PS3 won't connect to laptop wifi

  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
  • callum9999 3 Dec 2012 21:05:41 9 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    I've tried absolutely everything I can think of (connectify, configuring my own hotspot in command prompt) but cannot get this to work. Has anyone else managed to get their PS3 to their laptop? (The laptop has "n" wifi so can see the router, but the PS3 can't)
  • heyyo 3 Dec 2012 21:14:52 14,373 posts
    Seen 9 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Why not connect the PS3 directly to the router?
  • callum9999 3 Dec 2012 21:33:02 9 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @heyyo Because I neither have the means nor inclination to physically connect the PS3 to a router that is 20 odd metres (probably 30 by the time you factor in tacking the cable to the walls etc.) away!

    Edited by callum9999 at 21:33:40 03-12-2012
  • Flying_Pig 3 Dec 2012 21:34:54 11,042 posts
    Seen 60 minutes ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    @callum9999 - I think heyyo means wirelessly...?
  • FuzzyDuck 3 Dec 2012 21:38:21 4,195 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Yup, use a wee program from mhotspot.com to set up the lappy as a wireless hotspot, then just share my lowly 3G connection avec the PS3.

    Have never had an issue with it.
  • Ziz0u 3 Dec 2012 21:40:34 8,392 posts
    Seen 16 hours ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    Yup. I'm using mhotspot for my Vita as well.
  • callum9999 3 Dec 2012 21:46:09 9 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @Flying_Pig Oh sorry, I guess my original post was a bit unclear but it can't connect to the router particularly well - presumably because it has an old-standard wifi unit in it (I'm trying to update Music Unlimited right now and in the space it took to download 5mb (and then crash and lose the connection), my (wireless N) laptop had completed a 220mb download!
  • callum9999 3 Dec 2012 22:20:01 9 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    And I've just tried MHotspot, but not only did it not work (giving the same "A connection to the access point could not be established. Check the security settings for the wireless LAN" on the PS3) it broke my laptop internet and I've only just fixed it.

    I'm not having the best of luck with this!
  • FuzzyDuck 3 Dec 2012 22:25:47 4,195 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    How exactly did it 'break'?
  • callum9999 4 Dec 2012 03:10:03 9 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @FuzzyDuck Wifi was working fine before I installed it, then after I installed it the network changed to "limited connectivity" and had no internet access at all.
  • Moot_Point 4 Dec 2012 04:59:07 4,151 posts
    Seen 46 minutes ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    callum9999 wrote:
    @FuzzyDuck Wifi was working fine before I installed it, then after I installed it the network changed to "limited connectivity" and had no internet access at all.
    That is because you are in a spot where the wifi signal is weak. I get that with my shared wifi connection. Who is the ISP?


    Oh and PS3lol.

    ================================================================================

    mowgli wrote: I thought the 1 married the .2 and founded Islam?

  • tonyferrino 4 Dec 2012 06:51:54 183 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I used mhotspot for a while but the last version really cocked up my wifi too, so I looked for another solution - found this page:
    http://www.windows7hacker.com/index.php/2012/06/how-to-turn-your-windows-8-computer-into-a-wireless-hotspot-access-point/
    Should work ok if you're on win 7 or 8 - I'm using it on 8 fine. I created the batch file as he describes towards the end and run it at startup.
  • callum9999 4 Dec 2012 11:07:10 9 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @tonyferrino Thanks but I've already tried those. Makes the Wi-Fi network ok but the ps3 refuses to connect to it. I assumed it doesn't like the WPA2 security but I can't find a way to make a network without it.

    Moot_Point wrote:
    callum9999 wrote:
    @FuzzyDuck Wifi was working fine before I installed it, then after I installed it the network changed to "limited connectivity" and had no internet access at all.
    That is because you are in a spot where the wifi signal is weak. I get that with my shared wifi connection. Who is the ISP?


    Oh and PS3lol.
    No it's not... The laptop always has a strong connection. The ISP is Virgin Media.
  • tonyferrino 4 Dec 2012 11:18:44 183 posts
    Seen 10 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    strange, I use a ps3, 360, iPhone and nexus 7 r through mine.  I did have problems when I set alternate DNS settings, have you modified anything like that? I went back to default settings when I first set it up and it was OK if I fiddled after that.  Also set up the ps3 from scratch as a new network.

    Can't think of anything else... Check the sharing is set up correctly in network settings, you should be sharing local connection 12 through your connection that is on the net - local connection (1) for me
  • callum9999 4 Dec 2012 11:36:03 9 posts
    Seen 1 day ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    @tonyferrino No I haven't changed any of that and other devices connect to the virtual Wi-Fi network with no problems.
  • Page

    of 1

    Previous Next
Log in or register to reply