Building A Gaming PC - Parts Advice Needed Page 28

  • Page

    of 31 First / Last

  • Rhaegyr 16 Jul 2014 17:15:09 2,750 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 3 years ago
    It's this one;

    Corsair Builder Series CX 600

    It's also 62A for 744W max on the +12v rail.
  • Rodpad 16 Jul 2014 19:19:28 2,102 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    It won't be the PSU. If a component isn't getting enough/proper power it'll cause a full on permanent freeze, a BSOD, or most likely it'll shut off.

    It'll either be a driver or HDD issue. I remember a few years ago some motherboard SATA software used to cause second long freezes every few minutes. Have a look at what's on the system and do some googling.
  • Bremenacht 16 Jul 2014 20:57:50 19,666 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    Would it be worth removing the GPU and running off on-board for a bit? If the problem remains, you can rule out graphics and power-draw.
  • Rodpad 24 Jul 2014 23:46:23 2,102 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    Post deleted
  • Rodpad 24 Jul 2014 23:47:09 2,102 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    You'll see next to no difference.
  • Stan101 24 Jul 2014 23:57:45 730 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    Regarding the crashing PC. You may have checked all cables inside but sometimes putting the side panel on can create a loose connection. I know this from experience. My new build PC was crashing when I played games, browsing the web was fine. I tried everything like checking all drivers and software, and all hardware tests. literally everything. I ended up thinking it was a power supply or motherboard problem and it took me days to find what it really was.

    Every time I put the side panel on the case it would just slightly dislodge one of the power connectors to the graphics card, just slightly hardly noticeable. But every time I made sure the connections were ok, I'd replace the side panel and it would dislodge the connector. That was it, so simple and yet I was in the process of buying a new power supply when I didn't need to.
  • Rodpad 25 Jul 2014 09:33:10 2,102 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    -cerberus- wrote:
    @Roddles How so, wouldn't hyperthreading help with video encoding?
    Well this is a gaming PC thread for one. Second, does your job require you to shave off 20 seconds from an encode?
  • Rodpad 25 Jul 2014 09:48:32 2,102 posts
    Seen 3 hours ago
    Registered 4 years ago
    No problem :)
  • Fake_Blood 25 Jul 2014 10:39:00 4,464 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    I think video encoding is one of those things that does get faster with a new cpu. Hyperthreading gives you twice the amount of processes that you can run, so if your encoder supports it, it should give you a performance boost. But surely some reviewer tested encoding speeds, you should find that stuff with google.
  • Buztafen 25 Jul 2014 13:26:06 16,532 posts
    Seen 1 hour ago
    Registered 7 years ago
    1 question - is the encoding software programmed to actually utilize more than 4 cores when they're available?
  • Sharzam 25 Jul 2014 20:56:05 3,372 posts
    Seen 11 minutes ago
    Registered 6 years ago
    Also just to chuck a spanner in there, how does this work with GPU Compute stuff? Isnt that exactly the sort of thing that modern techniques have been moving over to the GPU so as long as the CPU is fast enough to feed the GPU your all good ?

    I have no actual idea , just a question.

    Known as 'Sharzam' in 98.5% of games

  • Deleted user 26 July 2014 01:10:31
    The hyper threading (1-way to 2-way) efficient gain comes into its own much more with real-time randomly changing workloads that are randomly started and stopped. The extra hardware thread per core helps increase memory bandwidth efficiency, but given the modest memory bandwidth of a LGA1150 socketed system compared to an LGA2011 with the same cores, hardware threads and smart cache, the gain will be much smaller on the former socket system, as the many cores are already limited by memory bandwidth.

    @sharzam

    GPGPU accelerate is certainly being utilised in top end software, but from what I can gather, the price of the software and plugins becomes an additional barrier to entry to utilise any performance advantage(judging by Sony vegas' pricing model). For well established encoding workloads using expensive software on high-end GPU compute hardware the benefits will be about 10 : 1 judging by a typical comparison of OpenCL program benchmarks on GPU compared to CPU, however, the general purpose processing baseline of a multi-core multi thread CPU, mean that you get deterministic results from any workload encoded with the CPU, it supports all new workloads instantly and can efficiently use all the RAM bandwidth and cores.

    Ultimately the best solution would require a solution somewhere in between. Hand rolled code for a general purpose instruction set with a parallel vector execution efficiency of a GPU. That sounds a lot like the SPU cores in the Cell BE that Sony got lambasted for last generation,
  • PenguinJim 26 Jul 2014 07:53:42 6,020 posts
    Seen 6 hours ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I'm late to the thread, but basically PirateRoberts has said exactly what I wanted to say.

    TL;DR: PCs are shit, Cell is awesome.
  • THFourteen 7 Aug 2014 10:48:35 34,481 posts
    Seen 5 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    What's the latest and greatest graphics intensive game out at the minute?

    Want to give my new R280X a run.

    Decided that my i7 920 wasn't worth upgrading, also cant afford it with new baby, so a new gfx card will have to do me for the next couple of years.

    I'm stuck with a PCIE 3.0 gfx card in a 2.0 slot oh noes
  • Fake_Blood 7 Aug 2014 11:17:04 4,464 posts
    Seen 24 minutes ago
    Registered 5 years ago
    You don't strike me as a person that could assemble a pc from scratch.
  • misterm84 7 Aug 2014 12:15:20 94 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 2 years ago
    DiddlerDo wrote:
    It's my monthly 'I fancy building a gaming PC day dream' and I'm wondering what the best budget (400) build is. Any recommendations welcome. I've put down a pre order for a PS4 in september for 385 so need to decide if I'm sticking with it or building a PC!
    If you're ok with overclocking apparently the Pentium G3258 clocks really well (up to 4.4GHz) so something like this would be good (don't use it as a final build, just a guide...I've just knocked this up quickly). You could get stung with only having 2 cores down the road though but this will play anything current fine.

    http://uk.pcpartpicker.com/p/CNQV23


    Get Windows 8.1 from Reddit Software Swap and you're good to go.
  • godofporn 20 Aug 2014 12:30:24 287 posts
    Seen 37 minutes ago
    Registered 7 months ago
    Do I really need a expensive processor In a gaming rig? This is my first time building
  • dagoberto 20 Aug 2014 12:47:37 281 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    I would try and get an intel i5 chip minimum mate, the dual core cheap intel chips run many games great but there a few where they just cant run the game butter smooth at 60fps(crysis 3 bf3/4 online farcry3).

    Even then it seems my i5 2500 chip cant maintain 60fps in crysis 3 which shocked me.
  • PearOfAnguish 20 Aug 2014 13:16:56 7,501 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    What GPU do you got, and what res are you running the game at? Far as I was aware Crysis 3 is more GPU bound than CPU, so if there's a bottleneck it's most likely your graphics card. I played Crysis 3 on an i5 2500 with a GTX 580 and it seemed fine at 1080p (though I never bothered checking the FPS).

    Seems far less common now for the CPU to be a bottleneck, can get away with using a years-old processor and just upgrade the GPU to improve performance. Whereas upgrading from, say, an earlier i5 to a recent version, or an i5 to i7, can make little difference outside of benchmarking.

    But yes, Godofporn (er, nice name) it's worth spending on a good CPU as it'll last a long time. Intel i5 is excellent, will do the job for years and it's not particularly expensive considering the performance and longevity. i7 is not necessary for gaming.

    Also from a practical standpoint swapping out a CPU is a pain in the ballbag compared to RAM or graphics card. Choose a decent motherboard and CPU combo as your base and everything else can easily be upgraded as required.

    edit: just noticed Rhaegyr's post. Those Corsair CX series PSUs are apparently made by a different company to some of their other models (Google tells me CWT, rather than Seasonic) using cheaper components. They have a 3 year warranty rather than Corsair's usual 5 year...

    Edited by PearOfAnguish at 13:26:13 20-08-2014
  • dagoberto 20 Aug 2014 14:24:03 281 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    1080p and a amd r9 290(over kill card i know but i only got it to mess around with mining last year and couldnt be bothered with hastle of selling it once mining became pointless)
    Its just small dips in frame rate making it jerky and not butter smooth, using some ingame tool it showed the cpu bottlenecking the gpu, its worse in the outdoor level with all the grass.
  • PearOfAnguish 20 Aug 2014 14:47:20 7,501 posts
    Seen 3 days ago
    Registered 10 years ago
    What settings were you using? Google around for an optimisation guide and see if there's anything you can tweak.

    Your setup is good. But then, it's Crysis, it's not known for being forgiving on hardware.

    Edited by PearOfAnguish at 14:48:40 20-08-2014
  • dagoberto 20 Aug 2014 16:02:26 281 posts
    Seen 4 hours ago
    Registered 9 years ago
    Max i think ,but my cpu is the non oc version 2500
    Its just the game is really cpu heavy
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/crysis-3-performance-benchmark-gaming,3451-8.html

    Thats the problem with pc gaming , you seem to spend more time pissing around with tweaks and settings than actually playing games.
    I spent ages trying to get watch dogs running smooth at 60fps and just gave up in the end and locked it at 30 , i should of just got it on ps4.
  • Spectral 20 Aug 2014 16:31:57 5,021 posts
    Seen 19 minutes ago
    Registered 11 years ago
    dagoberto wrote:
    Max i think ,but my cpu is the non oc version 2500
    Its just the game is really cpu heavy
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/crysis-3-performance-benchmark-gaming,3451-8.html

    Thats the problem with pc gaming , you seem to spend more time pissing around with tweaks and settings than actually playing games.
    I spent ages trying to get watch dogs running smooth at 60fps and just gave up in the end and locked it at 30 , i should of just got it on ps4.
    Only because you were pushing for 60fps. The PS4 version runs at 30. Also watch dogs is a terribly optimised game.

    you only spend hours tweaking if you obcess over it. It takes 5 minutes to go through and get it looking good at an acceptable framerate.

    Edited by Spectral at 16:36:07 20-08-2014
  • Bremenacht 10 Oct 2014 16:41:16 19,666 posts
    Seen 30 minutes ago
    Registered 8 years ago
    I've been wanting to build a HTPC for some time. Something cool and quiet in a microATX box, only now I'm wondering if I could get away with fitting something like a 970 in there and make it a decent 1080p gaming machine. Couple of questions

    1/ Anyone got a link to that reddit PC build page DB mentioned in one thread or another a few months back.

    2/ Is underclocking straightforward on nVidia cards?

    Something like a 770 may also suit, but I wouldn't want anything that makes a din when it spins up for eye candy. I'd rather pay extra for something like an Asus Strix and take it down to reference speed, if it ensured low noise. I'd rather not hear the machine while playing Alien Isolation or Ethan Carter.

    Haven't given any thought to CPU yet, or how best to cool everything else in a smallish box.
  • Page

    of 31 First / Last

Log in or register to reply