New car help

• Page

of 5 First / Last

Previous
  • ILoveThrashMetal 21 Feb 2014 12:05:56 814 posts
    Seen 15 minutes ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    The misses and I bought a vw from new about a year and 4 months ago. The past 3or4 months it has developed a horrendous moisture problem to the point where we had fucking ice on the dashboard one morning.
    It takes 20 minutes before we can go anywhere if it's misted up. We have to wind the window down at junctions to see if its ok to go.
    Now I'm no mechanic but to me it sounds like a seal has gone.
    I phoned vw who fobbed me off. Phoned them again, they said "we can take a look at your car in 3 months" I told them that was not good enough.
    So took to facebook and vented my anger on vw facebook page, surprise surprise nice phone call with customer services who booked in our car to be looked at.
    Now they took it to be looked at yesterday and I've just had a call from the garage telling me that there is nothing wrong with the car. Even the engineer who picked the car up yesterday, when I showed him the pictures he said 'nah that's not right "
    Anybody have any ideas of what I can try?

Arsechickens

• X201 21 Feb 2014 12:11:57 15,699 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Have you checked to make sure its not set to recycle air from inside? That will cause moisture and misting problems.

Edited by X201 at 12:12:37 21-02-2014
  • nickthegun 21 Feb 2014 12:17:22 61,118 posts
    Seen 9 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Does the airconditioning not work?

But, yeah, the fact is: some cars just do this. I once had a civic type r that misted appallingly to the point that you could see water dripping down the window when you were driving.

But, yeah, it wasnt from new, so I would complain my tits off.

---------------------------------------------------------
    My man gives real loving that's why I call him Killer
    He's not a wham-bam-thank-you-ma'am, he's a thriller