The New new xbox360

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • Spunkweazle 18 Jun 2013 07:26:46 470 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    did i imagine it or did microsoft announce a new xbox 360 console at E3, i also seem to remember the phrase "available today" being bandied about.

    other than the photos shown on the day i cant find a fucking shred of information about this thing

    Microsoft have redefined the word "one" with regards to boxes under your telly, it seems they have other meanings for the words "available" and "today"

    http://www.scottyslittlesoldiers.co.uk/
    dedicated to supporting the children of men and women killed while serving with the British Armed Forces.

  • PhoenixFlames 18 Jun 2013 07:28:23 8,899 posts
    Seen 33 minutes ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    3, 2, 1...

    PSN - phoenix1flames

  • cubbymoore 18 Jun 2013 07:33:19 36,468 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    http://uk.ign.com/articles/2013/06/10/e3-2013-new-xbox-360-model-revealed
  • Spunkweazle 18 Jun 2013 07:37:37 470 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    "It's available starting today in the United States, UK, Canada and Australia"

    from 8 days ago

    they forgot to tell amazon, hell even xbox.com dont show it

    http://www.scottyslittlesoldiers.co.uk/
    dedicated to supporting the children of men and women killed while serving with the British Armed Forces.

  • DrStrangelove 18 Jun 2013 07:38:31 3,365 posts
    Seen 35 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    It's supposed to be available since June 10 in USA, UK, Canada and Australia, but neither on Amazon UK or US it shows up at all, curiously. Don't know if it's available elsewhere, but if so, it's hard to believe it wouldn't be on Amazon.

    It's simply a visual design upgrade though, hardware seems to be the same, and it comes in the same variations as X360 Slim, and at the same prices. Just upping the design to conform with the XBone, it seems.

    http://www.gameinformer.com/b/news/archive/2013/06/13/redesigned-xbox-360-model-not-much-different-than-360-slim.aspx
  • neilka 18 Jun 2013 08:13:07 15,638 posts
    Seen 43 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Presumably it's so similar that it's just going to seamlessly replace the existing one?
  • Whizzo 18 Jun 2013 08:48:47 43,033 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    "We've changed it so it looks like the Xbox One! No we don't know why either because it doesn't actually look as nice as the existing model."

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • Folant 18 Jun 2013 08:52:11 1,161 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    Announce a new Xbox 360 design after announcing the Xbox One will be available in a matter of months.

    I like it.

    Posted from my Nexus 4, not using Tapatalk 4.

  • robthehermit 18 Jun 2013 09:09:16 3,966 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    There is one hardware change. They've removed the optical out.

    GT: robthehermit

    Velim esset mundus iustus futuis procul et mori.

  • mikew1985 18 Jun 2013 09:12:41 12,586 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Jesus, talk about cheaping out. That's piss poor.
  • neilka 18 Jun 2013 09:13:13 15,638 posts
    Seen 43 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    And there's no Ethernet port.
  • mrpon 18 Jun 2013 09:18:53 28,425 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    One less cable for phAge to worry about.

    Give yourself 5 or gig, you're worth it.

  • DrStrangelove 18 Jun 2013 09:35:51 3,365 posts
    Seen 35 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Whizzo wrote:
    "We've changed it so it looks like the Xbox One! No we don't know why either because it doesn't actually look as nice as the existing model."
    It's probably their solution for poor/insignificant countries that don't get to play XBone. "Look, we have an X360 that looks like an XBone. Does that make you happy?"
  • DrStrangelove 18 Jun 2013 09:37:54 3,365 posts
    Seen 35 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    robthehermit wrote:
    There is one hardware change. They've removed the optical out.
    If they actually remove features while not changing the price... well... yeah.
  • Mr-Brett 18 Jun 2013 09:41:52 12,723 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Game have it but they also have the last model with Forza 4 for 20 less.

    Portable view - Never forget.

  • robthehermit 18 Jun 2013 10:36:19 3,966 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Only the 4Gb version though. Who in their right mind would buy a 4Gb console?

    GT: robthehermit

    Velim esset mundus iustus futuis procul et mori.

  • Whizzo 18 Jun 2013 11:15:21 43,033 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    robthehermit wrote:
    There is one hardware change. They've removed the optical out.
    They've removed the AV connection and a USB port as well, so good luck connecting a gaming headset to it.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • MrTomFTW Moderator 18 Jun 2013 11:19:37 37,316 posts
    Seen 12 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    My 360 doesn't have optical out either. I had to buy one of those AV cable things that I can't remember the name of right now.

    Follow me on Twitter: @MrTom
    Voted by the community "Best mod" 2011, 2012 and 2013.

  • PenguinJim 18 Jun 2013 11:20:59 5,754 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Dongle.

    They added the optical-out with the Slim, and apparently have taken it away again.
  • Deckard1 18 Jun 2013 11:22:51 27,122 posts
    Seen 18 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Eh, my launch 360 had an optical out. It was on the component cable.
  • PenguinJim 18 Jun 2013 11:27:15 5,754 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Oh, I use an optical out on my olde 360, too, via the dongle. We're talking dedicated optical-out HOLE.
  • PenguinJim 18 Jun 2013 11:27:32 5,754 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    (Sorry, didn't mean to call you names)
  • Whizzo 18 Jun 2013 11:28:29 43,033 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Yeah the original composite, VGA, SCART and component leads had optical out connections, none of which you can connect to the E.

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • PenguinJim 18 Jun 2013 11:31:57 5,754 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Oh, so the E can't do optical at all? :confused: Bollocks to it then.
  • Whizzo 18 Jun 2013 11:33:43 43,033 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Indeed no optical, it does have a weird composite out so those with analogue gaming headsets are ok but those with optical using surround ones or a non HDMI audio receiver are.

    Xbox 360 E console:
    A standard stereo audio cable that connects your TV directly to your sound system. Cable requirements can vary by manufacturer; see your TV manual for details about how to output audio to an external source.
    Edited by Whizzo at 11:35:28 18-06-2013

    This space left intentionally blank.

  • PenguinJim 18 Jun 2013 11:34:47 5,754 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Edit: Whizzo's edit destroys my post!

    Edited by PenguinJim at 11:35:32 18-06-2013
  • DrStrangelove 18 Jun 2013 11:48:38 3,365 posts
    Seen 35 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Europe, get your shit together and get HDMI anywhere. Who uses optical anymore FFS

    edit: in case anyone misunderstood, I'm mocking Cliff Bleszszzinski, not Europe

    Edited by DrStrangelove at 14:24:05 18-06-2013
  • robthehermit 18 Jun 2013 12:08:58 3,966 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    I do, the Tritton Warhead uses it.

    GT: robthehermit

    Velim esset mundus iustus futuis procul et mori.

  • mikew1985 18 Jun 2013 13:41:52 12,586 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Nothing to do with Europeans being behind the times, our main room has a proper audio receiver with hdmi inputs but I also have a logitech z5500 5.1 setup in my "office".

    It only uses optical or coax for digital 5.1 from either of the consoles. I also used to have a set of tritton axpro headphones that needed an optical connection for digital sound.

    Edited by mikew1985 at 13:42:29 18-06-2013
  • kalel 18 Jun 2013 13:59:54 86,325 posts
    Seen 28 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Wait, Fable III is free for Gold members?
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply