Connecting a Projector to an A/V Receiver

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • quadfather 21 Sep 2013 15:51:44 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    How do

    I've just got hold of a projector and wanted to set it up with an av receiver. The receiver is an onkyo tx nr608 and the projector is an HP 3130. Projector has a lead that is a modified dvi input and a VGA lead on other end.

    Amp is HDMI out.

    I've tried using a weird adapter thing from work and plugged that into the HDMI out on the amp but no joy - it doesn't pick up any signal.

    I believe HDMI to VGA isnt as straightforward as youd think. Or is it?

    Got the projector on loan so is it better to work with it or just get an HDMI projector?

    Cheers

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • Dante_Cubit 21 Sep 2013 16:04:29 1,921 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Does the projector have a serial port?
  • quadfather 21 Sep 2013 16:10:12 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Don't think so. Its got the modified dvi, an svhs and I think that's its.

    Just checked the online manual and its also got composite input and a jack audio input. And that's your lot

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • emote 21 Sep 2013 16:47:45 9 posts
    Seen 10 months ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    HDMI can't be converted to VGA without some electronics as HDMI is digital and VGA is analogue. DVI on the other hand can go to VGA as DVI cables carry both a digital signal and a VGA signal.

    A box to do HDMI to VGA conversion is probably expensive. Unless your amp can switch analogue VGA/svideo instead of just HDMI then you're probably out of luck with switching the sources in this way.
  • mal 21 Sep 2013 17:04:19 22,456 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    How modified is the modified DVI connector? As emote says, that might be the better way to go given it should be able to take a digital signal, and it so happens that the signal in an HDMI cable and the signal in a digital DVI cable are basically the same.

    That said, DVI cables can either carry digital signals or analogue ones, and DVI ports can either be DVI-A (analogue only), DVI-D (digital only) or DVI-I (both):

    http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/f/fb/DVI_Connector_Types.svg/181px-DVI_Connector_Types.svg.png

    I would be surprised if the connector on your projector is DVI-A only though - if it's a modified connector, I don't see why anyone would use that when it has a normal VGA connector.

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • quadfather 22 Sep 2013 11:39:45 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Thanks both.

    It's apparently got an M1 lead (The one I'm assuming is the modded DVI one)

    Hm, might be out of luck here

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • Fake_Blood 22 Sep 2013 12:28:16 4,169 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Copyright 2003-2004

    Well there's your problem.
  • Razz 22 Sep 2013 12:46:56 61,073 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Why not just use a dvi to hdmi cable. I use one for my setup, works a treat.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Fake_Blood 22 Sep 2013 13:01:57 4,169 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
  • quadfather 22 Sep 2013 14:39:39 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Ah, that might help :) Cheers for that!

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • quadfather 3 Oct 2013 09:39:14 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Right, I've got one of those M1 to female HDMI adapters, and a 5 metre HDMI lead. Should arrive today. Curious as to how/if this is going to work

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • quadfather 6 Oct 2013 09:50:40 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    OK. Connected it all up and set the output to 1080i as that's the best the projector can handle. This time it recognises the signal input, goes black for a couple of seconds as though its about to display the signal then just flicks back to the blue searching screen again. Then it finds the signal and just does the same thing again, looping.

    Any ideas?

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • Fake_Blood 6 Oct 2013 11:06:24 4,169 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Try setting it in a lower resolution? 1280x768 or something.
  • quadfather 6 Oct 2013 11:29:44 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    I tried 720 but yeah I'll drop it to 576 just to check

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • quadfather 6 Oct 2013 11:34:47 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Its coming from the ps3 via the av receiver so I can't choose normal resolutions, apart from the output of the ps3. Projector definitely recognises the signal, just won't display it

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • Fake_Blood 6 Oct 2013 12:48:37 4,169 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Do you have a pc or laptop nearby with a hdmi port?
    Or could you plug the cable directly into the ps3?
    The av receiver may be outputting 1080p regardless of what the ps3 is set at.
  • quadfather 6 Oct 2013 14:41:37 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    True. I might try putting it direct into Ps3, to see if the adapter works at all. Though that'll fuck up the sound, but needs to be done.

    works fine on a PC

    Thing is, when I had it fired up without a m1 adapter and just a botched set of leads, it didn't recognise the amp at all. Now, with the M1 adapter, I can see it finds the signal, just doesn't actually output it. I had it on 1080p originally, and the projector just said, "out of range". Soon as I took it to 1080i, it didn't moan, but just didn't display the picture

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • quadfather 6 Oct 2013 14:59:36 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Nope it doesn't like ps3 direct on any output setting. Fuck it. Hmm back to the drawing board for the moment I think

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • Fake_Blood 6 Oct 2013 18:05:43 4,169 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I hope the M1 adapter wasn't too costly.
  • BonzoBanana 6 Oct 2013 18:52:50 88 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    That projector appears to be only 4:3 mode compatible (no 1080i, 720p etc.). Also no HDCP support either. It's going to be difficult to get it to work with a PS3 but the only way I think it will definitely work is if the PS3 has 480p output set to 4:3 and then you'll need a component to VGA adapter cable in addition to a playstation component cable. The manual states its compatible and the adapter cables are very cheap.

