A network problem that makes literally no sense

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
  • Deleted user 14 December 2012 16:43:07
    Figure this one out, techmagoos.

    I have three computers - a netbook, a laptop and an iMac. The iMac is in a study, and also serves as a media share for playing videos and whatnot over the network. The Mac is wired, as it's next to the router. The other two are on wifi.

    If I sit in the lounge, I can see the Mac on the network, browse its network shares etc, on both laptop and netbook.

    If I move to the bedroom, I can only see the Mac on the network on the netbook. However I can still ping it on the laptop. Signal strength is actually higher in the bedroom than it is in the lounge.

    I sit in the lounge, refresh network in My Computer, the Mac is there. I move to the bedroom, refresh again, the Mac vanishes.

    There's absolutely no logical reason this is happening. The Mac is still on the network, I can ping it, access any http things like torrent client interfaces or XBMC web remotes, but I can't see it under network in My Computer, simply by virtue of moving into a different room where the wifi signal is actually stronger.

    Riddle me do.
  • sport 14 Dec 2012 16:46:13 12,819 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    There's something in the bedroom that's causing signal degradation, look for anything mechanical or electronic that moves rapidly in a repetitious fashion, a vibration if you will.
  • LeoliansBro 14 Dec 2012 16:47:21 44,966 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Heh.

    LB, you really are a massive geek.

  • EMarkM 14 Dec 2012 16:53:33 3,470 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Heh heh.
  • Ziz0u 14 Dec 2012 17:50:06 8,648 posts
    Seen 23 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Heh heh heh.
  • neilka 14 Dec 2012 17:52:52 16,571 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I don't get it.

    BAAANG!!!!! EXPLOTION!!!!!

  • X201 14 Dec 2012 17:53:18 15,761 posts
    Seen 23 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Heh lol
  • Deleted user 14 December 2012 17:53:23
    I looked for a repetitious buzzing drone, but all I could find was this.
  • Deleted user 14 December 2012 17:57:31
    Might be worth changing the router frequency if you haven't already, just in case there's some interference not caused by a sex toy.

    Unlikely I know.
  • EMarkM 14 Dec 2012 17:58:49 3,470 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @meme :: MUST...RESIST...CLICKING ::
  • jonsaan 14 Dec 2012 18:14:16 25,450 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Have you tried asking Mark Morrison, as when you go into the lounge it sounds like a classic case of return of the Mac.

    FCUTA!

  • Deleted user 14 December 2012 18:15:52
    I like to think you were working on that one for a while.
  • jonsaan 14 Dec 2012 18:18:34 25,450 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I mulled it over whilst having a poo.

    FCUTA!

  • Deleted user 14 December 2012 18:25:39
    Give it a reboot
  • Sponz 14 Dec 2012 18:27:41 648 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    Try setting all clients to static IP's.

    Got an Android Phone/Tablet ? - Download Wifi Analyzer and see what the channels are doing.

    Try setting your wifi channel to something that isn't over saturated, I think that Channels 1, 7 and 13 are the ones that are non-overlap-able.

    Is your router compatible with DD-WRT ?

    Microwaves, Wireless Speakers, sex-toys, electric toilets are known to give off RF interference that can fuck up wifi.

    Put an entry in the laptops hosts file for the Mac.

    No idea at all, Alien that one is.
  • mrpon 14 Dec 2012 20:19:46 29,596 posts
    Seen 12 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Your neighbour has the same SSID

    Give yourself £5 or ½ gig, you're worth it.

  • Tonka 15 Dec 2012 06:24:14 21,369 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    Another vote for static IPs. I had some annoying wifi problems before I set that up. Not as weird as yours though. This reminds me of the 500mile limit on e-mails problem.

    http://www.ibiblio.org/harris/500milemail.html

    If you can read this you really need to fiddle with your forum settings.

  • Deleted user 15 December 2012 06:47:11
    Everything's on static already. Tried different channels. No other SSIDs that match, but that's been changed too just in case. Router is DD-WRT. The microwave is in the kitchen, far away from the lounge or the bedroom.

    It happens even when I don't shut off the laptop or disconnect from the network. I can have it open in the lounge quite happily, with the mac visible in My Computer/Network, walk with it still open into the bedroom, hit F5 and boom, it's vanished. I can even plug my netbook into the exact same spot as the Mac, using the exact same network cable, and that remains visible everywhere.

    Fucking Macs.
  • Sponz 15 Dec 2012 09:58:01 648 posts
    Seen 2 hours ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    So its just the laptop thats the problem?

    Reset its IP stack. Go into a CMD window with admin rights (assuming Win7 here) - Type: netsh int ip reset

    If youve got DD-WRT installed, increase the Signal strength.

    Login to router, click on Wireless > Basic Settings > Tick the Advanced Settings box > Scroll down to TX Power > Ramp it up to 40dBM

    If you have a dual band (2.4 & 5ghz) wifi router, then do same for both bands.
  • Jeepers 15 Dec 2012 10:39:35 13,316 posts
    Seen 36 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Gremmi. Your sig is upsetting me. Why do I have a boarded front door in an open field?

    Plz remove comma. Ty.
  • Lamb 15 Dec 2012 10:43:17 475 posts
    Seen 5 days ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    Return of the Mac. Doo Da Doo Da Doo Da Doo

    Return of the Mac. Doo Da Doo Da Doo Da Doo

    Damn you Jonsaan! :p :D
  • Sharzam 15 Dec 2012 11:36:36 3,383 posts
    Seen 10 hours ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Try a different router, the age old swap bits and see what happens trick.

    I recently swapped an old D-LINK DIR615 for a Asus RT-N66U. I might have 2 bars of wifi with both routers but is a damm sight more relible and faster with the asus router.

    Admittedly completely different beasts but it transformed my network performance. One thing connected to this is that the signal may look good but that is the strength and not the quality of the signal, although normally the higher the strength the more it cuts through other problems.

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • sport 15 Dec 2012 11:51:01 12,819 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Found the problem meme
  • mal 15 Dec 2012 12:33:30 22,850 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    It's worth running a traceroute to your iMac from the two different locations. Seems you're demonstrably on the same network talking to the same machine, but I think it's possible for the PC to have elected to enter the network via a different route, and thereby pass via different machines. If one of them is running a firewall which blocks Microsofty things like NetBIOS ports, it'll break all that stuff but leave Unixy stuff like pinging and http intact.

    Something to try to rule out at least. The command;s called 'tracert' on Windows, and 'traceroute' on all other systems I've ever come across.

    Edited by mal at 12:48:10 15-12-2012

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • mal 15 Dec 2012 12:38:34 22,850 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    Damn, EG won't let me edit my post to add the missing apostrophe in that last sentence now. It's not my fault, honest!

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • neilka 15 Dec 2012 12:43:54 16,571 posts
    Seen 3 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    /doesn't mention the "your" in the second sentence

    BAAANG!!!!! EXPLOTION!!!!!

  • sport 15 Dec 2012 12:44:35 12,819 posts
    Seen 7 minutes ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    mal wrote:
    Something to try to rule out at least. The commands called 'tracert' on Window's, and 'traceroute' on all other systems I've ever come across.
    No worries mal, FTFY.
  • mal 15 Dec 2012 12:49:07 22,850 posts
    Seen 11 hours ago
    Registered 13 years ago
    neilka wrote:
    /doesn't mention the "your" in the second sentence
    Hah! EG let me do the edit so long as I fixed that as well. Oops!

    Edit: Fuck it

    Edited by mal at 12:50:29 15-12-2012

    Cubby didn't know how to turn off sigs!

  • Page

    of 2 First / Last

    Previous
Log in or register to reply