Edge magazine hits the 250th edition

• Page

of 2 First / Last

Previous
  • barchetta 12 Jan 2013 10:31:00 1,334 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    The latest Edge just dropped through my letterbox. Hard to believe I've been buying and hoarding it since 1993.

Although I guess I get 90% of my info from the web these days I still love opening a new magazine and idly leafing through whilst drinking a cuppa. My web browsing tends to be rapid 'hit and run' updates (since this primarily happens during work hours), so the slower pace I find when reading print material is a rare treat.

Not sure I'll be doing it for much longer though as the tablet editions are getting quite some coverage and though I grant them some respect with 'interactive' features, I'm not sold on them whilst print is available.

Can't say I'm a fan of the newest Edge print format - the previous, larger format editions allowed some breathing space for the art direction. Still buying - but maybe that is simply a sign of OCD....

Your Computer, ZZAP64, ACE, The Games Machine were all staples through my schooling, with mags passed around and poured over during wet lunch breaks though it sounds prehistoric when I talk about them to my kids.

How many other still subscribe to a video game magazine? I'm sure it is old skool but, until they disappear completely, I'll always look forward to it dropping onto my footmat.

Edited by barchetta at 10:31:46 12-01-2013
  • spamdangled 12 Jan 2013 10:33:57 27,355 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    I sub to Edge and GamesTM, they're the only magazines I trust really. I used to get PC Gamer and PC Zone years ago but the disc on the cover stopped being justification for the price around the time broadband became widely available.

Oh, and if you're looking for a home for some of your older issues, i can accommodate them...

Edited by darkmorgado at 12:29:59 12-01-2013