A quick Doom3 gfx question

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • Wretched-Chin 21 Feb 2005 21:25:47 743 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Doom 3. Everything maxed out except Anti-aliasing, but running 800x600 to keep it smooth. nice looking, steady framerate. It'll run nicely on 1024x768 too, but I'm sticking to recommended.

    But,

    When I walk forward it seems to skip a frame every second or so - not so it's noticable in a firefight or anything, but you definately tell when you're back-tracking, strafing in front of a wall etc.

    Anyone know what the beef is here?

    I'm on a gf6600 card, 512ram pentium 4 3.2.
  • deem 21 Feb 2005 21:27:31 31,653 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Wretched-Chin 21 Feb 2005 21:29:55 743 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Nein, I'm using high detail mostly. But even if I drop it to Medium it still does it. Should I be on low detail for shame?

    Edited by Wretched Chin at 21:30:16 21-02-2005
  • Dirtbox 21 Feb 2005 21:30:43 89,298 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Post deleted
  • MikeD 21 Feb 2005 21:35:47 10,063 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    I've foudn that detail makes much less of a difference than resolution.

    Turn AF and AA completely off. I had a stutter once in a while as well, I think 512 mb of ram (which I also have) is not really enough.
  • Wretched-Chin 21 Feb 2005 21:36:25 743 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    The skip lasts the merest fraction of a second.

    vsynch is definately on. There's no other way to play!

    But, I have turned it off and (as far as I can tell through the glitchy screen refresh) it was still skipping.

    Perhaps I've got unsuitable kit?

    Edited by Wretched Chin at 21:39:04 21-02-2005
  • Dirtbox 21 Feb 2005 21:37:15 89,298 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Wretched-Chin 21 Feb 2005 21:42:38 743 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    re: HDD activity - no.

    It's a puzzler alright.

    edit :actually since changing detail levels again : yes.

    I wonder if its some bg virus checker process scanning files as they're loaded or something.

    He said thinktyping.

    Edited by Wretched Chin at 21:50:52 21-02-2005
  • Khab 21 Feb 2005 22:42:45 6,582 posts
    Seen 44 minutes ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Kill the viruschecker. C'mon, do it. Do it. DO IT!
  • Wretched-Chin 22 Feb 2005 08:20:26 743 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    Done it.

    With no effect.

    There's a tiny amount of HDD activity all the time when playing but the activity light doesn't seem to correspond to when the frame-skip occurs.
  • Deleted user 22 February 2005 10:15:07
    How about a defrag then? Constant activity is not good.
  • AnotherMartin 22 Feb 2005 10:27:52 6,229 posts
    Seen 7 years ago
    Registered 16 years ago
    Does it do it when approaching doors? As a lot of people mentioned this when it came out. There where some tweaks and things doing the rounds at the time, some might be in a thread on here or check the various Doom forums.

    afaik i think a patch for D3 did come out but no idea what it did as i had given up on the game by then.

    Out side of that just do the normal PC things, drivers, firwares, clean up, defrag, kill uneended processes, ect, ect.
  • Deleted user 22 February 2005 10:34:22
    I would think it's a PC config problem as I run the game on a slightly lesser machine on the same detail level without the reported jitters.
  • tonynibbles 3 Mar 2005 14:47:54 2,247 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Easist solution to this problem is to take the cd rom out of your computer and place it back in the DOOM 3 case, where it belongs. Might be worth then un-installing DOOM 3 from your machine too (you may even spot this remarkable shoddyness).

    Then, pop over to www.steampowered.com, download a copy of Steam and purchase Half Life 2, with Counter Strike Source.
    That right there is a proper game. No messin.

    Counter Strike Source pwnz teh w0rdl!

    Edited by tonynibbles at 14:48:55 03-03-2005
  • deem 3 Mar 2005 14:51:16 31,653 posts
    Seen 4 months ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    Post deleted
  • tonynibbles 3 Mar 2005 15:33:32 2,247 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    deem wrote:
    fuck me! you must be bored! where the fuck fdo you find the time to dig up an old thread - just to say that!!

    ;)

    Wierd, it was at the top of my form posts list...?! Strange, didnt see that it was old.

    Maybe its because I was browsing the PC Gaming forum only. Is that a dusty area? Im in PSP most of the time...
  • drumbaby 3 Mar 2005 17:12:27 2,688 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I'd happily uninstall HL2, if I actually had the tangible product to sell on to some hapless hype-victim.

    /curses decision to impatiently download Silver package via Steam, instead of buying boxed version.
  • HarryB 3 Mar 2005 18:19:22 7,179 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 15 years ago
    your problem is ram, get another 256mb or even 512mb and the problem will disappear... I was very confused a while back when I installed Farcry...shoved on full settings and my "BEAST" PC was stuttering like a bitch. RAM solved it, now it looks great and is smooth too.
  • MikeD 3 Mar 2005 18:34:59 10,063 posts
    Seen 4 years ago
    Registered 14 years ago
    drumbaby wrote:
    I'd happily uninstall HL2, if I actually had the tangible product to sell on to some hapless hype-victim.

    /curses decision to impatiently download Silver package via Steam, instead of buying boxed version.

    Sell the code.

    The person would have to trust that you didn't make a copy, but it could still work.
  • tonynibbles 4 Mar 2005 11:34:57 2,247 posts
    Seen 3 years ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    STEAM ROCKS!

    No one EVER slate steam. Not saying I've never had a problem, but Valve deserve every penny they get.

    Power to the developers! More money to the developers! Ditch the middle man publisher!

    Or soemthing like that...
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply

Sometimes posts may contain links to online retail stores. If you click on one and make a purchase we may receive a small commission. For more information, go here.