    Cable

    This is one instance where the 360 is much better. A simple 360 VGA cable will allow you to output 1024x768 4:3 easily to give the best possible picture with your projector. Clearly though a PC with DVI out is the best option.

    Where did you find the info, the projector supports 1080i as I couldn't find that info in the manual?

    Manual
  • quadfather 6 Oct 2013 19:05:05 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Thanks for the advice. I'm out at the mo but will check when I get back. Pretty sure the manual says 1080i plus the projector is recognising the signal. Will double check everything in a bit

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • mal 6 Oct 2013 20:57:33 22,456 posts
    Seen 18 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    I'd have thought you'd be able to get into the projector menu and tell it to only look at the M1 interface, so it shouldn't go back to that 'searching' mode and you might be able to see better what's wrong with the signal.

    Course, you'll have to set the option back when you return the projector, else the guy will be fucked without the adaptor.

    Edited by mal at 20:57:53 06-10-2013

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • quadfather 7 Oct 2013 08:52:50 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Bonzo - I have the manual with the projector and it says it can handle 720p and 1080i. I've set the ps3 to 1080i (and 720p for that matter) and then its an HDMI out from the receiver to a female HDMI to m1 adapter. In the projector menu I select the m1 channel and it automatically flicks to "1920 x 1080i 60hz" as it recognises the signal but will not actually display it.

    I'll have an experiment with your suggestion of leads though, thanks

    One thing I haven't done is double check that the receiver isn't on 1080p but considering the projector indicates its got a 1080i signal I ignored that

    So bloody close!

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • quadfather 7 Oct 2013 11:26:13 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Do you reckon this would sort it?

    Also, people have been saying that the frequency might be different than the projector likes. I'll see what options I've got with that as well

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • BonzoBanana 7 Oct 2013 13:12:56 88 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    @quadfather

    So is the manual I linked to the wrong manual? Can you supply the exact model number of the projector?

    I searched that manual for a reference to 1080i and nothing came up at all.
  • quadfather 7 Oct 2013 13:23:22 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    @BonzoBanana - It's the right manual, and I got the specs from here

    It's the fact that it comes up with "1920 x 1080i, 60hz" now, as if it's accepted the resolution, but just won't show it.

    Do you think the frequency/hertz may play a part in this?

    (I will also try the ps3 at the lowest resolution later when I get home)

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • BonzoBanana 7 Oct 2013 21:33:54 88 posts
    Seen 25 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    The manual is the best source of supported resolutions not the web page of that site. Also isn't there a 4:3 version of 1080i for those early 1080i hd sets that had a 4:3 aspect.

    However the issue may just be down to the simple fact that the projector simply doesn't support HDCP and so is prevented from displaying anything via hdmi from a ps3 for that reason. So your going to have to go with a component connection from ps3.

    Alternatively some sort of hdmi to VGA converter that strips out HDCP but it may not be worth it due to the lack of 16:9 resolution support in that projector.

    The PS3 doesn't support 4:3 very well, and only does it for standard definition where as 360 and PC widely support 4:3 aspect modes.

    The PS3 is more of a home theatre device with full bluray movie playback and resolution support for proper hdmi AV display modes only.

    Your projector is not a home theatre projector its more of an office environment projector for presentations etc.

    In this instance both devices are a bit limited in their compatibility.

    Is the projector on the latest firmware?
  • quadfather 11 Oct 2013 13:03:57 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Thanks for the info.

    Since that post, I've found out that it is exactly as you say - the device needs to be HDCP compliant, which it isn't.

    However, I have managed to come up with an idea that I think should work -

    Ps3 component lead to a 3 female RCA barrel adapter to a M1 RCA lead and then that goes to the projector.

    That's for the video, and then I'll use a toslink from the PS3 to the amp for the sound.

    I think that's going to be the best I can get with this ps3 and this type of projector. Leads didn't cost that much so will see how it performs.

    If at all :-)

    Edited by quadfather at 13:04:51 11-10-2013

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • quadfather 22 Oct 2013 12:43:53 11,983 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Ok, I have my component PS3 AV multi lead. And the female rca extenders. The M1 to Component lead should arrive today, so soon I can hopefully bury this fucking thread :)

    Question while I'm waiting to set it up. Can I leave the PS3 HDMI connection connected to the ps3 and the amp, as well as having the component lead in as well going to the projector, so that I can just tell the Ps3 which video output to use depending on what screen I want to use? Or do I have to connect HDMI *or* component. Just don't want to be changing leads all the time

    psn quaddy456, Dark Souls tips

  • Razz 22 Oct 2013 13:23:24 61,073 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yep, you can tell the ps3 to output to either, my setup is similar.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    Steam/PSN/XBOX: Razztafarai | 3DS: 1246-9674-8856
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply