Eurogamer mobile site - ad related performance issue Page 2

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Next
  • Nazo 12 Apr 2013 18:42:09 389 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Yeah, on the iPhone 4 it's awful. Bring back the app!
  • Deleted user 12 April 2013 20:21:03
    RobTheBuilder wrote:
    The forum is a total pain to use on the iphone right now. It keep jolting around while ads load, which means you tap something and it goes to a different page that just moved its link down to where you were.
    This is true
  • cubbymoore 12 Apr 2013 20:31:56 36,507 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    There's a problem?

    /using the android eg app
  • Kay 12 Apr 2013 22:16:09 17,971 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    bdaggers wrote:
    RobTheBuilder wrote:
    The forum is a total pain to use on the iphone right now. It keep jolting around while ads load, which means you tap something and it goes to a different page that just moved its link down to where you were.
    This is true
    Yes! Bloody annoying.
  • elvenscroll 29 May 2013 07:50:13 1,463 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    That bloody fuse advert. Just as I select something the twat appears, pushes the page down and I select the wrong thing.

    Xbox Live/PSN - Chipworm

  • MrTomFTW Moderator 29 May 2013 08:08:19 39,803 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    Yeah, that happens with every ad on the mobile site. It's very annoying :(

    Follow me on Twitter: @MrTom
    Voted by the community "Best mod" 2011, 2012 and 2013.

  • DFawkes 29 May 2013 08:16:30 24,097 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    It's the delay that's infuriating. You think the page is loaded, you hit a link, then NOPE! Up pops the ad, down all the links go, and only then does it load something different to what you requested, despite your thumb being nowhere near the screen anymore!

    I keep forgetting about the app, might give it a go again.

    Oh for goodness sake, I've caught my scrotum in my zip again - Margaret Thatcher, 1986

  • disusedgenius 29 May 2013 08:29:10 5,625 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Yeah, if it was the first thing to load I wouldn't particularly care. This way just makes the mobile site a real chore to use. :-(
  • Fake_Blood 29 May 2013 08:50:18 4,460 posts
    Seen 8 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    No ads on the mobile site here in Belgium.
  • Blerk Moderator 29 May 2013 09:19:20 48,225 posts
    Seen 2 days ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    The Fuse ad makes Chrome on the Nexus lock up if I start scrolling the page before the advert's loaded. :(

    Stupid Fuse ad.
  • TheSaint 29 May 2013 09:24:03 14,833 posts
    Seen 13 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    The Fuse ad is doing that to Chrome on my Nexus 4 as well.

    When it does work the delay in it loading invariably leads to me selecting the wrong thread as everything shifts down.
  • AaronTurner 29 May 2013 22:28:58 7,886 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    It is really annoying. Is it not possible to reserve the space that the ad will be in before the ad actually loads? The jumping about is a killer.
  • MrTomFTW Moderator 30 May 2013 06:47:00 39,803 posts
    Seen 7 hours ago
    Registered 12 years ago
    I've actually started using Firefox on my HTC One and it's improved performance a lot, it no longer locks up on this site.

    It does however still load the image last causing wrong clicks.

    Follow me on Twitter: @MrTom
    Voted by the community "Best mod" 2011, 2012 and 2013.

  • ascue 30 May 2013 10:11:58 167 posts
    Seen 2 years ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Page needs to have a document.ready listener to load the ad when everything's sorted.
  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Next
Log in or register to reply