witcher 3, more open world was exactly what I needed. Just with a bit less blood and dirt, and a bit more high-powered cars.
  • solidsneek 6 Oct 2017 18:22:29 379 posts
    Seen 6 days ago
    Registered 1 year ago
    Anyone still playing with 7 out? I have this on xbox can I get it in windows for nothing?
  • LittleSparra 6 Oct 2017 18:27:08 6,997 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    They are very different games, i for one won't get 7 but will still play this.
  • solidsneek 6 Oct 2017 18:37:35 379 posts
    Seen 6 days ago
    Registered 1 year ago
    @LittleSparra I have no xbox remote atm but want to play it on pc already it iwn it on xbox
  • Page

    of 58 First / Last

Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.