RAM Upgrade ?

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • TheBlackDog 8 May 2013 21:23:39 408 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Didn't really want to start a new thread but Google is a bit broad on this and I only trust Eurogamer forumites now :o

    I have an old PC that I'm not planning on dismantling but I want to know whether doubling the memory from 4 GB to 8 GB is worth it. God knows how I put this thing together from bits and pieces as I haven't a clue what is current now, but the specs are:

    i5 750 on a Giga-Byte GA-P55M-UD2 motherboard, modest overclock
    HD 5850
    4 GB Crucial DDR3 (CT2KIT 25664BA1339)

    I'm not playing heavy multiplayer stuff like Battlefield and I'm not really a graphics whore but I would like stuff to look a bit pretty at fairly highish settings. Probably looking to play stuff like Dishonored, and a lot of old stuff from the past few years that I have bought but not even installed yet.

    If it IS worth upgrading, is it sufficient to just put in another 2 x 2 GB sticks of the same stuff ?

    Cheers in advance

    Edited by TheBlackDog at 21:26:18 08-05-2013
  • kosigan 8 May 2013 21:28:51 471 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    You don't mention which OS you're using. If it's 64 bit, then adding RAM is always a good idea; if it's 32 bit then there's no point.
  • RobTheBuilder 8 May 2013 21:30:06 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Simple answer as above.

    64bit windows - will help a bit
    32bit windows - will make no difference at all
  • TheBlackDog 8 May 2013 21:34:31 408 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Ahh sorry. Yes, its W7 64 bit.

    How much is "help a bit" ? /pushing it

    Does it matter if I end up with 4 sticks of 2 GB compared to putting in 2 x 4 GB ?

    Edit: forgot to say, screen is at 1920 x 1080

    Edited by TheBlackDog at 21:39:15 08-05-2013
  • RobTheBuilder 8 May 2013 21:49:08 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    2x4 or 4x2 doesn't make any difference really, as you are unlikely to upgrade again and need the extra slots.

    Only thing worth checking is whether your motherboard accepts a faster ram speed than you have, as getting 8gb of slightly faster ram might only cost a little more than 4 of slower ram.

    Well ram won't make your games go whoosh, but it will help and will make general usage a little more speedy for not much cost, especially if your graphics card has 1gb or more ram

    Edited by RobTheBuilder at 21:50:00 08-05-2013
  • dominalien 8 May 2013 21:53:36 7,019 posts
    Seen 4 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Memory is cheap, so even if you don't see much of a benefit (and you won't), it's not a big deal.

    What you really need to upgrade is your graphics card. That's what's going to make a difference for games.

    PSN: DonOsito

  • RobTheBuilder 8 May 2013 21:56:05 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    It is, but a 5850 isn't exactly a useless card.
    Depends on what the budget is really.
  • dominalien 8 May 2013 22:02:13 7,019 posts
    Seen 4 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    True, it's a respectable card.

    It's the obvious thing to upgrade, though. Everything else seems fine.

    Computers age much slower than they used to. An i5 from the end of 2009 is still a fairly respectable CPU. His memory seems to be running at 1333 MHz, replacing it with 1600 or 2200 MHz RAM, which the mobo seems to support might give a tiny performance boost... but that's about it.

    I'd say leave well enough alone?

    PSN: DonOsito

  • Gland 8 May 2013 22:08:53 78,440 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    TheBlackDog wrote:
    Does it matter if I end up with 4 sticks of 2 GB compared to putting in 2 x 4 GB ?
    Yes, look up dual channel. And you will see a benefit, dominalion doesn't seem to know what he's talking about.

    And no, you don't need to up upgrade your graphics card. A ram boost will be more useful than a marginally more powerful card.

    Edited by Dirtbox at 22:13:41 08-05-2013

    +1 / Like / Tweet this post

  • Deckard1 8 May 2013 22:10:33 28,702 posts
    Seen 32 seconds ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    What's the voxel capacity on those DDR3 sticks?
  • Sandbox 8 May 2013 22:20:51 340 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Was waiting for the voxels, thank the dear lord! You considered a nitrogen cooled Xeon?

    Also what DB says.
  • RobTheBuilder 8 May 2013 22:32:48 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Yeah DB makes a good point about the dual channel
  • TheBlackDog 8 May 2013 23:02:33 408 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Cheers everyone - that has given me a better idea and some things to look in to then. Will look up dual channel (after searching EG forum threads for the voxels).
  • TheBlackDog 8 May 2013 23:16:21 408 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    FFS, Voxels are real. The RAM dilemma can wait, how the hell am I going to voxel-future-proof my PC ?

    At least I wasn't the only one to think they were something from the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy.
  • RobTheBuilder 8 May 2013 23:18:46 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    TheBlackDog wrote:
    FFS, Voxels are real. The RAM dilemma can wait, how the hell am I going to voxel-future-proof my PC ?

    At least I wasn't the only one to think they were something from the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy.
    Get an industrial lighting rig, point it to the sky, and place a cell chip in front of it
  • TheBlackDog 8 May 2013 23:30:51 408 posts
    Seen 54 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    OK - last question. Whats a cell chip ? Does that do just-in-time voxel rendering through a flugel pipe approximation array ?

    No .... not that.

    I mean, about dual channel, my brain is a bit mashed after reading about all the different channel configurations you could have. My motherboard has 4 slots, and is it the case that if I get 2 matched pairs of 2 GB sticks of DDR3 then I'll be running dual channel anyway ? Which is a good thing, right ?
  • Bremenacht 8 May 2013 23:34:29 18,719 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Look up 'summer-capable' certified PSUs too. If you've got a winter PSU, your SPUs may sweat voxels into the memory bandwidth, which clogs it up and prevents rays from tracing properly. A professional may be able to clean it out for you though.
  • Bremenacht 8 May 2013 23:36:03 18,719 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Voxel poetry! Haha! Beautiful.
  • FanBoysSuck 8 May 2013 23:41:06 1,525 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Would going from 6gb up to 12gb on an x58 board make much of a difference? Just wondering.

    For the emperor!

  • RobTheBuilder 9 May 2013 00:01:12 6,521 posts
    Seen 11 months ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @FanBoysSuck Unless you are running a graphics card with a lot of RAM I would say not a huge amount. Although for the money it may still be worth it.

    Edited by RobTheBuilder at 00:01:36 09-05-2013
  • FanBoysSuck 9 May 2013 12:22:38 1,525 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I won't bother until I get a replacement for my 6870 then. Looking at my machine, it would be a massive ball ache to put more RAM in anyway, I forgot I've got a monstrous heat synch blocking off some of the dimm slots!

    For the emperor!

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply