GTA5 - a buggy mess....

  • Page

    of 4 First / Last

    Previous
  • Cuke 22 Sep 2013 13:13:30 76 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Is it just me? I can't play for more than about half an hour without getting stuck on scenery, random freezing or falling through the floor into nothingness...

    I'm playing on PS3, I've freed up tons of HD space and it just happens over and over again... It's starting to feel like a chore to play as every mission or so it'll crash and I'll have to do the last bit again... I rarely buy games at release, mainly for price reasons, is this normal, to be so broken its unplayable without a patch??

    Grrrr...
  • Gl3n Moderator 22 Sep 2013 13:15:07 5,325 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Digital download much?

    PSN: Glendemic Xbox: Gl3n Steam: Gl3n

  • DUFFMAN5 22 Sep 2013 13:17:14 14,438 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Amazingly it is fairly typical of new releases or even games infact, speaking as a 360/PS3 gamer. I have had 2 with GTA in 9 hours odd of playing. It is something you may have to get used to, I agree it should not happen, but there you are.

    I played Saints Row IV a month or so ago and had many freezes with it, it does start to kill off any love you have for any given game when it starts to lock up or freeze a lot.

    "Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • MrTomFTW Moderator 22 Sep 2013 13:17:55 37,403 posts
    Seen 16 seconds ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    You know, save for a bit a scenery pop-in I've had no bad bugs while playing. This is the 360 version though.

    Follow me on Twitter: @MrTom
    Voted by the community "Best mod" 2011, 2012 and 2013.

  • Gl3n Moderator 22 Sep 2013 13:19:17 5,325 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Unplayable bugginess and value for money debates aside,

    The game is a hell of an achievement considering the ancient nature of the consoles in question.

    PSN: Glendemic Xbox: Gl3n Steam: Gl3n

  • DUFFMAN5 22 Sep 2013 13:19:47 14,438 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @MrTomFTW

    360 also, but you probably know that, my two lock ups were the first mission you use Chop all ok now though

    "Duffman is thrusting in the direction of the problem! Oh, yeah!"

  • Tiger_Walts 22 Sep 2013 13:31:14 16,583 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    No lock ups or crashes for me (360) but I have had the odd scripting bug and momentary freezes.

    IT Monkey and StickyPiston Minecraft Hosting Support

  • Syrette 22 Sep 2013 13:32:53 43,125 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Zero problems whatsoever (PS3, disc).

  • Cuke 22 Sep 2013 13:34:25 76 posts
    Seen 2 months ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Don't get wrong, when its working its a stunning achievement... But I'm finding my will to play whittled away by the need to keep repeating things due to issues outside my own gaming in competence...

    And nope, it's the disk version... May try deleting the installed content and re installing.... Then perhaps I'll get through the first heist without it freezing for the 4th time....
  • bbvDJC 22 Sep 2013 14:25:51 1,692 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    You should probably reinstall, had no freezes at all on my playstation and I'm near the end now.
  • bbvDJC 22 Sep 2013 14:27:14 1,692 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    EuroStalker wrote:
    Question. Why would a download version be buggy and not the disc version? Would have thought they'd be the same.
    If it's a streaming data issue GTA5 streams from the disk and the HD at the same time instead of just the HD with a digital version. Makes the disk version stream data faster apparently.
  • bbvDJC 22 Sep 2013 14:27:16 1,692 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    EuroStalker wrote:
    Question. Why would a download version be buggy and not the disc version? Would have thought they'd be the same.
    If it's a streaming data issue GTA5 streams from the disk and the HD at the same time instead of just the HD with a digital version. Makes the disk version stream data faster apparently.
  • JYM60 22 Sep 2013 14:37:50 16,783 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Zero issue on ps3 for me.

    [8/10] http://www.youtube.com/lllBetterThanHalolll

  • Red-Moose 22 Sep 2013 14:41:17 5,346 posts
    Seen 3 weeks ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Could also just be a bad/old/worn-out HD past it's useful lifetime.
  • dsmx 22 Sep 2013 14:58:34 7,563 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I've had a couple of freezes in the PS3 but the game carried on a couple of seconds later but that's the only issue I've had. So far it's been a far more polished game than any previous GTA game I've played in regards to bugs.

    "If we hit that bullseye the rest of the dominoes will fall like a a house of cards, checkmate." Zapp Brannigan

  • Dave_McCoy 22 Sep 2013 15:01:29 2,771 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I think I've been lucky so far. Just one scripting error which seemed to rectify it's self after a nudge.

    360 version, I have been more impressed than disappointed. Looks fantastic at times.
  • Shikasama 22 Sep 2013 15:31:38 6,637 posts
    Seen 11 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I did have a funny bug where I threw Wade out of the back of my truck and he got stuck in a tree, but apart from that I've not had much of an issue.
  • TheMayorOfJugs 22 Sep 2013 15:36:35 3,133 posts
    Seen 41 minutes ago
    Registered 1 year ago
    @moron You're a moron.
  • DaM 22 Sep 2013 15:49:42 12,906 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Zero issues for me, 360 disc.
  • Whizzo 22 Sep 2013 16:05:01 43,038 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Other than some occasional oddities it's been pretty much problem free for me on 360, I did have one instance where I restarted from a checkpoint, the world built up really slowly and all I could do with the controls was press pause and nothing else.

    My only real issue with it is the flying model, choppers especially need tweaking as they seem to wobble like a slowing down top far too easily.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Blerk Moderator 22 Sep 2013 16:40:01 48,225 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Apart from the social club features (which are still wonky as hell) I've had one hard lock-up on 360 (froze on reloading after a failed mission) and that's it. All in all I'm amazed it's as stable as it is given the scope.
  • FuzzyDuck 22 Sep 2013 20:41:11 3,934 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    No probs at all here at all (360 version, installed to HDD and USB) after 40 hours play.
  • spamdangled 22 Sep 2013 22:45:11 27,271 posts
    Seen 15 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    360 here, no bugs at all (around 40 hours play)

    Edited by darkmorgado at 22:45:27 22-09-2013

    3DS: 4055-2781-2855 Xbox: spamdangled PSN: dark_morgan Wii U: Spamdangle Steam: spamdangled

  • MrV333 22 Sep 2013 23:49:31 108 posts
    Seen 8 months ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    360, installed as recommended, no issues at all, about 20 hrs in.
  • Jazzy_Geoff 23 Sep 2013 00:14:03 7,767 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Gameboy here - all fine. Looks amazing on the LCD screen
  • Page

    of 4 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply