HDadvance patch?

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • mentat 10 May 2005 14:08:21 5,613 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I've been reading about trying to get certain games working with HDAdvance... I keep coming across a reference to a HDAdvance patch, but i can't find any evidence of it.
    Anyone found any proof of the existence of a patch for said program?
  • Tiger_Walts 10 May 2005 14:17:41 16,630 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I think it means a patch for the game image. Usually for DVD9 and disc checking games.

    IT Monkey and StickyPiston Minecraft Hosting Support

  • pjmaybe 10 May 2005 14:36:36 70,676 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I've been looking too, largely because I want to try God of War now, not in July.

    So if anyone finds one. I think T_W's right, it's more game specific than an actual patch for HDA

    Peej
  • Shivoa 10 May 2005 14:47:22 5,677 posts
    Seen 1 year ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I'd guess it was also someone talking about a game patch.

    /wonders if that GT4 patch he downloaded with actually work this time
  • Deleted user 10 May 2005 15:05:09
    It could be a HDAdv patch too... the DMS team released a while a go a firmware upgrade for their DMS4 chip that allows it to run DVD9 images off the HD, maybe someone reverse-engineered that patch and did a similar thing with HDAdvance itself.
  • mentat 10 May 2005 15:19:09 5,613 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    no, not a game patch. An actual hdadvance/hdloader patch.
    Apparently it brings in some new compatability modes...

    I've seen the game patches, and it's not those that they are referring to.
  • pjmaybe 10 May 2005 15:20:23 70,676 posts
    Seen 5 years ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Hmm can't find a damned thing anywhere.

    Maybe it's a hastalavista job. If so I better not look at work, that thing's got a habit of pouring hot snatch popups all over my screen just as I'm getting search results.

    Peej
  • Tiger_Walts 6 Apr 2006 21:39:04 16,630 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Current HDLoader 0.7c patch plays practically everything now without requiring image patching. AFAIK HDA doesn't have patches for itself.


    Shame I have HDAdvance.

    I want to get Psychonauts running but a web search reveals that it freezes before it gets to the game proper. I'll try myself in case it's an NTSC thing only.

    Also, my laptop wont read the Guitar Hero disc. I'll try ripping it in the PS2 but I'm not confident.

    Edited by Tiger_Walts at 21:40:03 06-04-2006

    IT Monkey and StickyPiston Minecraft Hosting Support

  • Whizzo 6 Apr 2006 21:42:22 43,352 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Oooh as an HDLoader owner I'll have to investigate this...

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Tiger_Walts 6 Apr 2006 21:48:26 16,630 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Git ;)

    IT Monkey and StickyPiston Minecraft Hosting Support

  • Whizzo 6 Apr 2006 21:49:17 43,352 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Git? Perhaps, pioneer? Certainly, I was the first person to bring it up on the forum! :-)

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Tiger_Walts 6 Apr 2006 21:56:52 16,630 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    You can't imagine the hoops you have to jump to get GT4 working...

    Extract both layers
    Patch 3 files with ppfs
    Patch another file with a specially written app for GT4
    Edit one of the files with a hex editor
    Use special tool to create a file list for...
    Another special tool to create a working ISO

    If you have HDLoader 0.7c you don't need to do any patching or hex editing.


    Needless to say, I have the patched GT4 ISO backed up.

    IT Monkey and StickyPiston Minecraft Hosting Support

  • TriodeBliss 11 Mar 2007 20:32:10 724 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    blizeH wrote:
    I've got a problem with sound in some games. I've noticed it so far in Klonoa 2 and Atelier Iris: Eternal Mana, where it seems like a sound file is missing and it just makes a rather horrible buzz/beeping noise in it's place. Any way to stop this?

    I think you're lumbered with the sound issues, unfortunately. Both games are listed as having sound problems here.
  • TriodeBliss 11 Mar 2007 20:41:45 724 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    blizeH wrote:
    D'oh! That's a huge shame, but at least it won't bother me much anymore since there's not a lot I can do about it! Thanks for the heads up :D

    Two more questions:

    1) I've got a SotC patch to get Buzz! working, any idea how to apply the patch?

    I presume you mean an updated version of HDLoader rather than a PPF patch?


    2) Is there anyway to transfer onto the hard drive using FTP?

    You can, but I wouldn't recommend it if you can attach the HDD to your PC. I've only tried it once, and it takes ages.
  • TriodeBliss 13 Mar 2007 00:29:33 724 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    blizeH wrote:
    Huge thanks for the replies! :-)

    1) Hmm, it's a .ELF file, so I'm not sure, sorry.

    That'll be the patched HDLoader boot file (it should be v0.8b). The extension just means it's a PS2 .EXE file.

    If you're using the HDAdvance disc to boot, you've basically got two options to boot the patched HDLoader:

    1) Use the HDAdvance disc to implement the Independence Exploit, so you end up booting via a memory card and a PSX game. This is the most elegant solution, but it's a bit involved. It's the best option if your laser's on the way out since the drive only accesses the PSX disc briefly.

    There's a tutorial here if you're interested.

    2) Use PS2Load to boot the patched version from the HDAdvance game list. It's a bit of a kludge since you end up booting twice, but it works OK and is simple to implement. All you need is an ISO of the PS2Load + patched HDLoader which you transfer to the HDD via your PC.

    Tutorial for this is here.

    I'd suggest the second method to start with, since it's quick to set up. I've just used this as a quick fix for the God of War 2 demo, and it works fine.

    Go here to download the ISO I've created. All you have to do is install it on your PS2 HDD using WinHIIP.
  • TriodeBliss 13 Mar 2007 09:58:16 724 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    blizeH wrote:
    From what I gather, I just need to download the ISO you created, put it onto my PS2's hard drive via Winhiip, load up the PS2 with the HDAdvance disc in, then load up the ISO like I'd load up a game?

    Yeah, that's basically it.

    Don't forget to turn on the 'Kill HDLoader after launch' compatibility option though or you'll be scratching your head wondering why it won't load. ;)
  • Tweakmonkey 14 Mar 2007 13:50:25 1,298 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    blizeH wrote:
    Incredible! Thank you!

    Out of interest, will this also let me run PSX games on my hard drive?

    I don't think this is possible.
  • MrGrumpy.au 20 Mar 2007 12:35:32 64 posts
    Seen 7 years ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Post deleted at 12:41:55 20-03-2007
  • TriodeBliss 8 Apr 2007 23:25:38 724 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I've just checked it - it's OK here. You have to wait for a counter to end, then the link appears at the bottom of the page.

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply