The New new xbox360

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • Spunkweazle 18 Jun 2013 07:26:46 470 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    did i imagine it or did microsoft announce a new xbox 360 console at E3, i also seem to remember the phrase "available today" being bandied about.

    other than the photos shown on the day i cant find a fucking shred of information about this thing

    Microsoft have redefined the word "one" with regards to boxes under your telly, it seems they have other meanings for the words "available" and "today"
  • PhoenixFlames 18 Jun 2013 07:28:23 9,262 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    3, 2, 1...
  • cubbymoore 18 Jun 2013 07:33:19 36,510 posts
    Seen 22 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    http://uk.ign.com/articles/2013/06/10/e3-2013-new-xbox-360-model-revealed
  • Spunkweazle 18 Jun 2013 07:37:37 470 posts
    Seen 3 months ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    "It's available starting today in the United States, UK, Canada and Australia"

    from 8 days ago

    they forgot to tell amazon, hell even xbox.com dont show it
  • DrStrangelove 18 Jun 2013 07:38:31 5,875 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    It's supposed to be available since June 10 in USA, UK, Canada and Australia, but neither on Amazon UK or US it shows up at all, curiously. Don't know if it's available elsewhere, but if so, it's hard to believe it wouldn't be on Amazon.

    It's simply a visual design upgrade though, hardware seems to be the same, and it comes in the same variations as X360 Slim, and at the same prices. Just upping the design to conform with the XBone, it seems.

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/2013/06/13/redesigned-xbox-360-model-not-much-different-than-360-slim.aspx
  • neilka Funniest Forumite, 2014 18 Jun 2013 08:13:07 17,014 posts
    Seen 53 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Presumably it's so similar that it's just going to seamlessly replace the existing one?
  • Whizzo 18 Jun 2013 08:48:47 43,917 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    "We've changed it so it looks like the Xbox One! No we don't know why either because it doesn't actually look as nice as the existing model."
  • Folant 18 Jun 2013 08:52:11 1,749 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Announce a new Xbox 360 design after announcing the Xbox One will be available in a matter of months.

    I like it.
  • robthehermit 18 Jun 2013 09:09:16 4,701 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    There is one hardware change. They've removed the optical out.
  • mikew1985 18 Jun 2013 09:12:41 13,551 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Jesus, talk about cheaping out. That's piss poor.
  • neilka Funniest Forumite, 2014 18 Jun 2013 09:13:13 17,014 posts
    Seen 53 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    And there's no Ethernet port.
  • mrpon 18 Jun 2013 09:18:53 30,454 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    One less cable for phAge to worry about.
  • DrStrangelove 18 Jun 2013 09:35:51 5,875 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Whizzo wrote:
    "We've changed it so it looks like the Xbox One! No we don't know why either because it doesn't actually look as nice as the existing model."
    It's probably their solution for poor/insignificant countries that don't get to play XBone. "Look, we have an X360 that looks like an XBone. Does that make you happy?"
  • DrStrangelove 18 Jun 2013 09:37:54 5,875 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    robthehermit wrote:
    There is one hardware change. They've removed the optical out.
    If they actually remove features while not changing the price... well... yeah.
  • Mr-Brett 18 Jun 2013 09:41:52 13,261 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Game have it but they also have the last model with Forza 4 for 20 less.
  • robthehermit 18 Jun 2013 10:36:19 4,701 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Only the 4Gb version though. Who in their right mind would buy a 4Gb console?
  • Whizzo 18 Jun 2013 11:15:21 43,917 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    robthehermit wrote:
    There is one hardware change. They've removed the optical out.
    They've removed the AV connection and a USB port as well, so good luck connecting a gaming headset to it.
  • MrTomFTW Moderator 18 Jun 2013 11:19:37 42,127 posts
    Seen 6 minutes ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    My 360 doesn't have optical out either. I had to buy one of those AV cable things that I can't remember the name of right now.
  • Whizzo 18 Jun 2013 11:28:29 43,917 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Yeah the original composite, VGA, SCART and component leads had optical out connections, none of which you can connect to the E.
  • Whizzo 18 Jun 2013 11:33:43 43,917 posts
    Seen 2 minutes ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Indeed no optical, it does have a weird composite out so those with analogue gaming headsets are ok but those with optical using surround ones or a non HDMI audio receiver are.

    Xbox 360 E console:
    A standard stereo audio cable that connects your TV directly to your sound system. Cable requirements can vary by manufacturer; see your TV manual for details about how to output audio to an external source.
    Edited by Whizzo at 11:35:28 18-06-2013
  • DrStrangelove 18 Jun 2013 11:48:38 5,875 posts
    Seen 5 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Europe, get your shit together and get HDMI anywhere. Who uses optical anymore FFS

    edit: in case anyone misunderstood, I'm mocking Cliff Bleszszzinski, not Europe

    Edited by DrStrangelove at 14:24:05 18-06-2013
  • robthehermit 18 Jun 2013 12:08:58 4,701 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    I do, the Tritton Warhead uses it.
  • mikew1985 18 Jun 2013 13:41:52 13,551 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Nothing to do with Europeans being behind the times, our main room has a proper audio receiver with hdmi inputs but I also have a logitech z5500 5.1 setup in my "office".

    It only uses optical or coax for digital 5.1 from either of the consoles. I also used to have a set of tritton axpro headphones that needed an optical connection for digital sound.

    Edited by mikew1985 at 13:42:29 18-06-2013
  • Deleted user 18 June 2013 13:59:54
    Wait, Fable III is free for Gold members?
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply